We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maresol Beach Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barbados
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maresol Beach Apartments
Dover Beach | St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 102 hotels in Barbados
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Superb location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Recently returned from an excellent stay at the Maresol Beach Apartments over 2 weeks leading up to Easter and can wholeheartedly recommend.

We stayed in apartments A (Pensioners) and G (Family of 2 adults and a 4 year old child). G being single storey and situated against the beach wall looking out to Dover Beach and A towards the St Lawrence Gap side of the property.

Both apartments were clean and tidy, quite basic but none the less perfectly adequate. Each had all the utensils, cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, blenders etc one could need for a self catering stay. WiFi was available throughout although was very highly priced and could have easily been included in the room rate particularly in light of its reliability.

Situated conveniently at the quieter end of St Lawrence Gap but still within walking distance (5-10 mins) of the majority of the restaurants a mini market is located across the road with a couple of smaller bars around the corner. Minimal noise was heard at night from apartment A and at G all that could be heard was the therapeutic waves and the odd parrot frequenting the garden.

Security were on duty 24/7 which is probably necessary due to the open location however we at no time felt unsafe although another guest staying at the time had their wallet stolen which appeared quite opportunistic rather than specifically malicious.

All in all an excellent stay and would visit again,

Room Tip: G (Dover) is right against the beach wall and has a superb verandah to enjoy an evening drink lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was my second trip to Maresol Beach Apartments. The first was in Apt A which was lovely so I wanted to return to Maresol, but Apt B was very shabby, not well maintained, and run down. The master bedroom/en suite was nice but the second bedroom and bathroom were awful. Shower just dribbled and shampoo was difficult to rinse off as shower head so corroded. Bedroom was musty and smelly. Deck was old and not well maintained with battered smelly cushions and paint worn off on the wall. Living room just OK, as was kitchen which had a rusty washing machine. Outside stairs, 19 of them, were very slippery and dangerous when wet with no safety treads. Staff were pleasant and helpful but I would not recommend Apt B.

Room Tip: Make sure the apartment you are renting has been upgraded. I think by the looks of it, Apt B was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

On out 8th (perhaps 9th) trip to Barbados in September 2011, we chose a small apartment hotel on the east end of Dover Beach. With only two of us, we wanted to keep the cost to about $50 US per person per night. Maresol Beach Apartments fit that definition. Not fancy, not full of energy, but quiet, peaceful and relaxing---just what we wanted!! Maresol is not your modern condo, but a Barbados apartment like we stayed in the mid-1980's. We stayed in the "Silver Sands" unit.....the one bedroom was very spacious (and was air-conditioned), bath was fine, kitchen was updated with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances!! The living area was spacious and open, with the balcony right "on top" of the sea. The gounds of this complex are very well kept. We loved the grassy area looking west to Dover Beach (again, "on top" of it, really)...great for getting sun and reading a book on a grassy area close to the apartment The staff was very friendly and efficient. Yet there are a few amenities missing at Maresol: 1) they have a community washer but not a dryer; 2) there is no swimming pool, but frankly we did not miss this much; 3) only the bedroom had A/C making a humid evening in the living or balcony area a bit sticky; and 4) television is at the option of the apartment owner --- check to see that you have TV (ours did, but this was a 17 inch relic of the early 90's). Yet it is the same beach, same ocean, same wind, same sun, same St. Lawrence area as the "high priced" neighoring hotels. We will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Several of the apartments are not "on the water". Try unit S (silver sands), G (dover), F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our family of 4 (including 2 teenagers) had a great one-week vacation at Maresol this July. The service from Gail, the manager and the great guys and gals who maintain the grounds and provide housekeeping services are absolutely tops.

We stayed on the 2nd floor (unit b - bowling alley) and from the balcony we had a great view of the ocean. We feel asleep to the sound of waves and awoke to the apartment filled with the scents of the many flowers growing on the grounds.

The location is fabulous - at the far end of Dover Beach and we enjoyed the shade provided by the palm and almond trees. The guys would help us bring down lounge chairs to the beach and after a couple of days the chairs were waiting for our arrival in the morning.

The accommodation had the feel of a well lived in beach house - not fancy, more shabby chic and it was so much better (and economical) than staying in a hotel.

Both a RBC bank and the Dover Market are just steps away and restaurants are just a short walk away (although there isn't a shortage of taxis if you prefer).

We had a small problem with the stove (which turned out to be brand new) and Gail arranged for a technican to come the same day and he was able to fix it on the spot (I'd be surprised if we could get that kind of service back home!).

The only negative I can think is that their website could use a little work (you can't figure out which apartment is which from the charts listed on the site).

We'd highly recommend the Maresol.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed in unit A from Dec 28/2010 to Jan 11/2011. Truly a home away from home, with great weather and a beach literally at your doorstep. Well appointed unit with everything you need for a great vacation. Run by friendly, courteous and professional staff. A real no hassle environment. Beautiful, well tended gardens. If you like flowers and beautiful plants, you will not be disappointed. This unit had all of the modern appliances needed for a comfortable stay. Clean, excellent housekeeping service and very secure. One of the best features of the complex is that it is right in St. Lawrence gap. Everything you could possibly be looking for is there. Tons of eating establishments, night life, casinos. Royal Bank, car rental, tourist information......and on and on and on. Does it sound like a great place? You bet. Great value, there was 5 of us who stayed 2 weeks. Highly recommend the place. How you get the opportunity to enjoy it as well. Barbados is a great place to vacation, and Maresol is a super place to stay when there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby,ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Friendly place,apartments well appointed,good access to the beach. many restaurants walking distance. When you rent here,ask what your particular apartment has as they are individually owned . Ours did have a TV with cable /satellite.Kitchen - lots of plates ,cutlery but no soap for dishes. I had brought my own ,as well as salt,pepper, coffe filters ,napkins , paper towels. I prefer not to spend my vacation monwey on these sundries . So cheap at home but not here.
Was surprised to see how expensive supermarket food was. The nearest food mart to the Maresol is too expensive- go to a bigger "supercenter". Check out Scotties for a cheap typical Bajan meal- good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

My son and his friend stayed there for the first time last year and loved it. I followed suit this year and loved it.
Perfect, just perfect. Perfect location, perfect view, perfect proximity to the Gap, great staff, clean and very very comfortable surroundings. Nothing to beat the sound of the waves, all day and the sight of the Caribbean sea stretching out in front of you.
Just one problem - water pressure was a bit low. They should change the shower fittings.

I recommend this accommodation very highly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maresol Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maresol Beach Apartments

Address: Dover Beach | St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 102 hotels in Barbados
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious well-equipped apartments directly on Dover Beach. Set in a garden environment, we offer self-contained units that are close to all amenities and are situated directly on a 1500 foot white sand beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maresol Beach Apartments Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maresol Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maresol Beach Apartments to your Saves list