We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful,relaxing stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Island Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Island Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bridgetown
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Delightful,relaxing stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here in November but only just got around to writing this review. Our check in was qiuck and easy, shown to our room by Sharon the receptionist who was very friendly and helpful. We had room 2 which was a garden view room Not much of a view, but a good standard room. Very small bathroom though, no room to put all our stuff could do with a few shelves ! The air con was very good,the quietest we have had. The tree frogs in the garden were a bit annoying till you get used to them they start "singing" at dusk till about 3 am!! Ear plugs would be a good idea.
Breakfast buffet style but you can get eggs cooked to your liking,we were told we had to book in for lunch and give a time for dinner. We didn't always do this though and it wasn't a problem we still had when we wanted it. There is a dress code for evening meals (Long trousers for men and no denim) But if its too hot after dinner you can always change to shorts. The waitress's are very efficient and nothing is too much trouble they all go out of their way to make sure you have all you need.
There was local entertainment two or three times a week which was very good and not too loud There was also a managers cocktail party weekly . This is very good as it gets guests talking to each other. Most of the guests sit in the courtyard after dinner and we found everyone very friendly. The bar service was very good Michael does a good cocktail and works very hard. One thing we would say is the bar closes too early 11pm. 1 am would be a bit better.
The pool area is very small so no room for parasols !! They really need some shade.
Pebbles beach, a few minutes walk away, is nice but it really needs cleaning up!! And some sun loungers. However walk up the beach toward Bridgetown and the beach is much better. A few beach bars the boatyard being the best of them. We had a great holiday at the Island inn, we usually stay in much larger hotels.but found this much more relaxing and would return . We would upgrade to a pool room as they are much more spacious.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 5 are the quietest. The courtyard rooms all look out on to the sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    96
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
35
219
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torfaen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I arrived at the The Island Inn earlier in December. We checked in easily and the receptionist was very helpful. We were offered a drink as soon as we arrived, perfect!

The hotel is not on the beach front, but Pebbles Beach less than a minute's walk away and is stunning.

We thoroughly enjoyed our weeks stay. The hotel has 24 rooms and is quite quiet. We found this a lovely aspect as we were able to chat and get to know our fellow holiday makers. This was great for us. If we wanted to go out to enjoy the night life we could arrange a taxi and didn't have far to go.

The room we stayed in overlooked the pool, (the pool is rather small and cold although you do adjust to the temperature quickly) the room was exceptionally spacious, air conditioned, and immaculate. There is a safe located in the room but this is not bolted down. All public areas in the hotel were also kept clean.

The previous review reporting about breakfast, lunch and dinner is very accurate therefore I wont duplicate what has been said.
The bar service could sometimes involve a few minutes wait as the barmen may wait on tables or needed to clear up. The only issue we had is that the bar would close at 11pm, quite often than not we as well as a few other guests were still enjoying the evening. We needed to order an extra round of drinks which was not a problem. Please could the bar stay open a little later??

This holiday was great for us, just what we wanted a quiet, relaxing and tranquil time. We would definately return to Barbados and to the Island Inn. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire Dame
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

considering the price we paid. We stayed at The Island Inn at the beginning of December. It was exactly as described in the brochure and on the website with accurate photographs of the resort and rooms. Everywhere was kept spotlessly clean and the staff were all lovely. BIG hi to Sharon on reception who was so helpful and smiling, nothing was too much trouble for her. Sharon not only remembered our names but also our room number. She even worked out who I was when a guest who didn't know my name had checked out but wanted to leave me a note! How's that for service?

If you're thinking of staying here then PLEASE do your research carefully and note it is a 3* hotel, not the 5* some people seemed to think they were paying for. The rooms were immaculate but lacked shower gel and paper handkerchiefs. Everything else was provided like kettle, tea and coffee, a safe, iron, ironing board and a decent multi channel TV. There was a computer free for guests to use in the lounge and free wi-fi in the lounge for guests with their own laptops.

