We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Island Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Island Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SUMMER SIZZLER SALE
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Bridgetown
Rexton, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My sister and I spent 2 weeks (April 6-19,2013 ) At the Island Inn. We found the staff to be most friendly and helpful. All neccessities were close at hand. Reservations for taxis or shuttles were quickly made. A short walk to a great beach-no steps. The food was delicious and well prepared.If there was something else you wanted you had only to ask.I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet getaway.A wedding took place while we were there . To our surprise all other guests were included in the festiveties and reception.It was great! We found the cleanliness and service to be great. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    92
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
193
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our first night was spent in a very noisy room because of an air on defect. The manager (Tora/Thora, a lovely lady) had the repair man out the following day and when the problem persisted she got him out again - 9pm on a Saturday evening. From then on our two week stay was almost perfection. Food is excellent, service excellent and the staff generally, even down to the handymen are so lovely and friendly.

You have guessed there is a BUT coming!

We stayed in room 11 and my warning to anyone allocated this room is forget any thoughts of sleeping late. You WILL be woken up every morning between 5 and 6 am by hotel staff repeatedly clashing the door of some kind of hotel store room/staff room which is built on to the rear of room 11. This occurred every morning and throughout the day when we returned to our room to change.

As I have said already this hotel is ideally suited to those wanting a relaxing holiday in lovely location.

Be Warned: you will NOT be told by travel reps or hotel staff but muggings (including shootings while we were there) are common place. DO NOT walk the streets or beaches wearing jewellery, be wary of carrying a handbag and if you are accosted DO NOT resist - you risk being seriously hurt! Let the thief have what he wants, the consequences of resisting do not bare thinking of!!!

Room Tip: The rooms around the garden and pool are lovely and very quite. Do not accept room 11 if alternative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

To be fair for what we thought was perfection until our last evening , I will concentrate on the positives and leave my proviso until the end.
This was a perfect holiday for 12 of the 13 nights we stayed a the Island Inn. The food was amazing and unusual in that it was a waitress served ' all inclusive ' menu. The welcome was amazing and we were ' in heaven' , planning to return and looking at rebooking for next year whilst we were still there. Most of the visitors whilst we were there were return customers and mostly made up of more mature or retired couples.
There was a very quiet and reserved atmosphere which I understand is the usual demeanour for the hotel and clientele. All guests socialised in the communal areas and retired in silence to bed. It was idyllic- not everyone's cup of tea but exactly what we were looking for and it seemed that all the guests were like minded and had done a lot of research before choosing this intimate boutique hotel.
Our accommodation - a junior suite - was lovely and, like everything else, beyond our expectations. We were still at the hotel when the large group of people arrived and it was our last night in Barbados.
I cannot speak for what happened after that evening as we left in the early hours of the following morning but Michelle P did complain to the manageress who had come back into the hotel in civvies that evening and it is absolutely true the manageress ( a thoroughly lovely woman) did say to give it 24 hrs. We were initially horrified as the party descended noisily into the pool after it was closed and for such a small place it seemed like it was overwhelming. They got out within half an hour and at dinner seemed nice people. One really nice young lad set about collecting used glasses and returning them to the lovely Mr Earl , our barman.
The issues are not really the fault of ANY of the visitors .
We all paid a lot of money but had different expectations. We wanted peace and quiet and indeed had tranquility for nearly two weeks but I quite accept that this isn't what would be ideal for the wedding party who, by sheer force of numbers and familiarity ( being family) would affect the dynamics of the hotel guests without intending to.
Unfortunately a large sociable number of even the nicest people would make peace and quiet difficult with the way the hotel is configured . Our room was within three strides of the pool and socialising that is very reasonable for the family group who had paid good money the same as us, was really really noisy for us when we were in our room. They were having fun but it was literally on our doorstep and close enough to hear all their conversations.
My tempered view is that this hotel is superb and the holiday was a true holiday of a lifetime but I would never stay at the hotel if there was a large party of any description already booked in. This small hotel would tread the tightrope to be all things to all guests with difficulty just because of the smallness of it and how close the rooms are to the social areas of the very small pool and courtyard. The wedding party had a right to the holiday they wanted and so did we, so all you would need to know when you booked was that there was a large wedding party booked in at the same time - I think this would or should be mandatory for the management to tell you this.
I would love to get married in Barbados at the Island Inn and it would be my right to book it for my friends and family . It is up to the management to foresee that this could be problematic for others guests who should be informed that this is the case. You are then putting everyone in a position to make an informed choice.
Debbie and Chris

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

There has been a lot of controversy over this hotel in recent reviews. We would just like to say that as current guests of this hotel we agree with all the comments made by careline. Future potential guests should not be put off by spurious and over exaggerated reviews. If you enjoy quiet relaxing holidays then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have been several times to this hotel and each time we experience a welcome that makes us want to come back so many more times. We were here two years ago and the staff and service are still as good as ever,food good, rooms very clean,and staff a joy. The hotel was nearly full as a large family group had come for a holiday prior to a wedding and the hotel accomodated them extremely well given the diferent age groups in the party. Having read the previous review I can say that we were not inconvenienced in any way and some of the the family though initally loud when they arrived settled down and were polite and courteous at all times.

