We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exquisite accomodations, sparkling turquoise water, pink sand and superb wining and dining.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights at The Reefs
Huntington, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“exquisite accomodations, sparkling turquoise water, pink sand and superb wining and dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Ask for an oceanview room so you can wake up to th e clear blue water and lush gardens that surround your balconey. Even the less expensive rooms have all of the amenities, great service and view of the pricier ones. The beach, which sits below the cliffs, is breathtaking and uncrowded, with just enough service to be unintrusive. Or you can lie out by by one of the infinity pools up on the deck. Full breakfast awaits you each morning, with every culinary delight you can imagine offered, buffet style or prepared to order. Three different restaurants, each in a romantic setting, will not disappoint, with their top notch service and gourmet cuisine. The Reef's location is well situated to go anywhere on the island, but you might not ever want to leave! Nearby18 hole golf is at the larger Southhampton Fairmont. All in all, we loved the uncrowded beach, romantic setting, gourmet cuisine and laid back atmosphere of the Reefs. We will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    133
    62
    16
    16
See reviews for
106
441
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed for 5 nights this October.
The good
-Beautiful, postcard like location next to the beach
-intimate feel, not a gigantic behemoth like the Fairmount princess
-Excellent meals at 3 different restaurants (Coconuts,Ocean Echo,Royston's-although this last one is only open M,T,W and I only got to sample it once
-abundant free coffee daily,thanks to a Keurig machine in lobby
-Great,friendly,accomodating staff-kudos to the waitresses especially Claudia, Alex,Antoanetta
-free wifi in lobby

The bad
-tiny outdated bathrooms with tile from the 70's-certainly not what you would expect from a premier resort
-only 2 treadmills,and 1 elliptical in workout room-if all 3 were run concurrently,they would short a fuse after 10 minutes-granted they were Cybex,but some of them had rust-the workout center is tiny,without a TV
-TV in rooms not flat screens-yes I might be nit picking but at 699 a night,I think I'm entitled to do that
-serious ant infestation-they were all over the place-found them in our bed,shoes,luggage
-the resort overall looks in need of renovation-the rooms are outdated, there is paint flaking off, etc.
I suspect the owners poured their money into creating the timeshares next door,rather than renovating the hotel...
Overall,I would not recommend staying here for the price,unless one was to happen upon a terrific deal. The positives (staff,location,food) do not outbalance the negatives.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010 via mobile

The Reefs is in picturesque Southampton, Bermuda and offers the most spectacular views on the island. We were surprised how convenient the location was - a short 90 minute ride from Philadelphia. The staff was exceedingly pleasant, from the arranged car transportation all the way through checkout. The rooms are more modern than most on the island, and the views are breathtaking. The bathrooms could use a facelift, but they were clean. The meal plan could use some variety - despite the fact that there are three restaurants onsite, the menus for all three only have slight variations. The quality of the food is much better than other hotels on the island. All in all, a fantastic getaway to a very private locale with stunning views.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

After a previous trip to Bermuda to attend our Daughters wedding we vowed we would return as we had fallen in love with the Island. Unfortunately we were unable to return to the same facility as it had discontinued service so we choose the "Reefs" in lieu. We were not dissappointed as it turned out to be a gem nestled on a cliffside next to the ocean. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly front end staff who made the check in process fast and hastle free, we were shown to our room and although not what you would consider having a 5 star standard it was clean and spacious and had a magnificent ocean view. As this was an all inclusive venue with only two restaurants we were somewhat apprehensive as to what to expect, however we were pleasantly surprised as the food was excellent and the service was more than adequate. Our only complaint was with the menu which lacked variety between the two eating establishment and there seemed to be some repetition. The beach area although not large gave you a sense of intimacy as it appeared to be used soley by the hotel patrons and there was no problem obtaining lounges and umbrellas. In addition the beach area had an oudoor cafe and beach waiter service which was extremely handy. One issue we would point out is there are quite a number of steps to navigate in order to access the beach area, especially from the higher level units where we wre housed, something to note if you have difficulty climbing. One big convenience though was access to the great Bermuda Transit System with a bus stop right outside the main gate and with bus passes obtainable at the front desk of the resort. The resort has a lovely pool and hot tub which was never very crowded and which we utilized on a regular basis and in addition there is a spa located on site but unfortunately we did not partake of that pleasure. The night life is somewhat limited and consisted of small local bands who performed in the lounge on most nights and who played easy listening music which was great for relaxing. All in all we had a wonderful stay at the Reefs and we would highly recommend it to those seeking a relaxing vacation. We certainly hope to return one day

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We just returned from a Bermuda vacation and stayed at The Reefs Resort in SH Parish. The resort is situated on a small peninsula which juts into the water and most of the rooms overlook an unforgettable view of the ocean. Just a few short footsteps, the resort access to a private beach unlike any other on the island. Of course, chairs, umbrella, towels and a small array of water accessories are available to all guests. The property also has an "infinity" pool and hot tub on the edge of the cliffs overlooking the ocean. A breath taking sight to see.

