We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados to your Saves list
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Aquatica Gap, Bridgetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Medicine Hat, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A home away from home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel, in my opinion has the best location on the beach, it has its own little harbour and some of the hotel juts out into the sea. The beach is smaller but very peaceful. The way the lobby and receiving area is, as a guest, you cannot help but meet people and share experiences. The staff, including the managers will come visit and ask questions about and offer ideas to enhance your vacation. They seem to really care about you and your happiness. If you have any concerns don't hesitate to contact Gerry Lewis (and yes, that is his real name), the General Manager or Cheryl Blackman, Director of Sales or Richard, Restaurant manager. All three of them are very open to new ideas and suggestions. My hats off to these three, and their wonderful staff, Margaret and her cohort, Carlyle and Rodney, my favourite hostess, Ricardo, the cleaning staff, front desk, all of you were wonderful and I wish I could list all of your names because all of you are great. But, what can I say other than "SMILE YOU LIVE IN PARADISE!!!!"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Deal RGlen88,

Greetings from the Management and staff from your second home !! Its was our pleasure serving you on your recent visit. Thank you for the many kind mentions of staff members who made your stay enjoyable, I will ensure that they are all congratulated on a job well done .

I'm aware that you are planning a return visit, we are therefore all ready to welcome you back home !!

Kind Regards
Gerry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    120
    57
    16
    7
See reviews for
68
155
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This Hotel is in a good location, right on the beach and close to Bridgetown. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were a good size and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable and the room was kept very clean. The pool is very small and not suitable for swimming in. Just designed for children to play in. The big disappointment was the hotel restaurant
It was an Asian restaurant and the food was like a Chinese takeaway, poor quality for the prices charged. Also the breakfast was expensive for what was on offer. However there are some very good restaurants nearby. The beach is lovely and clean and the water is great to swim in with no seaweed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Melvyn2,

Thank you for your comments posted here . We are happy that you were pleased with your accommodation, friendly service of the staff and general location of the hotel. We have taken note regarding your comments on the dinner menu . I must say however that we have also received very positive comments regarding the quality and authenticity of the menu in general. I'm sorry that we were unable to "wow' you in this regard.

We appreciate your comments and again thank you for your review .

Kind Regards

Gerry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Radisson Jan 2014, it is a lovely hotel and the staff were very polite and helpful....engaging in conversation and a smile help! Our room was wonderful very spacious with everything we needed including a balcony with a lovely view of the beach and residential area. The beach is wonderful and it was nice to be able to get a deck chair and be on a beach that was not over crowded. Just a few steps away from the hotel were water sport and tennis facilities...great as we are very active people. We are regulars to the island of Barbados so we tend to eat at local cafe and restaurants my only negatives are the cost of their buffet breakfast although very extensive in term of choice I did feel $50.00 BD pp was too high after all there is only so much a person can eat and we found the bed very hard and unfortunately we did not have the best night sleep... might be worth investigating the bedding used at the Marriott......the best night sleep ever!

Room Tip: High floor - Corner offer the best view of the beach and inland Barbados
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hello LindaL,


We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Aquatica. I see that our polite and helpful staff , your superior accommodation and stunning beach location, all played key roles in your enjoyment . I'm sorry that you found the bed to be not as soft as you expected. We will certainly take note and look into this.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review here on Tripadvisor.com, and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Gerry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location, between the yacht and Crusing club if Sailing - and walkable to Bridgetown and 10 mins on a local bus from Hastings, Worthing, Lawrence Gap. The staff were really friendly and the hotel is clean and modern and the beach area is beautiful - however the pool is very small with limited beds if you prefer being pool side, than on the beach. It's not a massive issue but the word resort for me implied something bigger. Saying that for a few days in between the sailing regatta to chill out, I couldn't fault it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guavafish,,


Thank you for your review of your recent stay . We appreciate your comments regarding the friendly staff, and the cleanliness of the property. The size of the resort is a definite plus as it creates that intimate and relaxed feeling you enjoyed . We often get this comment from our Guests.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Gerry Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

There isn't much right about this hotel. Oe particular guy on reception is to be avoided at all costs. He is unpleasant and rude and it wasn't just to us - we saw him in action on more than one ocassion. The food in the restaurant arrived undercooked. The bedrooms are shabby and the bathrooms are worse with dripping taps and no hot water. We gor moved after the first day because the room was not what we were booked in for and it didnt seem to make any difference that we were gold card holders. Definately would go back to Barbados definately wouldnt go back to this hotel! IF there were a zero rating it would get it.

