We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffy and overrated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Westmoreland Golf Course

Royal Westmoreland Golf Course
Westmoreland Estate, Barbados
246-422-4653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 120 attractions in Barbados
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Royal Westmoreland is an exclusive Barbados estate and country club, a gated community of luxury homes and holiday villas with exceptional facilities, including the world-class Royal Westmoreland championship 18 hole golf course. Spread across 750 acres of lush tropical landscape in the Parish of St James overlooking the Platinum coast, Royal Westmoreland offers the ultimate Caribbean lifestyle, for a holiday or for a lifetime.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stuffy and overrated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The course was technically tricky but not in great condition. The pro shop was poor and the club house was OK. We did not like the stuffy treatment we got when we tried to visit the course the day before we played - no tee time,no visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice track. Service just okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great course, designed by Robert Trent jones jr. The greens have plenty of grain, and are difficult the first couple of times out (hint. Everything runs fast towards the ocean), and he prevailing winds really come into play on many of the holes, especially on the back 9. Service levels are just okay for a course this expensive. But the course is a great design, and generally in very good condition.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the trouble and time to arrange a t-time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a fun track to play - challenging and interesting. Great views and nice clubhouse (I think the Sandy Lane people were inspired by RWGCC when they built their clubhouse)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun course.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The best collection of par threes I've ever seen. When I played the course was in great shape. The club house has a beautiful view and is a great place to have lunch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We rented a villa on the westmorelands estate and it was beauitful, quiet and relaxing. I am sure when all the golfers are there during holidayas it is more lively, but it was perfectly quiet for us. The beach is a short taxi drive away and the club do it free of charge. Very safe.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Westmoreland Golf Course also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Barbados, Caribbean
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Royal Westmoreland Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Westmoreland Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Westmoreland Golf Course to your Saves list