We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure not home, but sure felt like it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados to your Saves list
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Aquatica Gap, Bridgetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sure not home, but sure felt like it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived around 9 Wednesday night, after a taxi ride with a guy who was nice enough to stop at the store for me to get snacks and drinks, but talked our ears off! BUT, we were welcomed with a island rum punch and it just went uphill from there! We got settled into our ultra nice corner room on the 6th or 7th floor that had a balcony overlooking the beachfront and another overlooking the long stretch of beach to the right and the island. It was super clean and modern and just a slice of heaven! After unpacking and sucking down our rum punch, we wanted a nightcap and walked down to check out the hotel and the bar.but the bar had closed at 10 (offseason), so we took a short stroll down the beach to the huge Hilton, whose bar was open and seemed like everyone knew it! It was a nice evening and when we arrived back, the bed was dreamy and we slept great! My husband had business so I just had a few lazy days w/o him, laying by the pool, then on the beach, dip in the pool, dip in the ocean.... I usually like to get out in a new place but honestly, I couldn't think of one reason to leave. The bartender was awesome, I forget his name but he has ties with a child here in the States, great guy who made great drinks! The staff were all very nice and when we were due to check out Friday (quick trip), our flight didn't leave until 6 and they stored our bags. I had thought ahead to spending the day on the beach then catching the short flight back to Trinidad and put the hotel toiletries in my carry on with a change of clothes and just literally took a shower out by the beach where you rinse off from the sand. The hotel even gave us clean towels to dry off with so we wouldn't re-sand ourselves! Then I put my makeup on in the big bathroom in their outdoor lounge area. That's some accommodation!! The hotels in Bridgetown were all so pricey and being on business, we had to be reasonable but I tell you what, I can't imagine what the $$$ hotels down the way have on this one. I'll stay here again and again, provided my husband gets the business!! hehe

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room! You'll have 2 balconies with spectacular views. The floor doesn't e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Chef Cookie D,

Thank you for your wonderful review here on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear of your delightful stay with us at the Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados. Thank you for highlighting that your accommodation was super clean, modern and a slice of heaven !!! Wow what a description.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future . Thank you once again.


Gerry D. Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    65
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
87
18
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were originally booked at another hotel but something happened (not really sure what-overbooked maybe) and that hotel transferred us to Aquatica. After all the confusion had been dealt with we had a good time. The welcome drink helped to kick things off. We were celebrating my brothers birthday with his wife and sister-in law so we didn't want to let anything get in the way of that. Everyone at this hotel was accommodating and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and the staff at the restaurant were friendly. The rooms were spacious. We had a partial ocean view but still a nice view. This hotel didn't have a lot of activities but was within walking distance to other hotels that did as well as mini-mart and casinos(if you like that stuff).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mochasita,

We certainly appreciate your detailed review here on Trip Advisor . It was our pleasure to accommodate you after your originally booked hotel was unable to. Thank you for mentioning the restaurant staff members and the lovely breakfast they served you each morning, they are very proud of their surroundings and were thrilled to serve you each day .

Thank you once again for vacationing with us at the Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados and we hope to serve you again soon .

Gerry D. Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We took a 2 week holiday in July 2013 to Barbados staying with the Aquatica. We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. The room met our expectations - comfortable and clean. However we booked and "Ocean View" (as per invoice) but to be fair it's a partial view (only end-rooms would be Ocean View). The room-service was average - good service but complimentary water and beach towels omitted from time to time (say 4 times in 14 days). Problem rectified on calling. The lifts are very very slow and will drive you mad! Breakfast was good, filling and included. Very nice beach. 2 biggest disappointments are beach/pool facilities - there are none. Want and ice-cream? Go to the petrol station. And location. About 30 min walk to Bridgetown (no free bus, despite what it says on web-site) and about 30 mins walk to Hastings. The latter very good for evening meal. Nothing at all other than a nice, but small, beach at the hotel. This is a confused hotel - Virgin Flight Crew are in and out all the time and they offer Business Conferences - so not really a Holiday Resort when you are mixing with Suits and Ties in your Swim Trunks! I asked for BA points to be credited for my stay and they were not. Nevertheless we enjoyed out stay and the price was good.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a full sea view, not a partial one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I did a staycation there from August 26 for five nights. We celebrated our anniversary and his birthday during our stay. The staff was friendly and very caring and helpful. For our anniversary we were given a bed of roses, wine and chocolate. It was amazing. For my husband's birthday he was given a really nice cake. Kareem the electrician was really helpful and friendly when the air condition was giving a little trouble. He fixed the problem quickly. The restaurant staff was courteous and friendly especially our friendly waitress who attended to us at breakfast Wednesday ,Thursday and Friday morning. The location is fantastic and the staff is welcoming. I would recommend a staycation at the Radisson anytime.

