We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabaza Sailing Cruises

Calabaza Sailing Cruises
Bridgetown, Barbados, Bridgetown, Barbados
+1 246-826-4048
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barbados most Exclusive, Private and Personalized Catamaran Sailing Cruises - we limit ourselves to 12 guests only to give you that special, pampered feeling you deserve on your holiday. Join us for unforgettable, relaxing cruise on our spacious catamaran. Snorkel and swim with the turtles, explore the reefs and wrecks. Taste our superb local Bajan lunch, hors'doeuvres and cakes. Not to forget our special rum punch.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Loved this trip from the very start even though i had problems with my credit card Gina was so cool and made me feel so welcome. Copious amounts of alcohol and food which was faultless. We had jackets to wear if required and as i had had a good few rum punches i thought it best if i did. We swam with the turtles and i managed to stroke one. They took many photos underwater for us and then they email you a link so you can see them. A perfect day out for all but ensure you use your sun tan lotion frequently!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    24
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crownsville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best activity we have done in Barbados in our 15 visits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful day on Calabaza. I worked on boats that offered the same type of trip in Hawaii and St. Thomas and I was in awe of the level of service on Calabaza. They could easily fit double the amount of people on the boat, yet they don't so that you have more than ample room to move around. The boat is very clean and is large enough that there are several areas that you can go to be in or out of the sun. The crew were constantly asking if you wanted a drink or if they could get you anything. The food was the best meal I have had so far since I arrived 5 days ago. They took pictures of us on the boat and snorkeling, they were personable, and were the key to making the day a success. We come to Barbados every year and now we have a new tradition, a trip on Calabaza, it will be the first activity that I book each year. In fact, they added an afternoon cruise in a few days and we are going to go again......yes, they are that good!!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Can there be more yet unsaid?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If there's a better day cruise anywhere I've not been on it. Gina and her crew are warm, and almost startlingly hospitable. We had an absolutely brilliant day in their care, and can't recommend them enough. Can I offer 6 stars?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“There's a reason this is #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

From first contact via email to our last goodbyes this was a wonderful experience! Calabaza its a perfectly maintained catamaran with enough protection from the sun for those who need it and lots of room for those who want the sun. Gina and crew serve lovely food, delicious rum punch and plenty of both. The number of people (12) allowed everyone to participate in all that was offered. We swam with turtles, explored several sunken ships and swam at a lovely beach. We saw a number of similar boats but they seemed crowded and had little shade. Probably nice but not Calabaza!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Class Act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

What you will see n a lot of Calabaza's reviews are repeat customers. Nothing speaks to the quality of a tour like so many people returning. We've been it with Gina and crew twice and have another trip booked. I wasn't at all surprised to see them as #1 on Trip Advisor.

This is a great day whether you are staying on the island or just there for a day stop while on a cruise. Our group chartered the whole boat last time and we had almost all of it the first time. I heard so many say it was the best day of their vacation.

Besides the awesome experience of swimming with the turtles, the hospitality extended far surpasses most tours on any island. Even if you don't swim, you can do this and it is so unique. Gina went out of her way to prepare gluten free food just for me and it was some of the best I've ever had! Warm banana bread was so welcome first thing in the morning for someone who never gets that kind of treat.

The crew is so e of the best anywhere - shout out to Chad and Andrew! They've been with Calabaza a long time which also speaks well of the company. Do yourself a favor and book early! It just might be the best day of your vacation!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calabaza Sailing Cruises also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Calabaza Sailing Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabaza Sailing Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.