Do not be put off by the previous review, go and enjoy the experience that only the island inn can give you.

If you have any questions please contact me .

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This posting should be seen as a new review of the hotel but should also serve as a direct response to the review below by Michelle P. I am currently a guest of this wonderful hotel in Barbados as well as a member of the previously described wedding party.

The hotel is a beautiful complex consisting of small bungalow style housing with open courtyard and beautiful pool and natural vistas. The decor is in keeping with a modern setting but does not detract from the natural beauty of the surroundings. The rooms are clean and well maintained and resourced; the staff are all friendly and extremely helpful to all guests, (this is my first time in the Caribbean and not a frequent visitor to these islands). The food is far above average and the concept of all-inclusive really means just that: food and refreshments run constantly throughout the day from what must be an expansive kitchen.

I have already requested quotes for a return trip with my girlfriend next year and would promote this hotel to anybody travelling to this wonderful island.

The nature and tone of the previous posting has been exaggerated beyond any understand, and was clearly written to emote a response. I am a member of a group of 23 staying at the hotel, most of whom are part of one family with close ties and relationships to one another. We arrived on Thursday evening and are staying until this coming Saturday, (therefore I am unsure how Miss P. was able to complain within 1 hour of our arrival). All parties within this group, aged from an extremely quiet 1 year old and an 87 year old grandmother have been incredibly courteous and well mannered, not only conforming to the ethos and policies of the hotel but also the needs of other guests.

The hotel runs a no smoking policy in all internal communal areas, rightfully so. However, the outer courtyard and individuals room verandas all have ash trays where smoking is permitted. At no point have cigarettes been inhaled in prohibited areas but I, as a smoker, will ensure that all smoke travels in the correct direction away from adjacent rooms...

All members of the group, as well as all other patrons of the hotel are on the island to celebrate: celebrating either a wedding, celebrating time away from work or simply the possibility of being able to visit this wonderful island. Emotions are relaxed and happiness is on the up. If there have been any situations where current guests feel that our stay has been detrimental to their own I would insist that they come to talk to us, making us aware of the situation as any normal guest or person would. Please feel fee to come and speak to me at dinner this evening. I will be the member of the wedding party wearing a shirt. You may find that difficult seeing as all of us are conforming to the hotel's dinner dress policy!

I am writing this in an effort to ensure that any future guests of this hotel are not detracted from staying at this hotel by a single, negative and frankly unjust review. Five stars all round!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are currently staying at the Island Inn....unfortunately. We chose this hotel after much research and thought it would attract like minded individuals looking for a relaxing holiday like ourselves. Our first 3 days pretty much met (or thereabouts) our expectations, then we were innundated by a large noisy wedding party and their numbers are growing by the day. I would say there are about 30 here currently which in a 24 bedroom hotel is overwhelming and borderline intimidating. I understand there's more to arrive yet and they will be here for up to 2 weeks so beware if you're about to come here.. It's been awful since they arrived, the minority of us just tend to disappear as they are in groups of 8 or 9 wherever you are in the hotel. I spoke to the manager on Thursday and raised my concerns, she asked for 24 hours. Since yesterday things have gone from bad to worse. They have no awareness that others in the hotel don't want to be listening to their row's late at night, have them knocking on our door at 1 am, scream round the pool,bang doors constantly and are in and out of each others rooms, noisily, and disregard dress code and basically ruin everyone's holiday. We have a group of them in the rooms either side of us and can no longer sit on our balcony or have our door open as often 8 or 9 of them are directly outside our room speaking in loud voices and sometimes smoking which drifts in our room - therefore we go in and close our doors. I asked the Manager why the rest of us weren't notified prior to our arrival that there would be such a large group here which would have given us the chance to choose another hotel. She couldn't answer that. Things have got considerably worse this last 24 hours and we have tried to contact her since 9am this morning but she has as yet at almost 7pm not been in touch - another uncomfortable night ahead for us. Never mind, we're the minority so we don't matter. I would score this hotel a bit fat zero if it were possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados
Island Inn
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.