Breakfast was the usual fare along with eggs cooked to order. Lunch and dinner had to be booked at breakfast each day which was not a problem for us. Lunch was sometimes buffet, sometimes al la carte. Afternoon tea consisted of cakes, drinks and sandwiches. There was only one buffet dinner, that was on the night of the cocktail party. The rest of the dinners were a la carte. Some people found the menu limiting but there was always a fish, meat and vegetarian main course option. We always felt we had plenty to eat and enjoyed every single meal we had. I found if I requested no potatoes or pasta with my main course I would be given larger portions of the fish or meat and vegetables. Bar service could sometimes involve a few minutes wait as the barmen also waited on the tables, cleared up and served drinks to diners. That was fine as we were never about to die of thirst and were on holiday so not in a rush! Everyone worked extremely hard to make sure we had an enjoyable stay and we appreciated this.

During our stay there was a good mixture of ages but no children. We found it a lovely sociable place to be. We shared a taxi with Sarah and Paul [another BIG hi!] visiting the sister resort, Mango Bay, for the day. The taxi cost $100 Barbados between the four of us. We had a pleasant day with lunch and drinks included. You do have to book this and a lunch slot 24 hours in advance with Sharon, though, and take your letter of confirmation to hand in at the Mango Bay restaurant on arrival.

The Island Inn is not a beach front property but has the gorgeous Pebbles Beach less than a minute's walk away. If management are reading this I'd like them to consider buying some small, lightweight folding beach chairs for guests to take down to the beach. I'd have been more than happy to have paid a hefty deposit on these each day in exchange for a little comfort on the sand.

