We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better than Jasmine Lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Newport, a Gastropub

The Newport, a Gastropub
The Fairmont Southampton | 101 South Shore Road, Bermuda
1-441-238-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Pub, Gastropub, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Let your hair down, take off your jacket and tie and get ready to experience The Newport, a Gastropub. Take an imaginative, innovative culinary adventure featuring modern and creative cuisine inspired by classics. Our warm and cozy pub like atmosphere lends itself to watching major sporting events, while enjoying friendly service, great food and a creative line-up of handcrafted draft beers and fine wines. Start off with our charcuterie station and fresh raw bar and then explore our original menu that draws upon locally sourced products and modern versions of classic dishes served with a fun twist!
New York City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Much Better than Jasmine Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Most economical restaurant at Fairmont Southampton. Food is decent. Service great. Offer a relatively large variety of beer albeit not too exciting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    46
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thick and delicious burgers at a decent price. Include fries. The lamb merguez was out of this world. And they were super nice.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere; great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Once you enter the pub, you feel like you are on a boat. From the floors to the decorations. Our food was incredible, although the wine list did not have anything under $50/bottle, and this was not for a fancy bottle of wine. Our family enjoyed all of the different menu options. There was something for everyone!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant on Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This turned out to be were we ate the most. Excellent burgers and soups. Very nice vegetarian meals and good selection of beers. We mostly stuck to the same foods but saw what others got and most of the meals looked excellent. Good atmosphere. A little expensive like all the restaurants seemed to be on Bermuda but worth it as the many other places we tried were quite bad.

Only complaint is please turn down the air conditioning if you notice most of your customers wearing coats.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They have alot of seafood items here, Its kind of a neat setting. Its like you are dining on an older classic cruise ship. I am not a huge seafood eater, so I opted for the Cheeseburger. It was EXCELLENT! Definately the best meal I had on he island.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Newport, a Gastropub also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to The Newport, a Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Newport, a Gastropub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.