We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value fish cutters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuz's Fish Shack

Cuz's Fish Shack
Needham's Point, Bridgetown, Barbados
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Commequiers, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value fish cutters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Cuz's fish shack is literally a wooden shack in the car park at Pebbles Beach (just behind the Radisson Aquatic Gap Hotel)
Tourists and locals stand in line for their fish cutters which are excellent and only 8 bajan dollars per cutter!! There is no choice of fish, but one can have cheese and egg with the fish or salad.
Very large turnover so the fish is always fresh and delicious.
Well worth the wait in the queue!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    93
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holetown, Barbados
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Limited choice done well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a beach shack where you can get a fish, egg or cheese sandwich or any combination of the three. Simple, tasty and reasonably priced just make sure you add hot sauce!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The sandwich us great as always, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Having gone here last year, the sandwich is still very good though they have raised their prices ($4 USD now for a fish cutter).

However, we had a really unbelievable bad service experience at lunch time when a taxi driver with 7 American sea cadets jumped the line because they didn't want to wait. The lady working (Abigail I think as Cuz want there), decided to serve them ahead of about 6 of us. We all complained and Abigail just mumbled something and the taxi driver just kept smiling trying to charm people and say stuff like we weren't Bajan so it didn't really matter.

Anyways, stuff like this is why people stop going to a place so if it happens again, I hope their service suffers as it is completely unacceptable.

To be fair, all parties were at fault with Abigail deciding to serve others in front of those waiting, the idiot taxi driver, and the stupid sea cadets accepting to jump the queue. Hopefully what goes around comes around.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Marlin Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Cuz is a simple but clean shack, right off the beautiful Carlisle Beach that serves the best Fish Cutter(marlin fish steak in a local bun) You can get. It is served by itself, with egg, or with cheese, or with egg and cheese.You can add mayo, catsup, local pepper sauce. but they are great as is. Depending on availability, he may add lettuce and tomato.
Had one today..Fish and cheese (imported new zealand cheddar)...cost..$4.50 US. Add a cold Banks Beer for US$1.50 and you are in heaven!
Tip...don't ask Cuz if he has any other fish...he gets a bit annoyed , as "everyone" knows its Marlin only.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Fish Shack!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We happened upon Cuzz's Fish Shack last year when we took surfing lessons from "Dread n Dead" at Pebbles Beach. The fish sandwich with cheese hit the spot. We returned with a different group for surfing lessons this year and even though we were at another beach we went out of our way to share this gem with them. The fish shack is located in the parking lot at Pebble's Beach (that's what the locals told me) and backs against the fence of the Barbados Cruising Club. Matthew, our surf instructor, told me that this is a second generation business and that it is Cuzz's son who now serves up the delicious fish sandwiches. When we return to Barbados we will be sure to stop by Cuzz's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuz's Fish Shack also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Cuz's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuz's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.