The resort offers on site access to three restaurants, Ocean Echo, Roystons and the not to be forgotten Coconuts. All three places offered an impression daily selection of specialties as well as their regular menu choices. Coconuts offers a choice of dining on the outside deck adjacent to the beach. For a nominal fee, they also offer beach dining at the foot of the water (something that should be tried once during your stay). The bartenders, wait staff and all the support personnel could not have nicer. The resort also presented a variety of entertainers during our stay which covered a multitude of musical interests.

The resort is situated between Hamilton and King's Wharf and very near a bus stop for the island's transportation system. For the more adventuresome, a moped rental site is located on the resort property. Just remember they do drive on the wrong side of the road on the island!

This was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable vacations that we have been on in years. A true "Gem" in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We just returned from an anniversary celebration trip to the Reefs and we had a great time. The accommodations are wonderful. Every room has a view of the ocean and we enjoyed the sounds and sights of the ocean even from our poolside room. The beach is right at the resort so we could walk from breakfast (or our room) right down to the pink sand. The beach area was ample and well maintained. There were umbrellas, chairs, towels and cool water right there and the coconuts beachside restaurant meant we could get drinks and snacks right there. The pool is also wonderful. The pictures don't really even do the area justice. It is actually prettier in person than the photos show. The hotel room was perfect. We've stayed in a suite and while that is nice, we also enjoyed our stay in the regular room. It wasn't cramped at all. The resort is on the perfect part of the Island of Bermuda. The southern facing resort looks out on the beautiful south western part of the island. We were close to Hamilton for shops & restaurants, and we were not far from some of the beautiful public beaches with walking and coves for exploring. One of the greatest things about the Reefs is the service. We were well taken care of from our taxi ride and bell hop to the maitre d at the restaurants. They are friendly and accommodating, but not in your face or pushy. The guests are also friendly. About 1/2 the people at the Reefs during our visit were repeat guests and many from New England or Atlantic coast - although some were from Europe and other international sites. The guests are friendly and when we were at breakfast or the Swizzle party - very outgoing, but when my husband and I were at dinner, we were able to be private - just the two of us - just like we wanted it! Oh and I can't forget our spa visit. We treated ourselves to the hot shell couples massage and it was great. Highly recommend the whole thing to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Where to start. Bermuda is stunning and The Reefs is the cherry on top of an already delicious cake. It's about 45 minutes from the airport, we had a hilarious gentleman drive us there which made it seem like 10 minutes! Arrive there, Mervin the bellman puts a smile on your face within 5 seconds. Front desk consisted of a cheerful group of young adults - wish they had kept the rum swizzle flowing though! Room took a while to be ready but it's a small hotel and we were in no real rush so went down to Coconuts for a bite to eat . The ocean in Bermuda is out of this world. I've been to other islands but never have I seen such clear, beautiful ( not to mention warm!) water! Room was ready just after 3pm ( check in time). Sure the bathrooms are a little out of date, but that's the only disappointment I had while staying there. The beds are lush and comfy and the views from the room are spectacular. Fall asleep to the sound of tree frogs... is there anything better? Now onto something that I've seen a lot of on this site. Bugs. Ladies and gentlemen. You're on a subtropical island, on the side of a cliff near trees and grass . There will be ants. They're tiny. They won't bite. If you leave your terrace door open during the day/evening, things will come inside - as they would anywhere else. Right. Rant done.

The food... is amazing. Coconuts is definitely my favorite of all three but Ocean Echo comes in close second. You're in Bermuda, you're on island time. Sit down, have a drink,and talk to that attractive man or woman sitting across from you! My boyfriend ,who usually leaves fancy restaurants hungry, was surprised at how full he was.

The Reefs is just a few steps away from Gibbs Hill Lighthouse which gives you a panoramic view of the island. Church Bay/ St. Anne's are really nice places to take photos at and the city is about 20 minutes away. Didn't do mopeds ( maybe next time..) but the buses worked well. There was some construction going on around the area but again, not that big a deal.

Honestly, I've never had so much fun as I did at The Reefs this past summer. I simply refuse to stay anywhere else. From the staff, to the food, to the views - loved every second of it.

Now if only that boyfriend of mine would hurry up so we can go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.