We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Island Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Loved this place. From decor to friendliness to location - all amazing. All the staff were great and very helpful, from the servers, cleaners, bartenders and front-desk staff. Food was great (would have liked to see some Bajan options though - I understand they're catering to a mostly foreign tourist base, but Bajan cuisine would have been a nice option; and the option for Mackeson stout - something I was introduced to out of the hotel which I loved - a milk stout). Location is nice and close to a beach that was not busy at all, very safe and clean, and there's a food vendor in the parking lot beside it that sold the best fish sandwiches - a must try. The room was very clean and was a good balance of contemporary design/furnishing and original architecture from when it was a rum depot. I would highly recommend this place if you need a quaint, friendly and central place to stay in Bridgetown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    101
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
36
228
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We are here at the moment. I can only say good things about this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and the room that we have (which is only the basic room) is lovely and clean, modern and spacious. What a find! The beach is only yards away and you can probably walk to it quicker than if you were in a large hotel on the beach. By the way, the beach is very clean and beautiful

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just returned from our 5th visit to this wonderful hotel. Having read some of the previous reviews, i was a little concerned about our second home, and found it hard to believe some of the adverse comments.

This wonderful hotel is quite remarkable. You just get drawn into the warm family atmosphere of this lovely small all inclusive hotel. We stayed in our usual superior garden view room which was once again impeccable. The highest level of housekeeping and facilities, clean towels every day, great air-conditioning.

The restaurant once again provided lovely meals and snacks, some buffet style, some a la carte. It was nice to see some different ideas coming though onto the menu.

What was lovely to see this year is that the management have listened to their customers comments and have provided 3 sunshades around the pool, and have available for rental, beach chairs and sunshades. Each item is available at a cost of 10 bds, and they were proving to be very popular.

We met some lovely people this year who were visiting the Island Inn for the first time. They are already sorting out their trip for next year!!! Because we have stayed so many times and usually the same time every year, we meet up with some very familiar faces and that is what is so unique. To catch up on all their news from the previous year is just great and i don't know many hotels where you can do this. And also the lovely staff, they really do make the Island Inn what it is; they welcome you back with open arms, the biggest smiles and love hearing all your news.

We are already looking forward to planning our next visit and can't wait to meet up with all our 'holiday friends' and catch up in our own little 'island paradise'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Despite suffering from a flu-like sinus/chest infection imported from the UK, we still loved our stay in Barbados and thought the Island Inn was a charming small hotel, with a lovely relaxed atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff.
We both soldiered on ( despite my wife needing antibiotics from a local private doctor) making the most of our time on the island, hiring a Mini Moke for a week to tour, which was great fun and something we would heartily recommend.
We booked a superior garden view room that was very comfortable and spacious. Well worth the upgrade.
The hotel is all-inclusive but most meals are a la carte, which was fine for us as there is no temptation to over-indulge with the huge international-style buffets we have experienced elsewhere. There was a manager's cocktail party and BBQ once a week on a Wednesday, which was very good. Overall we were very happy with the food, including the packed lunches we ordered for days out and about.
Being a small hotel there are plenty of chances to be sociable if you want and we met a number of very pleasant, interesting fellow guests with whom to swap travel tales and share a drink or four in the evenings.
Although some reviewers have complained they had to wait for drinks at the bar, we never experienced this and only received friendly, prompt attention from whichever barman - Earl, Michael or Mr Cain -was on duty. The same was true of all the staff - they were the epitome of the unforced, natural friendliness we encountered throughout Barbados.
Although the hotel is not directly on Pebbles Beach it is no more than a two minute stroll away and we enjoyed wandering down to watch the sunset, cocktails in hand. Previous comments about the lack of loungers on the beach have led to manager Thora Browne arranging for excellent lightweight beach chairs to be made available for hire at the reasonable rate of 10BDS$ per day (5US$). There are also beach mats and umbrellas available.
Our overall of experience of Barbados and the Island Inn was excellent and we are not surprised that many guests choose to return year after year. Although there is a big world out there we'd like to explore we also hope that one day we will be among the returners - this time 100% healthy!
PS: try to arrange your stay to coincide with a race meeting at the nearby Garrison Savannah racecourse. It's a few minutes walk away from the hotel and is a great fun afternoon out, especially if you pick a couple of winners!

