We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel

Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel
Mount Standfast | Mount Standfast, Barbados
+1 (246) 629 0599
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $70
Cuisines: Italian, Caribbean, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sample our new menu, a fusion of Italian fare and our much loved timeless Lonestar classics. The lunchtime menu sees the introduction of pizzas from our woodfire oven sure to be a favourite with our younger customers as well as an array of mouth watering salads. Sunday lunch is still a must at the Lone Star.... Some things never change! Enjoy a rum sour at sunset or a post dinner glass of champagne at our new cocktail lounge. Coming Soon; Breakfast on the Boardwalk - enjoy your breakfast served right on the beach on our Boardwalk.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently returned from 2 weeks in Barbados and ate at 10 different restaurants. Lone Star was our least favourite. Whilst the location is beautiful and we had an oceanside table, we sat at the end next to the hotel accommodation from where we could hear a TV blaring. Our waiter was not particularly friendly; got the wine order the wrong way around, tried to take our plates/glasses away before we had finished eating/drinking and plopped the dessert menus in front of us without saying anything. The quality of the food was inferior to other restaurants in the same price bracket. Would definitely not bother going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    245
    138
    62
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, right on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Visited twice during a three week stay on the West Coast. Food was better than The Tides and the service much less formal. The scallop and tiger prawn brochettes is a must have and the shrimp curry excellent. Wines at a reasonable price too. There is access to the beautiful beach to walk off all the lovely food. Quite large portions so second time around didn't have a starter. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, Hants
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We only visited this restaurant once during our stay. It had a nice relaxed feel and the staff were friendly. A bit less formal than other restaurants recommended by our hotel, which was quite welcoming. The menu was quite limited but what was on there was well cooked and presented.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went here for my 50th birthday treat with the family during our 2 week Barbados holiday and it was lovely. It was early September which is a quiet time in Barbados but all the beach side tables were full so the ambience was perfect with the oil lamps fired up and the sound of the sea made for a fantastic evening - if a little pricey but as a treat worth it. Even provided me with a small birthday cake - or rather a dessert on a plate - with a candle - nice touch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Impressive and relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed by Lone Star this time. Much less formal than some nearby restaurants, the food was really solid, the waiters very pleasant and the setting as beautiful as ever. Seafront eating, without the pretension. Lovely.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Prospect, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.