We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to people watch and have some drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boatyard

The Boatyard
Bay Street Carlisle Bay | St Michael, Bridgetown BB11156, Barbados
+1 4362622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 80 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great place to people watch and have some drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were staying in Barbados and the Boatyard was suggested by another person staying in the Gap like we were...he said The Boatyard was a great place to people watch (the cruisers and cruise ship staff on break) and have a few drinks. We paid the entry fee which is different for cruisers and were thoroughly entertained for the afternoon!! Cruise ship youth certainly get their fill of sweet and cheap liquor and people like us sit in the bar area and laugh the day away. The owner who also serves as chief security, runs a very orderly establishment and keeps the unruly in line..I don't blame him...it's all fun and games until someone gets hurt by their drunken stupidity!! Food was pretty good and bar service excellent. The beach was packed so we didn't venture but we did stay for several hours enjoying the party atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    77
    24
    10
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WALES ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to the Boatyard for the day from our cruise ship the price has gone up $3 from last year and the rum punch was not very nice. You can use the beach further along for a lot less money.I would not go there again well over priced for what you get.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Visit to the Boatyard to check it out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Before arriving in Barbados, I had seen some pictures/information about the Boatyard. We stayed on the island for 10 days and were at Carlisle Bay for some snorkeling and wanted to check this place out for some lunch. The food was pretty good - they had a few vegetarian options, but catered more for fish/meat-eaters. They offer a package that includes some beach lounge chairs and an umbrella, use of the facilities in the water and wi-fi, plus your 20$ can be used on food/drink. We passed on the offer, but it seems like it would be a good one-stop shop for people if you're visiting for the day or are travelling with a family.
As a couple staying on the island, we wouldn't necessarily go back, just because it's not the place for us.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a good time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have been to the boatyard three times and its always fun!

You can either walk from the cruise port area or take a cab. Do not let the cab driver discourage to go there, they sometime try to bring you elsewhere where the cab ride back is not included in beach day price. For $12 pp you get a drink, beach chair, palapa, wifi(bar area) and a shuttle ride back to the pier. (never is a problem to get a shuttle back). You can buy food and drinks. We always enjoy a few beer buckets!!!

inexpensive day on one of the most beautiful beach in the world!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Perfect day in Barbados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a fantastic day at the Boatyard. Having previously been to Barbados and already experienced an "Island Tour" we just wanted a fun beach day. This is what you'll get at the Boatyard.

Unfortunately our day started off with a 'dispute' with the cab driver! We (six of us) had clearly said we wanted to go to the Boatyard yet the cab driver drove right past it and tried to drop us off considerably further down the beach. We insisted he turn around and take us back. At the Boatyard they told us that happens all the time - not sure if the cabbies get a kickback to take people elsewhere ... Just sayin'...

Anyway Boatyard info is well covered here $12 pp for all day including a drink, lounger, palapa, wifi(at the bar area) and a ride back to the pier. The rope swing is fun, plus the water trampoline and climbing iceberg wall.
It wasn't crowded at all but there were just two ships in town.

We took the 2:30 shuttle back to ship and all agreed that we'd absolutely go back another time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to The Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.