We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat with the locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Cusine

Island Cusine
235 Middle Road, Bermuda
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
Restaurant details
Lindon, Utah
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Eat with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is one of the few breakfast joints in the area offering full breakfasts, pancakes, French toast, etc. The food was good, and the service was efficient. They are open all day with a full lunch-type menu as well. Located on the main road in Southampton and near enough to Somerset if you have a scooter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Oasis in Bermudian Food Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Don't let the unassuming front of this local diner fool you. Inside is true "island cuisine" cooked with flair and some downhome love. The mashed pumpkin, jerk chicken, and roti were all amazing. Impeccably spiced and and not too heavy. There is also more standard diner fare for those who want egg salad, burgers, etc. We tried some of the fancy, overpriced options in Bermuda and happily came back here again. The waitresses are friendly, the service is fast, and the atmosphere is casual. (Spend 3 days dining in Bermuda and you'll see why these are such valuable commodities.) Oh, and don't forget to stop by Scoops Ice Cream next door for an after dinner scoop of rum raisin! :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great place to grab lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

- Two bus stops from Fairmont Southampton (FSH) towards Hamilton (make sure you get a bus pass)
- In the next building to "The Marketplace" grocery mart in Southampton (good to get groceries here is you're staying at FSH). See photo.
- locals come here and we found them friendly as usual
- it's not fancy inside but clean and comfortable.
- no automatic gratuity here
- no Internet

The Atmosphere. Diner type atmosphere. Nothing amazing.

I had the chicken curry roti ($19) and my wife had the chicken burger with fries. They serve Rockfish and Snapper (it's about $35) but we didn't have it but I know people at our hotel were looking for it and this'd be how the locals do it.

The food. This is as local as it probably gets here! The curried chicken roti wrap was something I've never had before. It had more of a Caribbean curry flavor and an east Indian curry flavour. The roti wasn't anything like an Indian roti but something like a crepe or thin pancake. My wife's chicken burger was breaded and nothing more special than what you usually find at a diner. The taste of both items was good.

Overall we probably would go there again. It's more of a lunch place than a dinner place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Decent but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took a cab here from the Fairmont Southampton. Its basically just diner food nothing special. Everything was perfectly sufficient, but I didn't feel the need to go back. It is cheaper than eating at your hotel , but when you add in the taxi both ways it does add up. hard to catch a taxi back, we ended up walking.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were within walking distance of Island Cuisine and ate there twice during our week in Bermuda. The hosts at our Inn shared with us that it's a favorite place for taxi drivers which is generally a good sign that the food is good and the price is reasonable.

The Fish and Chips were delicious and are actually battered and prepared fresh in the restaurant (a lot of other places were using frozen fish when we asked). My husband had the Jerk Chicken and loved it. On our second visit we had a pasta with chicken dish and Shepherd's Pie-both delicious.

If you are lucky enough to get one of the tables against the back wall, you will also have a nice view of a small waterway and boats.

This was one of the most affordable places we ate while in Bermuda. Most entrees cost $17-$20. And there is an ice cream shop next door called Scoops if you want an inexpensive dessert:)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cusine also viewed

 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Island Cusine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Cusine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.