Room Tip: Superior garden view room very good - we were in number 25. There is no fitness centre but cannot de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire. England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from our first visit to Barbados and we stayed at the Island Inn. As previous people have said it is a small, boutique style, all inclusive Hotel. There are only 24 rooms of varying sizes and prices. We stayed in a basic room our son having No 1, us No 3. The rooms were great for us and in some ways better than the more expensive ones. There are half a dozen rooms along a veranda where you can sit quietly in the sun in the morning and keep out of direct sun but in the fresh air later on. Yes you do look onto a small area of garden and a car park but it was never a problem for us and we could keep an eye on our car! Apparently the monkeys used to run along the veranda but we never saw one there so they may have been relocated! Room 1 is closest to the lounge area and is able to still connect to the Internet which was great for our son. The rooms are plenty big enough and have small shower only bathrooms which was fine for us. They were kept immaculately clean with clean towels every day and tea and coffee topped up. However it it is just as easy to walk to the restaurant and grab a coffee from the machine and take it back to your room. The same can be done with drinks from the bar too. They will even fill up a jug with water and ice for you to take to your room. Plastic glasses are available too if you want to take a drink to the beach!
The food was great and the menu is done on a two week rotation. You can ask for different types of eggs and pancakes in the morning if they are not there already. Portions are not huge but plenty adequate for most people and leaving no waste. I do not eat fish at all but never had a problem with what to choose the meat option and veggie one were always good. If you want masses to eat and endless choice this is not the place for you but we loved it. The staff were very attentive always topping up your iced water and wine. The rose and White wines were particularly good. Afternoon tea was a treat if you were about with warm scones and crustless sandwiches. Packed lunches were also a great option if you are out for the day, loads of sandwiches, cake, fruit and bottled drinks all given in a cool back although they may benefit from ice packs rather than ice in a bag!
The hotel is 90 seconds away from a beautiful sandy beach. On first look it appears very scruffy, as does a lot of the island, but when you look past the car park and bins etc you see a stunning beach which slopes very gently. There us a little shade if you walk up towards the Hilton. We were about to suggest to the hotel that they bought some chairs for people to use as the Sunshine Suites in Grand Cayman do when we discovered that they had just bought some. They rent them out daily for $10 BBD. They are very good quality and worth using, we even had to unwrap ours as they had not been used before. I believe they do have a few umbrellas too. The staff are very open to any ideas anyone might have to improve their experience with them.
We found all of the staff to be very helpful and friendly and have no qualms recommending the Hotel to everyone. The air conditioning is the best and quietest we have ever experienced anywhere in the world and my husband said the bed was the best ever too as he slept like a baby. It was a little too firm for me but after a couple of nights I got used to it. I can imagine this type of hotel is not for everyone as it is not glitzy with huge pools and massive meals. It is small, personal, friendly and for us perfect. Thank you everyone, we had a wonderful time. We will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fantastic hotel, stayed here for two weeks over Christmas and New Year, beautiful christmas tree in reception, decorations throughout, realy made it welcoming. Front desk staff friendly, as were the Bar, waiting, Kitchen, and Housekeeping staff. Rooms lovely, spacious, and extremely clean, we had a garden room no 24, in between the bar and the pool, (could hear the housekeeping staff chatting in the mornings, which wasnt so good if you' d had too many rums the night before). If you get the chance, stay in the deluxe suite, we saw one of these when the maid was cleaning, it looke amazing. Hotel not on the beach, but literally 2 mins walk from reception, Food to die for, drinks and cocktails in abundance,pool a little on the small side, We will defintely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here in November but only just got around to writing this review. Our check in was qiuck and easy, shown to our room by Sharon the receptionist who was very friendly and helpful. We had room 2 which was a garden view room Not much of a view, but a good standard room. Very small bathroom though, no room to put all our stuff could do with a few shelves ! The air con was very good,the quietest we have had. The tree frogs in the garden were a bit annoying till you get used to them they start "singing" at dusk till about 3 am!! Ear plugs would be a good idea.
Breakfast buffet style but you can get eggs cooked to your liking,we were told we had to book in for lunch and give a time for dinner. We didn't always do this though and it wasn't a problem we still had when we wanted it. There is a dress code for evening meals (Long trousers for men and no denim) But if its too hot after dinner you can always change to shorts. The waitress's are very efficient and nothing is too much trouble they all go out of their way to make sure you have all you need.
There was local entertainment two or three times a week which was very good and not too loud There was also a managers cocktail party weekly . This is very good as it gets guests talking to each other. Most of the guests sit in the courtyard after dinner and we found everyone very friendly. The bar service was very good Michael does a good cocktail and works very hard. One thing we would say is the bar closes too early 11pm. 1 am would be a bit better.
The pool area is very small so no room for parasols !! They really need some shade.
Pebbles beach, a few minutes walk away, is nice but it really needs cleaning up!! And some sun loungers. However walk up the beach toward Bridgetown and the beach is much better. A few beach bars the boatyard being the best of them. We had a great holiday at the Island inn, we usually stay in much larger hotels.but found this much more relaxing and would return . We would upgrade to a pool room as they are much more spacious.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 5 are the quietest. The courtyard rooms all look out on to the sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.