We had a wonderful holiday made extra special by the super staff and friendly guests, thank you, one and all. Would we return? Without a doubt. We've already been down to the travel agents in the village to pick up a brochure for next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We've recently returned relaxed and happy from another stay at the Island Inn. I agree with all the positive things that people have written about so shan't repeat them here. The hotel is not without faults (water pressure a bit hit and miss for example) but they are so minor as to not worth worrying about. If you are the kind of person who loves nothing better than piling your plate with mountains of buffet food morning, noon and night then the delicious, beautifully presented, sensible-portioned a la carte meals at the Island Inn may not be for you. The service is excellent - I have read some of the negative comments about surly staff and absent bar staff but simply do not recognise the description. All the hard-working staff were warm, friendly and attentive and helped make our stay really enjoyable. I admit that sometimes you have to wait a few minutes to be served at the bar but have found this is mainly due to the bar-man being busy elsewhere serving tables or helping hotel guests with their luggage. In any case, this is Barbados...what's the rush??!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 6 and 7 unless you like being woken up very early in the morning by monkeys dropping ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls, ontario, canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First let me say that we are low maintenance travels who are happy just being on vacation. We have stayed in numerous four and five star Caribbean resorts that have offered exceptional service, clean rooms and good food. We just returned last evening from a very memorable and enjoyable vacation in Barbados. This is a lovely island that we would return to but unfortunately our accommodation choice would be different next time. Based on our past travel destinations in the Caribbean, we found the Island Inn Hotel to be inferior in numerous ways. The Island Inn is a quaint hotel with 24 rooms. In our experience, there are both positive and negative issues. Let's begin with the negative:
-we checked into the Island Inn at 5:30pm after a 5 1/2 hour flight from Toronto, Canada. We explained to the woman at the front desk that we were very hungry. We were bluntly told, "Dinner begins at 7:00 pm." That was basically the greeting which set the tone for the type of service we received from the rest of the staff all week long.
-please pack some kleenex - non existant at the Inn. Also the bethroom sink is great if you are 4 foot 3 inches tall. Turn the water on too mcuh and you can take a shower at the same time.
-bar service during the day was almost non existent because the bartender was everywhere but tending bar and when you could flag him down, he was not very content that he had to stop what he was doing to serve a drink
-the evening bartender, Michael, seemed overworked and discontent most of the time
-breakfast, lunch and dinner are all served on the outdoor patio which is not air conditioned yet the gentlemen are required to wear long pants in the evening.
-a suggestion for the Island Inn would be to advertise ADULTS ONLY as there is virtually nothing to do for young babies or children. The children that were there while we vacationed were very well behaved but we couldn't help but notice that it was no picnic for the parents
-no fault of the resort but it was very humid during our stay. There was no area that was air conditioned other than our room.
- although the air conditioning in our room was very quiet and functional, the vent was immediately above our bed which made it uncomfortable for sleeping.
-we were allotted 2 pool towels upon arrival. A few days into the week, I asked the day front desk woman for fresh pool towels and was bluntly told "no, hang them outside your room and they will be changed". Later on that same day, I asked the afternoon front desk clerk for two fresh towels and she gladly accommodated our request.
-breakfast servers were always cheerful and friendly but the same could not be said for the evening staff.
-food choices were very limited and portions small
-the internet was very slow if it worked at all and wifi was hit and miss, (I informed the front desk that the internet was not working and I received this reply "Well, mine is working` and that was the end of that).
-water pressure in the shower was inconsistent both in temperature and pressure
Now for the positive:
-nice flat screen television with numerous channels
-rooms were kept clean throughout entire resort
-Managers evening was very nice - BBQ with a buffet of salads.
-location of Island Inn is exceptional - close to both Pebble and Carlisle Beaches, Oistins, Bridgetown, the Racetrack, etc.
-the Reggae buses are very inexpensive ($1.00 American per person) and worth the experience
-electronic safe is nice but not bolted down to anything
All in all, we met some wonderful people who we shared stories with over drinks. (Hello, Bev & Gary and Tina & Collin and Patty & Sue from the UK). Contrary to the pros and cons of the Island Inn, we enjoyed a memorable and relaxing vacation at the Island Inn, Barbados. We spend many days at Carlisle Beach, (gorgeous crystal clear water). We also enjoyed a day at the horse races, shopping in Bridgetown and partying with the locals and our friends from the UK at Oistens. Although the Island Inn was chosen with higher expectations based upon previous reviews we very disappointed and would not recommend or return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and i just returned from a week at the Island Inn from the 10th to the 17th of November.
It is paradise, ignore some of the low ratings- some folks will never be happy with there "big city" attidues (let them go elsewhere more room for the rest of us !) the Island inn is an excellent small hotel with 24 lovely rooms, we had number 24 which overlooks lush gardens, with lizards and monkeys (which can be a little loud early in the morning but get over it you are in the Caribean - it happens) the setting is great and it is really 2 minutes to a lovely beach and if you head down towards the Hilton hotel there is plenty of shade.
Turtles swim in the sea here and flying fish break the surface too, perfect safe deep blue seas.
Get up early- 6am is fine and go down to the beach and watch the local race horses have a swim very coolto watch.
The staff are excellent, say hi to Micheal and Earl at the bar and Angela and the girls in the resturant, plus Thora the Manager cannot help you enough, and not forgetting Carol on reception she is an angel-if you need a cab make sure you ask for Denny and say hi from the english folks from Nova Scotia he was great !
Food could get repetitive if you stayed here for 2 or 3 weeks but for a week to ten days it was great and far better than the Hilton where we normally stay when in Barbados (and every Hilton is the same worldwide you are just a number there - at the Island Inn you become a friend)
We will be back for sure.
Not really suitable for young kids but for couples who want to have a good chat, get to know there other guests and have a relaxing good time this is ideal, if you want big floor shows and lots of dancing and big buffets go to "Sandals" but if you want a nice "classy" relaxing break this is the place

Room Tip: all good but we liked 23 and 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a delightful resort in a wonderful location. Just minutes from the beach and a 20 min walk to downtown. It is a small resort and everyone is so friendly! The staff could not have been any more pleasant and accommodating, We celebrated a birthday while there and the chef made a beautiful cake for the occasion. The food was mostly all very tastey and the presentation was super. We were actually on a dive vacation and had to leave the hotel every morning around 7:30 which is when they normally start serving breakfast, but they were so gracious as to prepare us food earlier with never a complaint. And we were always late getting back for lunch but again it was no problem for them to wait and serve us. The only possible drawback was lack of lounge chairs around the pool. Several times we would want to go down in the afternoon and all chairs were taken. We can't say enough about the friendliness of everyone!! It was a joy staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.