Room Tip: If you do stay make sure you ask for a view not facing the gas tanks. We were by the first room by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear CNettie1,

We are disheartened that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out that one particular member of our team did not provide stellar service, this breach of our service delivery policy will be handled appropriately. Please accept our apologies.

I am however surprised that you were not happy with your accommodation, as all Guests rooms were recently refurbished, to include stylish furniture, upgraded bathroom amenities and modern electronic devices.

We sincerely thank you for writing a review of your stay and articulating constructive points from which we can improve.

Kind Regards
Gerry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here in December for one week prior to Christmas with my 2 children(13, 11) and my husband. This resort is a great place for R&R. It is smaller than the Hilton which allows you a more intimate setting to get to know the staff and access to the beach and Carlisle Bay. The beach is right outside your door and the kids had a great time body boarding in the waves. There is also a Stand Up Paddle board place next door that you can have lessons at or rent the boards on your own. Just north of the hotel is where the sea turtles are. We took an excursion through Cool Runnings (a must do!!!) and this is where we ended up.
The breakfast was good and provide an assortment of hot(bacon, sausage, eggs, fish) and cold (fruit, yogurt, pastries) items. The only issue I had is that they always seemed to be overwhelmed when a rush of people came down for breakfast which was usually 9am, which then made it a bit slower to get some food items.
There are a few restaurants around. A must is the Cuz Shack in the parking lot of the beach. It has the best and freshest fish sandwiches I have ever had. There is always a line up so if you see that you are in the right spot.
As far as other restaurants around there is the Hilton and there is the Sharwma place by the 2 gas stations (these have snacks there). We walked to 39 Steps which was about 15 minutes but otherwise I would take a taxi everywhere as the roads are a bit tight and dark at night.
The rooms are updated and clean. The beds are great.
Overall we had a wonderful relaxing time. The kids loved it there even though there wasn't a ton of amenities for them. They enjoyed their time in the water, snorkeling and paddle boarding.
The staff was wonderful and always trying to help out. Cudos to Regina for helping us book restaurants, Leanne who made us feel at home and to my gardener friend who came by on his day off to wish us well on our departure day. Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront, you get 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mcgrillrx,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Aquatica for you most recent holiday. It's great that you were able to get some R&R while the kids enjoyed the crystal clear Caribbean Sea. The water here is very calm and great for snorkeling and paddle boarding as you mentioned.

I'm happy that you enjoyed our daily breakfast buffet by the sea and your mention of those staff members who made you feel at home is appreciated.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Gerry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

@ the Radisson, you don't really know what you get. When they are good, they are very good and warm. When things go bad, they fall apart. And when you want it solved, be prepared to WAIT ... and WAIT ... and WAIT. On recent visit, it took 3 hours for dining at the restaurant; took 1 hour to check out (CC issues); 1 hour to fix the internet; 4 days to get management to come by, etc.

But, when they are good, they are stellar. I do believe it can be explained by management not staffing properly. The GM is quite indifferent ... sadly.

Make sure you get a room facing the ocean. Difference is huge!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear SM1980

Thank you for you most recent review of your visit to the Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados . We are of course disappointed that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us.

Unfortunately the challenges identified in your review were not brought to my attention during your stay. I would have been more than happy, given the opportunity, to immediately resolve any issues which would have impacted your overall holiday negatively.

Please accept our apologies and we hope that you would consider staying with us again , in the near future.

With Kind Regards
Gerry Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados

Address: Aquatica Gap, Bridgetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the picuresque Carlisle Bay Beach in Barbados, this new Resort features 124 renovated rooms with upgraded amenities including 42" flat screen TV with expanded cable, laptop size safe, complimentary wifi. One restaurant and two oceanfront bars plus new oceanfront fitness center and pool. Ideal for singles, couples and families looking for a quiet escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados Bridgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.