We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Island Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Bridgetown
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It really is the bees knees, everything we expected and more.
If we ever go back to Barbados I would'nt consider going anywhere else.
The staff from the 'Boss' Tora, to my mate on the bar 'Rooney' (not real name) were really freindly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    93
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
35
209
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've just returned from three weeks at this hotel. This was our third visit and once again we had a really lovely stay. The rooms and grounds are kept really clean, the food was excellent and the service good. All the staff were cheerful, helpful and friendly and we can't wait to go back next year! Thanks to everyone for helping to make our holiday so enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

When my wife tells me that she doesn't want to go home then the place we're staying at has to be doing something very right. In the case is the Island Inn Hotel, everything was pretty much spot on.
The hotel is located down a small road leading to Pebble Beach and ultimately the Hilton Hotel, however it is a very quiet area well away from the hustle and bustle of other parts of the island. The local bus service is excellent but if you want some fun, go on one of the regular reggae buses to either Bridgetown or Oistins, you'll hear them with reggae music blasting from the open windows. Great fun and all for $2!
The local beaches, Pebbles and Carlysle both a 5 minute stroll away make up for the smallish pool at the hotel and are both well worth a visit, particularly Pebbles when on Sunday mornings the local racehorses go for a swim in the Caribbean Sea, well worth getting up early for.
I found the food at the hotel to be very good, breakfast is a buffet style whist lunch and dinner are table service with a choice of usually fish or either pork/chicken/beef and a vegitarian option. As drinks are included there is usually plenty wine on offer to wash it all down with.
The staff at the hotel we found all to be very nice and always had time for a quick chat. Sharron on reception was particularly welcoming when we arrived and Michael and Earl on the bar, the manager Thora (sp) and all the waitress staff and cleaning staff who's names I either never go to know or escape me sll helped in contributing to a wonderful holiday.
We never go anywhere twice but my wife has already been searching the intenet for flights to Barbados next winter and another visit to the Island Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Island Inn 22nd Feb to 1st of March to celebrate my 50th birthday and had a fantastic time! The staff were friendly and helpful and we were upgraded from a pool room to a junior suite which was just gorgeous. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly (hello to Michael and Rita, David and Susan), we loved the beach and it was great to see the local kids come down for swimming lessons after school. We visited the sister hotel Mango Bay for lunch and did some shopping at Chattel Village. All in all we had a fabulous holiday and can't wait to return. Ps: thank you for the Champagne on my birthday, a lovely surprise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Island Inn Hotel and had a really nice time. Although it is all-inclusive - meals and drinks are covered - it isn't a resort. We enjoyed it because it was small and quiet and we could relax and socialize with the other guests after being away all day but I wouldn't come here with children. There's not really much to keep them occupied other than one small pool. The food was decent but we were usually gone for lunch and also had supper at restaurants a few nights to keep things interesting. We liked the bartenders and dining staff, and we found the manager to be very warm and friendly. Some people have complained about the lack of beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, etc, but it is all at the reception - you just have to ask. We found the staff to be very helpful when we had questions and requests.
The room was clean and a decent size for a couple. We were right next to the pool and I would recommend booking one of these rooms. We always ended up lounging by the pool and reading or having a drink between plans or before meals.
The hotel is in the Garrison area - it was built in the early 19th century as a rum store for the British army - you can walk to sights like the George Washington House, Barbados Museum, racetrack. It is right next to Pebbles beach on Carlisle Bay, which is beautiful, and next to a good restaurant called Brown Sugar. It's also in walking distance from Bridgetown and a short drive to the St Lawrence Gap and Oistins.
Good location, good staff, good drinks!

Room Tip: Nicest room location is poolside rather than garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were very lucky to have stayed at the island inn for two weeks from the 11th feb to the 25th feb. A lovely hotel which to be honest felt like a second home for our trip. Well reasons were ...
1. In January I e mailed to request a fridge (required as eldest son has type 1 diabetes) other son had his 7th birthday on our second day and we requested a cake... Both no problem and all organised.
2. We accompanied my parents who are island inn regulars .. Whilst we had reservations about taking a 7 and 10 year old to a hotel which has stated reservations about children on trip advisor about children we experienced the opposite ... Early meals no problem ... Quirky requests no problem and to be honest by 8.30 we were ready for bed .. It is not advertised as a adult hotel and if you are a family who want a holiday near to the beach .. Pool and fun look no further.. Whist on our favourite bit on the beach ( far left on pebbles beach) we witnessed a Hilton activity - sadly not our cup of tea - boys had cousins who lived in Barbados so met kids and also on beach.
3. Now to food .. Boys liked food and we ordered off the children's menu with no problem at all .. Ie just put in requests like chicken in breadcrumbs and all good .. Week one we all eat loads week two slowed down. Weall enjoyed the food the blackened fish was lovely.
4. Pace .. Yes you may wait 2 mins to be served at the bar... What the hell as others have said it is the Caribbean .. Enjoy the wait.
5. Room .. Cleaned every day .. We stayed in a junior suite which by the pool was lovely .. Faulty safe given much attention by staff.,
6. Staff ... Every single member of staff polite attentive and kind .. Big thank you to all reception night staff who provided water at 3am in middle of small crisis with Kai who has diabetes and all other staff I am not good with names but all waitresses were so lovely.
7. Stay .. We visited as a 6 person group .. Grandparents to grand children .. Week one appeared to have guests staying at least a week . We met lovely people and enjoyed feeling part of a group .. Week 2 more short stayers for cruisers .. But met lovely people from Scotland, Manchester, se England and a lovely German couple who did Lego and dominos with our boys
8. Summary .. Real gem ..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here Feb 2013 as a couple, all inclusive. Very nice hotel, room very big (superior garden view, no 7), very clean. Pool small with not enough shade or beds, but beach beautiful, 2 minute walk. Bar shut 11pm but dont let that put you off it was enough for early start next day. Premium drinks/cocktails served, staff friendly. Easy to get around by local bus $2 anywhere. Good day out on a Saturday 5 minute walk away, at local horse racing. Would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.