We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's cricket lad, but not as we know it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Oval

Kensington Oval
, Bridgetown, Barbados
3
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 80 things to do in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's cricket lad, but not as we know it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Having discovered there were some T20 CPL (Caribbean Premier League) matches on during our visit, I endeavoured to get tickets, as we wanted to see the Kensington Oval and had watched T20 before in England. We were lucky enough to see Barbados Tridents and although the booking and ticket collection process was a little tedious, once we were in our seats, we were treated to a truly spectacular experience! A band cajoled the crowd at every opportunity, music and dancing accompanied every boundary, and a totally amazing atmosphere lasted for the whole event, despite a break for rain right at the start. The only area for improvement were the half time refreshments as some of the concessions were a bit disorganised, (but bearable)
This was a cricket extravaganza for the whole family, enjoyed by mums and children as well as the boys. Very different to the sedate offering we have back home, which could benefit from a bit of Caribbean style I'm sure!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    60
    15
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband wanted to go here as he is a huge crickey fan and while im not myself, I still had a great time.

We originally tried to get tickets in the vip section but im so glad we didnt as it looks a bit 'stiff' and the seats on ground level seem to be so much better.

You get a great view (pitch is not as big as it seems on tele) and partially under cover which was a bonus as part of the match was rained off at the beginning.

Lots of singing, cheering and enthusiasm (helped that barbados beat st. Lucia) as well as a bizarrely awesome brass band that makes the rounds.

Husbands particular fave was the gorgeous cheerleaders! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Barbados v St Lucia CPL T20”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Went spur of the moment with wife & kids.

None of us are real cricket fans.

What a venue ! The crowd go mad, there was a trumpet band led by a band leader in a pink suit, scantily clad cheerleaders, breakdancing and a DJ in the interval, a chap who sells nuts and literally lobs them at you and you pass the money along the row - it's a mini carnival !

Safe venue. Easy access. Good facilities. Superb Bajan hospitality.

The cricket was good too.

Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mecca of cricket Nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Being a middle aged man mad on sport and in particular cricket in the late seventies early eighties,when the West Indies were the best by a country mile, this tour brought back memories of cricketing greats. it is a place where Greenidge and Haynes batted for hours and where Garner and Marshall terrorised visiting batsmen in particular English..visiting batsmen.
It's well worth dragging any poor cricketing widow round . The tour guide was very knowledgeable and embraced cricket talk of my era and current day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Walking the hallowed pitch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It's not often you get chance to walk on a hallowed pitch but when we toured the Kensington Oval we were surprised, and excited, to be able to do just that. We arrived at the Oval on the off-chance of being able to see inside and luckily we could, there and then. Our guide Jenny first set up a video telling us the history of the Oval and the cricket teams, and then showed us around the stands and in the presidential room. She then took us on to the pitch itself - what a fantastic feeling to stand where so many great cricketers have played. It was a shame there wasn't a match we could watch, but there may be next time!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kensington Oval also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Kensington Oval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Oval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.