We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying visit on way to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crane Beach

Crane Beach
Union Hall, Barbados
Improve this listing
Visit Crane Beach like an insider
Special Offer
$68*
and up
Beautiful Barbados Coastal Sightseeing Tour
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eighty-foot cliffs overlook this beach, making it one of the most beautiful beaches on the island.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Flying visit on way to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to the Crane on our way to the airport to depart as we wanted to see where were were going to stay initially. It was beautiful. The hotel is definitely where we should have stayed instead of the Bougainvillia. The beach was lovely but access was either via an elevator which took a while or a thousand steep stairs - that looked like the only downfall of the place. The sands were lovely as was the backing of a woodland of palm trees and undergrowth. The sea seemed as wavy as it was at the Bougainvillia.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    104
    31
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family will usually book us in for sunday brunch as the hotel has gospel singers in and the buffet breakfast is fantastic, but you really must book its always packed.

then we will make our way down to the beach where we will spend the day. it is normally quite windy so you do not feel the sun and i always come back burnt so that really is something to watch.

there is a lot to explore at this beach, if you have smaller children you really do want to be with them in the water as the currents are quite strong. on the hotel side you can climb/walk up the cliff a little on an old path and there is a beautiful spot on the edge of the cliff over the water where you can sit in peace.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very interesting beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had a lot of fun at Crane Beach. Public access to the beach involves walking over stepping stones; if you have mobility issues, beware. The sand and water were beautiful. Since it is on the east side of the island, the water is pretty rough with big waves. To the side of the beach, there are some steps that lead to a cliff that you can jump off of. I wouldn't recommend this if you are not a competent swimmer. It seems a little dangerous and definitely wouldn't be allowed on most US beaches. I am glad I did it, however.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worlds best beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent employees, great food, and the best beach in the world. They have several pool areas and the gardening around the resort is great with a lot of attention to details.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A "MUST-DO" BEACH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Spent the afternoon here, as it was on the top of my list of places to visit on our short day and a half in Barbados from the cruise ship. It didn't let me down!

Our taxi dropped us off at the opposite end to the resort, which meant we didn't have to pay to stay on the beach. It also meant we had to walk the "stepping stones" to gain access to the beach, so that was fun and novel!

The sand is such a pretty colour, with hues of pink in the sand and the water is an amazing colour! The water was rough whilst we were there, so it made for good fun, but not for good swimming!

We didn't brave venturing upto the resort. I do now regret that, but didn't want any confrontation or humiliation, as we weren't guests there, so decided not to risk it, but when we go back to Barbados, we will return to Crane Beach and this time, I think we will enter it from the resort to experience the views and see the resort itself.

There are guys on the beach who can provide drinks, both alcoholic and soft, but it is done in a very cagey way, so guess they shouldn't really be doing it?!!!

Well worth the visit - definitely one of our favourite beaches we have ever been to!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crane Beach also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Crane Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crane Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.