We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agapey Chocolate Factory Tour

Agapey Chocolate Factory Tour
Old Colgate Palmolive Building | Harbour Industrial Park,, Bridgetown BB15156, Barbados
+1 246-426-8505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 67 Activities in Bridgetown
Type: Factory Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy this tastey informative tour! Set in small groups, we offer a unique experience not available anywhere else in the Caribbean! Learn about the history of chocolate and how it's traditional made with rare vintage machinery the old traditional way. Located in Bridgetown, Barbados.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I visited Agapey Chocolate Factory while on a cruise. Location was within walking distance of the pier. Derrick, the owner, gave a wonder presentation with tons of excellent information and plenty of taste testing at different stages of the process. This is a must do when visiting Barbados. I wish Derrick would find a distributor in the US since the chocolate we bought after the tour went fast. Thanks Agapey for an exceptional experience and some GREAT chocolate.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good morning out away from the beach and rum shops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Chocolate Factory Tour - Agapey - Bridgetown Barbados
As this was listed as the number one attraction on TA and my wife loves chocolate we had to visit here during our stay in Barbados. Donald, the owner, only runs the tour about twice a week so I would recommend booking and printing off the directions and map as it is very difficult to find. It is on an industrial estate on the outskirts of Bridgetown on the road out to Holetown, near the Kensington Oval but don't let that put you off. As luck would have it it was raining the morning we had booked so we didn't feel we were missing any sun but it would have been worth it anyway. 
We started the tour with some tastings of sugar and chocolate so we could appreciate the quality of the ingredients used, I can't help thinking that Donald found this part a bit of a chore and sales is not really his forte. However, he did shine when showing us the machines  and processes used and his training in engineering shone through here. 
We got to run through and see the whole process and at the end we had an opportunity to purchase some of the gorgeous chocolate at a reduced rate, yum.  I have to admit I was surprised at how highly rated a chocolate tour  was but it was a fun morning and I would recommend it as a change from the beach and rum shops.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was our first time on Barbados. After getting through the gauntlet of aggressive taxi drivers on the pier and cruise terminal area, the four of us walked to the Agapey Chocolate Factory. We enjoyed the intimate tour and detailed breakdown of how chocolate is made. Out of the things we could have done in Barbados, we are glad we chose to do this tour. Hint: This tour takes place in a portion of a large warehouse. There is no A/C. Dress comfortably.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best activities in Barbados!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you like chocolate even a little, you'll love this tour! Though the factory is small, the tour is interactive and fun and you learn a lot about chocolate. It's about an hour, with half the time spent learning about chocolate and tasting various types. You have to book in advance online, but don't let this stop you! The tour is great and so is the chocolate!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Worth every cent...buy the chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Couldn't decide on an excursion for Barbados so we decided to book at Agapey Chocolate Factory and walk up from the pier. The tour is not only informative, but in small groups extremely interactive. You learn the difference in the sugar used to sweeten.,.origin and properties of beans. Derrick also runs you through the process of making chocolate...from the roasting of the whole cocoa beans to the crush and refining into chocolate bars. High quality chocolate bars the result. If at all possible I would recommend you purchase some while you are at the factory. We missed out because we had another tour and thought we would be able to buy some at a local shop. Our tour ran late so we missed the opportunity. Most likely the best tour value experience on the island! Highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agapey Chocolate Factory Tour also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Agapey Chocolate Factory Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agapey Chocolate Factory Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.