We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings | Christ Church, Bridgetown BB15156, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bridgetown
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Clean spacious rooms with good amenities. Friendly n helpful staff
Very accommodating. Rained so pool was not useable. Tgi Fridays restaurant, just shut down on friday. The blue room restaurant is next door with great food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Kenster777,
I am delighted that your stay with us was comfortable and next time around we will pray for better weather so that you can enjoy all the amenities that the hotel has to offer!

We do have a number of nice restaurants in the area including our very own casual dinning option Centro and more fine dinning options within walking distance to and from the hotel.

We hope that you get the opportunity to return again in the near future!
Best Regards
Kelly-Ann Mayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    83
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
41
15
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had a week here on business. The rooms are spacious, have good desk areas for work, effective (if noisy) air conditioning, and there is free wifi. Staff is friendly. The beach is a couple of minutes away. Plus there is a guest laundry.
You can Get a quick breakfast (usually), but it is average. The eggs tend to be greasy, the bacon serving mean, and it is so disappointing that you cannot get local products. No, you are forced to have little packets of fake jam made with high fructose corn syrup, and imported sugar, mass produced imported sauces - in a country renowned for local fruit produce, sugar production, stunning pepper sauce. What a crying shame. Two local breakfasts are offered, but there is no description of what these are and when you ask , the contents are described so quickly and in unfamiliar terms that it is a brave choice. There is a market place to buy snacks (imported). A small bottle of water is USD7.00.
I lost count of the number of times my room card lost its magnetism and had to get it recharged, on top of being told that it was my fault. Yet I know all about not storing it near cellphones or magnets.
I would certainly not recommend this for a holiday hotel. The pool is small and uninspiring. I asked the front desk to help me find a tour. They pulled out one brochure and then noted they didn't have tours on the day I wanted to go. And that was that. I had to sort this out for myself.
So, overall, I was not too impressed. If this is the standard of Courtyard across the Caribbean then I would avoid it. In fact, I have just cancelled my Courtyard booking in Trinidad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Pennie H,
Thank you for your feedback both good and constructive. I deeply regret reading about the fact that we did not live up to your expectations in a lot of areas and worse yet that your experience here with us affected what might have been a more fulfilling experience at Courtyard Port of Spain.

We will work on introducing more local products into our Food & Beverage offerings as well as use your feedback to improve the other products and services where we fell short.

I certainly hope that in the future you will give the Courtyard brand another try and that you will give us another opportunity to deliver the service that I know that we are more than capable of delivering.
Best Regards
Kelly-Ann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott for 10 nights from the 24th July on holiday and our stay couldn't be better. The hotel was clean and the staff were extremely polite and friendly. Check in was easy and we were even upgraded to a balcony for free. The rooms were very comfortable and the air conditioning quiet.

We don't normally eat breakfast at Marriotts due to the high prices but at the 'centro restaurant' breakfast was at a reasonable price as it cost us around £8 a person and the service was great there. We were treated like locals at the restaurant and Kelly-An always remembered our breakfast order and asked us about our plans for the day. Most mornings a lady called Deirdre answered any questions we had about the island and helps us plan our day and all the staff were really friendly.

The pool is pretty shallow and the deck chairs very comfortable, it was a nice area to sit around. The gym was good for a small workout.

The hastings location of the hotel is really good as it is on a major route for the BBS$2 (66p) busses which can take you anywhere on the island. The hotel is also a short walk to many restaurants in the area and a bank is close. The beach where the hotel provides deck chairs isn't great and it's nice to walk down to Accra where the beach/atmosphere is better.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a balcony available, you won't regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestcare_CY, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Fitzy 101,thank you for your great feedback, we truly appreciate it. It warms my heart you expressed how welcomed you and your family felt and I am happy we made such a worthy contribution to your holiday. I am esspecially thrilled we met your expectations and I will share your review with the entire team. Thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future.

Best regards from the associates of the Courtyard by Marriott, Bridgetown.

Deidre
Guestcare Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed very briefly at the Courtyard Marriott but even for the short time it was worth it. I arrived late in the evening and the front desk staff were absolutely pleasant. It was a delight to interact with them. Check in was quick and easy.

Even with the restaurants closed when I arrived, its still possible to get juice, fruit salad and snacks from the well stocked vending machine in the lobby. .

The rooms are what I would expect at a Courtyard Marriott. Well appointed with all the conveniences required especially for a business trip. I had internet access, iron board and iron, cable TV and a really comfortable bed. The air conditioning was whisper quiet allowing a great night's sleep.

