We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro

39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro
Amaryllis Beach Resort, Bridgetown 15156, Barbados
+1 246 427 0715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 restaurants in Bridgetown
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Having heard a lot of good words from locals about the 39 Steps, we decided to go and have have a dinner. Unfortunately, on our first attempt, the place was fully booked.

We did the booking for the next day and the visit was definitely worth it.

You can choose between outdoor and indoor seating, we chose to sit on the balcony.

The food was excellent - we had a seafood pasta and a crispy chicken accompanied with a nice New Zealand wine. Creme brûlée was delicious and espressos dotted the i.

Booking highly recommended to ensure the seating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    99
    62
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west mids england
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Warm, cosy and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We pre booked a table as you need to in this area. The staff were friendly but not overbearing.
They didn't rush us. We ordered a bottle of Sauvignon, which was lovely (new Zealand) fresh bread came before we ordered and we had home made pate and crab to start, both excellent.
There was no rush for the main,which we were happy with as the starters were plentiful.
I had blackened fish and my husband had the steak and kidney pie, which he said was perfectly cooked.
We had coffees to finish and would say this is a lovely place to eat, although there are not the sea views the ambience more than makes up for it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Although this restaurant does not have a great view, the quaint surroundings of this family owned business warms your heart. The Husband and Wife Team and staff make everyone feel like part of the family. The Food is superb and the attention to each table magnificent. We will definitely visit this lovely restaurant every year when we go to Barbados.

A & M Oakville, Ontario, Canada

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Nice place, very quiet and comfy. The food was good and wine selection adequate. The price was also reasonable.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely quaint surroundings. Staff very attentive and efficient.
Food homemade and rather delicious. The steak and kidney pie could have fed both of us.
Will be back to sample more on my next holidays here for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to 39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.