Room Tip: North corner rooms have two balconies. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel stay was fantastic. From the minute I enter to the time I left was truly a vacation. On checking in we received a welcome drink and then someone showed us to our room. The hotel is ideally located on beautiful Carlisle bay......can't beat the view from the rooms and the absolutely beautiful water. It was also close to Bridgetown and in close proximity to many amenities including public transportation. The hotel staff was so pleasant and the manager regularly checked in with us. The breakfast was also great especially the location of the restaurant. The hotel also invited us to their cocktail party, rum punch tasting, an cooking with one of their chefs.....I will definitely stay there again....

Room Tip: Room was great with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Carloyn M,

Thank you for your superb review of the Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados . I speak on behalf of my team when I say that we enjoyed providing superior service to you . Thank you for accepting our invitations to the various Food & Beverage activities, I hope that the rum tasting event didn't leave you stumbling !!!! , all in the fun at Radisson !!!

Please don't be a stranger , we await your return .

Gerry D. Lewis
General Manager
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, on the best beach we found on the island. Great swimming and snorkelling with plenty of water sport activities available right next door. Pool onsite is small, but very nicely kept. Rooms good with fabulous views. Noisy air con but worked well.

Staff were all brilliant: from the personal welcome Gerry and the reception team gave us; to the lovely bar and restaurant staff; the maintenance guy who would always help sort sunbeds and parasols; and the maids who battled to clean my children's room despite the mess...everyone with wonderful smiles and attitudes.

This hotel is small and personal and well worth a visit. We hope to have the opportunity to stay in the luxury pier suites next time when they're completed.

Thank you everyone for a wonderful holiday xxx

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Debbie F, or as you were often called, Mrs. Radisson !!,

It was certainly our pleasure serving you and your lovely family during your holiday . We are very happy that your stay was an enjoyable one . We appreciate your very kind comments here on Trip Advisor .

Looking forward to seeing you all in the near future. Thank you once again.

Regards

Gerry D. Lewis
General Manager
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel has a great deal going for it. Its location is excellent; right on the beach with excellent swimming. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, although I personally found the bed a little hard. Service was terrific. Special thanks have to go to Junior who, hearing of my love for ginger beer and my disappointment that it wasn't available in the hotel, went off to the supermarket, unasked, and bought be a litre of concentrate.

Food was fairly unexceptional. It wasn't poor; just rather that the menu was bland and unexciting - a shame when Barbados has such great food on offer elsewhere. My only real gripe is that the lifts in the main building are way past their prime. Slow, hot and often out of order... and a climb to the seventh floor is not something you want to do in the Caribbean heat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry L, General Manager at Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear JCCMLONDON,


Many thanks for your very positive comments posted here. I'm especially happy to hear about what Junior was able to do for you . I will personally thank him on your behalf.

Your constructive comments have been taken on board and will be addressed accordingly .

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon .

Gerry D. Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados

Address: Aquatica Gap, Bridgetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the picuresque Carlisle Bay Beach in Barbados, this new Resort features 124 renovated rooms with upgraded amenities including 42" flat screen TV with expanded cable, laptop size safe, complimentary wifi. One restaurant and two oceanfront bars plus new oceanfront fitness center and pool. Ideal for singles, couples and families looking for a quiet escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados Bridgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.