I definitely would recommend this hotel if you are travelling on business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Michele R, thank you for the perfect score! :) It was indeed a pleasure hosting you at our hotel and we truly appreciate your comments!!

Next time hopefully you will have some time to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer, including the beach access across the street, which has been recently renovated to provide a better beach experience.

Best Regards
Kelly-Ann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is really very good. The service is excellent, the rooms very comfortable and clean. It is a very convenient location for business but less so for vacation. The pool is shallow. It would have been nice to have a separate children's pool and another where swimmers might truly exercise/relax. The private access beach is quite rocky but the hotel is not far away from beautiful Accra Beach. In close proximity to transport, businesses, shopping and boardwalk. I noticed that the complimentary breakfast was a little more scanty than when I stayed there a year ago but the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a very good, conveniently located business hotel. I would also consider it as a great base for a holiday stay.

It is spotless from the grounds and pool to reception/dining to elevators/rooms. Lobby has microwave, mini-mart, tables and sofas. Computers and check in station.

Arrival: I received assistance with my bag without asking. Check in was great even though I had messed up my reservation a little, apparently I can't count past 3. Nice little touch of a complimentary fruit or rum punch by way of welcome.

Room, bath, bedding etc. all up to normal Courtyard standards. Small fridge and in room-safe too. TV channels quite varied, good free movie channels. My room had a balcony (small table and chairs) and sea view which was wonderful as I prefer to sleep without A/C and being able to open the patio door was perfect for me. There is some noise from the road but nothing unbearable or unusual.

Food and Drink: are NOT expensive. One must bear in mind that everything in Barbados is expensive for locals and visitors alike.

WiFi throughout hotel plus computers in lobby. WiFi in my room constantly dropped but it happened only there, I even logged in elsewhere and carried the laptop upstairs, the moment I crossed the threshold of Room 321 it dropped. Dear Mr. Director of the US CIA: Please send your operative back to remove the jamming device because it is driving the hotel I.T. guy crazy.

Access: Very good location for local restaurants, buses and the local beach. You can use your room key to access beach but it's not a good idea right now as they have planted a flower bed at the end and you have no option but to walk across the mud followed by gravel. Public access is immediately beside it. Same beach either way. Card also give you access to loungers etc. Sea is calm, no waves, very clean and not crowded.

Other: All of the staff are amazing, really nice people who make you feel very welcome.

To the lady (guest?) who likes to greet each barely breaking dawn singing 'God is HERE!!!!' God asked me to give you a message. He says He appreciates you acknowledging His presence on the 3rd floor of the Barbados Courtyard and how hard you try to hit those notes but He reminds you that He is also a great fan of quiet contemplation. He tried to tell you Himself but you couldn't hear Him, presumably because of the noise. :o)

Altogether a great little hotel, very well priced.

Room Tip: High floor for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear UnicornUDIC,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with the world! :) I am absolutely thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay and you really have done a fantastic job highlighting some of our key features. We continuously try to find ways to use the feedback we receive to improve our service and product and it is always good to receive both constructive and positive feedback. Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us in the near future!

Best Regards
Kelly-Ann Mayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

stayed two nights until a transfer to a resort. typical Courtyard. clean rooms, nice staff. short walk to the beach was no problem. narrow pool, but was good for some laps. decent breakfast menu, a little pricey, but, that's Barbados lol The Coffee Bean is up the street, great coffee. As is Momma Mia's, great pizza!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor near the pool. some has balcony's you can sit out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear RL,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at our hotel and for detailing some of your highlights. The associates are always very pleased to be recognised and of course the Housekeeping department loves to boast about their high level of cleanliness and attention to detail. We appreicate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Best Regards
Kelly-Ann Mayers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown

Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings | Christ Church, Bridgetown BB15156, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Courtyard by Marriott, Bridgetown is a contemporary 118 room Barbados hotel opened in 2011, featuring well appointed guest rooms accommodation with spacious work areas, plush bedding and complimentary high speed internet access. The hotel is located within the well known Garrison district,and across the street from the beach offering beach access to the Coconut Beach with complimentary lounge chairs for guests. The hotel features an outdoor pool, business center, and restaurant. TGI Fridays and a Spa are located next door. The Courtyard is also a short drive from the famous St. Lawrence's Gap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bridgetown Hotel Bridgetown
Courtyard By Marriott Bridgetown Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.