We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson with a beach in Barbados” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados to your Saves list
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Aquatica Gap, Bridgetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Radisson with a beach in Barbados”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this property two nights prior to catching an Star Clipper cruise out of Bridgetown which proved to be an excellent choice- you can catch a bus to town or the airport and also enjoy a lovely beach for the day. The hotel is a bit older in the common areas but the rooms are nicely appointed. The pool and beach areas are fabulous, beach chairs and umbrellas were readily available. I only noted a couple of things that needed improvement - breakfast service took 15 minutes to even receive a menu and 45 minutes to have it served - it's $20US for the breakfast buffet so be hungry if you get it. The hotel must have a contract for International air crews as there were many pilots and stewards in the lobby taking substantial time to check in (45 minutes) due to the turnover and only 2 clerks. If you miss the traffic jam periods service was usually excellent. Elevators need an upgrade. Great TV, bath fridge and bed. Nice bar service and I enjoyed the beach grill as well. Bridgetown was a 25 minute walk down the beach or a $15US cab ride. I say 3.5 stars- with only a little effort needed to raise it higher.

Room Tip: South side rooms have a great view of the Ocean and beach. 7th (top) floor is superb with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    66
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
87
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I've never - we've never - been treated so well, with so much friendly, completely accommodating service, as we were at the Radisson Aquatica. The room was over the water, quiet, nicely appointed with a FRIDGE - yay! - and two balconies. The location is perfect - right in the middle of what we think is the best beach on the island - are the best beaches - Brown's Beach and Pebbles Beach. The maids immediately adapted to our late-rising schedule - our room was always cleaned, but we could stay in the room to read on the balconies, have fresh cutters and Banks beer for lunch, then go down to the pool deck or for a long walk down to Dees Bar, Lobster Alive, the Waterfront Cafe (the latter two are great for live jazz certain nights of the week), or Blakey's for flying fish and wine right on the waterfront (ask for Andrea - she's wonderful and from Canada) - for supper and come back to an ultra-clean room at any time. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful - they always recognized us and said hello every time we went through the lobby. Barbados is great and we've been there three times, but when - WHEN - we go back - we won't stay anywhere but the Radisson. Location, people, service, climate, rooms, fun - I could go in, but you get the idea. The Radisson gets 5 out of 5. We can't say enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at the Radisson for the 2014 carnival festivities and I totally had a blast. We were greeted upon check in with these yummy fruity cocktails. And yes the alcohol was there! The view and location are both awesome. The beach is but a step away which is a plus for me. Sometimes at night I would go sit at the bar and chat it up with the late night staff while listening to the waves. It is so peaceful at night. I'm also in the hospitality biz so it was definitely nice to see how friendly the staff were. The only negatives were that our actual room view was terrible; however we did book last minute, so we didn't have a choice..our sink had a small leak but we were having so much fun we never reported it..lol..and housekeeping didn't come to our room every day. I'm really not sure if it was because of the occupancy or being understaffed..When your having fun you kind of don't notice.To sum it up this was definitely 1 of my favorite vacations and I will return. See you for cropover next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Intrigue L ,

The Crop Over summer festival is a great time to be on island . Thank you for choosing to stay at the Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, which is centrally located and in very close proximity to many of the festival events .

I'm happy that your hotel stay was quite enjoyable and in the midst of the festivities you were able to relax to the tranquil lapping of the Caribbean sea.

We appreciate your kind review and look forward to welcoming you back next Crop Over Festival !

Kind Regards
Gerry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been here three times this year. The facilities could definitely stand some updates but it's clean and tidy, beds are comfortable but the best feature is the staff! They welcome you with a smile and address you by name. They make you feel you are at home. In my opinion they have the best beach on the island. Can't wait to get back. Special thanks to Gerry and Cheryl for all they have done, Carlisle for his wit and excellent drinks,all the girls at the front desk who treated me with such genuine concern, Ricardo for his friendly conversation and all of the staff who made my stay so pleasurable. Congratulations to Rodney for becoming bar manager and his marriage on December 13th. All the best and I look forward to seeing all of you next year.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear RGlenn88

It was our pleasure to once again serve you . The entire team was happy to welcome you back to your Bajan Home ! Thank you for making mention of those team members who extended kind hospitality, we all look forward to your next visit .

Kind Regards
Gerry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a day room at the Radisson – 10:00 til 18:00 - after a cruise and before our flight home. The reservations manager eventually appeared and explained that they had overbooked and all the nearby hotels were full on a busy weekend. He said all the ‘facilities’ would be made available free of charge. But this is not the same as a room to shower and change and reorganise the suitcases. Eventually he found a room where the guests were arriving later and we had the complementary use of it from 12:45 til 16:00. Better than nothing but clearly the best that was going to happen.

Flight crews stay here but there were no rooms for them either. We felt so sorry for them after long flights and they were stuck in the lobby.

In the crowded public area I only found one ladies toilet. Just one toilet.

Our room service order came with cold chips - we think it had been standing around because there was only one person delivering.

The hotel is not like a Radisson – if it was in somewhere like Spain it would be at most a 3 star. The room was OK and clean but a long way from luxury. Just after a cruise is always a disappointing time but this experience was really bad. The reservations manager was charming and did his best but this is not what is expected from an international chain with a normally good reputation. All of the staff seemed to be doing their best but there are probably not enough of them and the building is not up to standard,

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CruiserWarrington,

It is with deep regret to learn that you we were not able to exceed your expectation during your time spent with us .

I sincerely apologise for the error which occurred as it relates to your reservation for a day use room recently. I'm glad that my Reservationist was able to accommodate on a complimentary basis and ensured that your were comfortable. I would however like to clarify that Airline Crew where not without accommodation as indicated in your review .

We appreciate the time taken to post a review here on Tripadvisor.com and hope that we could welcome you back and extend the hospitality and professionalism for which we are known .

Kind regards
Gerry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Radisson Aquatica hotel in January 2014. We wanted a relaxing time and certainly got it. It is right on the beach and overall we were able to find a beach chair although it could get a little busy in hotels beach area. There is a beach between the Radisson and the Hilton (however they have their own area so do not use that beach).
There are two food shacks on this stretch if you need a quick cheap bite for lunch or the hotel has some nice snacks from their beach bar.
The pool is small but not many people used it as you have a fabulous beach and calm sea. you can wade under the pier part of the hotel to access the rest of Carlisle Bay area.
The hotel rooms were spacious with all the amenities you need. There was a fridge too. Bathroom also good and all cleaned daily.
It is easy to get to St Lawrence Gap area and to access the restaurants there. But a short walk up to Hastings Main Road you will also find some restaurants.
We would defintely go back.

As someone has said a lot of airline staff stop here so must be good! We enjoyed to meet hte manage free cocktail evenings with nibbles - always a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Nikivara,

It's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay back in January. The beach right outside the hotel is indeed fabulous, perfect for swimming and various water activities.

Thank you for your very positive comments regarding the rooms and property in general. We look forward to your return .

Kind Regards
General Manager
Gerry Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this property after the air conditioning failed at another. Clean and well run. I was told by other guests the food quality was not very good but we did not try it ourselves. Staff was professional and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados

Address: Aquatica Gap, Bridgetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the picuresque Carlisle Bay Beach in Barbados, this new Resort features 124 renovated rooms with upgraded amenities including 42" flat screen TV with expanded cable, laptop size safe, complimentary wifi. One restaurant and two oceanfront bars plus new oceanfront fitness center and pool. Ideal for singles, couples and families looking for a quiet escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados Bridgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.