We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobster Alive

Lobster Alive
Wesley House, Bay Street | On the west side of Carlisle Bay, Bridgetown, Barbados
2464350305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 49 restaurants in Bridgetown
Price range: $15 - $75
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The restaurant initially began as a wholesale distributor for the island's hotels and restaurants. Cooked takeaway service was added; along with a friendly free beer while you wait. Shortly after that the health inspector demanded we go the whole way or "wholesale only". This was around 1998. Long time friend and fellow musician with the local VSOP Jazz band "Stu Jenkins" became the resident artist (designer) and we named the up coming restaurant "LOBSTER ALIVE and all that Jazz". We felt our way; with many of the usual restaurant mistakes. But it seems now, we have scored quite well with international critics, restaurant guide books; and our many repeat customers.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We had seen this place on previous visits and thought it looked a little run down from the outside. Don't let that fool you. After being shown to our table, set out on the beach, white table cloth, we were told we could go see the lobster tank and the man who nets them out. Very interesting! We chose not to pick one out and my smaller lobster was so fresh and exquisite. My partner chose Lobster Thermidor and relished it. A fantasic evening with a very good easy jazz group playing. Already decided to return again next year. A little expensive in BD$ but with the exchange , not so bad.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    126
    97
    39
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Ever Had But...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

For the price they charge they gotta step up their game. Their prices are more expensive per plate than other nice restaurants I ate at like Lonestar, The Mews, and the Fishpot.

My biggest regret was not ordering 5 lbs of lobster. In the states I am used to paying about $25 a lb for fresh lobster that comes from a tank, but price per pound starts out at $80 Barbados, kind of steep. Yes the scenery is amazing, jazz band was very good, but still.

When ordering 5lbs or more the cost is $58 barbados, my GF and I shared 2 lbs worth plus the extra $20 sharing charge. For an extra $40 US we could have more than doubled our order.

The service sucked. They brought out lobster cracking utensils when we were 10 minutes in the main course, there were no hot towels or even towelettes to clean our hands. I had to walk up to the bar to ask for another round of drinks.

U can't have 2 waitresses making drinks and service 6 or more tables.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I live in Barbados and have eaten at every high end restaurant there is here on the island. I always order Lobster and I would state categorically, that Lobster Alive is by far the best restaurant in Barbados for Lobster. The atmosphere is fantastic and on a moon lit night, it can't be beat.

The service is not five star, but you don't expect it to be. The waitresses are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to ensure that your visist is as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

Can't be beat!!!!

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lobster Alive - I'll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Definitely agree with the other reviews to skip the boatyard and go to lobster alive (right next door). Cost of umbrella and chairs fully offset by drink coupons. Lovely beach and then a great lunch. Yes it is expensive - but we thought worth the treat.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not worth the expense”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

We were looking forward to experience Lobster Alive after reading the other reviews on here, i have to say we came away sadly dissapointed. Firstly i did this would be more of an experience - lobster tanks - choosing etc - no. We were sat and ordered some wine - not available - had to choose alternative at more expense. ordered lobster to share - again not available had to take 2 small ones. The food came out and although it was very tasty i do not think the price is justified. OK i appreciate the owner flies out to catch the lobster but still it is very expensive for what you get. The jazz band is great and had they not been there this review would have been alot worse!! The service is very mediocre after our meal the waitress asked if we wanted anything else - without even showing us a menu anyways we ordered 2 coffees and this all came to $200US.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Alive also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Lobster Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobster Alive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.