We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Michael's Cathedral

St. Michael's Cathedral
Spry St. | east of National Heroes Sq., Bridgetown, Barbados
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 75 things to do in Bridgetown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first American President George Washington attended services at this Bridgetown church in 1751.
Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The structure of the cathedral and the history were impressive. It was also very open, which allowed my wife and I to do some exploring.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ont, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My place of worship when on holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I visit this Cathedral every time I go to Barbados, I find it very inspiring and uplifting. The clergy and the members are very welcoming

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Original St, Michaels Cathedral 1786”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is the original St. Michael's Cathedral. It was built in 1786 from coral stone and still standing.
The cemetery attached is remarkable because the sites are above ground.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speightstown, Barbados
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A historic cathedral!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I just love the stained glass, the architecture of years ago so much intricate detail...all still standing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Lovely cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Worth a visit, very atmospheric, quite a walk on a hot day (especially if you've got kids or elderly people with you)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Michael's Cathedral also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to St. Michael's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Michael's Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.