We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food with friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro

39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro
Amaryllis Beach Resort, Bridgetown 15156, Barbados
+1 246 427 0715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 restaurants in Bridgetown
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
queen_of_the_skys
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average food with friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I enjoyed my evening at 39 steps however I wasn't as impressed by the food as I was the service. I am led to believe chicken is ok to eat pink but I found it uncomfortable to do so as every slice on my ceaser salad was this colour. On a whole the service and atmosphere was great. Cost wise I would say average

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    99
    62
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leigh-on-sea
1 review
“The very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food is consistently excellent with service to match; their staftf t raining budget must be astronomical!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Barbados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I love this place, the food is always excellent, the service is friendly and spot on, the location is not beach side but the outside terrace is lovely. It's not cheap, but then you don't get expect this sort of quality to be cheap. It is a quiet place except when they have their jazz night which we missed this trip. Its also a bit out of the way - unless you're staying at the Amaryllis Hotel. Highly recommended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service - New favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend an evening, a peaceful perfect space, perfect attentive service and just fantastic food.
This is a must if you are looking to have a wonderful dining experience and not the bill to go with it.
The prices are very reasonable for what you get.
We tried the Lamb Shank and the Seafood chicken crepe. Outstanding!
So good infact we went twice!
Now on our list as a favorite spot - a must try for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
“39 Steps Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

for twenty or more years this restaurant provides superlative food consistently prepared. The ambience is very relaxing and the staff very helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to 39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 39 Steps Wine Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.