We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Resort made in Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Save Saved
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights at The Reefs
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Resort made in Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Leaving Bermuda has always been a sad time for us especially after such a spectacular time “The Reefs” staff gave us during our stay.

We were made to feel like “Royalty” by everyone at “The Reefs” from the time we awoke to the time we went to bed. Many thanks to, Jennifer Johnson, for making all our arrangements happen so smoothly during our very busy days of activities. Raymond Ming was always there when something was needed, with a very happy smile and willingness to go the extra mile. He added much to the feeling/culture that “The Reefs” seems to have all the time. Raymond even spent some off hours time doing some research on my Uncle – David Barber – who died 2 years ago. I was trying to find his burial site and Raymond found what we needed.

Others that really stood out were Dean at Coconuts/Ocean echo bars, who was a pleasure to be around and talk with. Dillon also seemed to be everywhere and always with a cheerful attitude. His special and very professional attention to detail made our meals a great experience. He knew the meals to be served and what wines to suggest without exception. My wife and I both felt that his classic style, handsomeness and business like demeanor, classifies him for much more responsibility at “The Reefs”. Personally, I would groom him for a top management position at “The Reefs” before another resort decides to steal him away.

I must say that no other location on the Island of Bermuda, where I/we have stayed during my visits since 1954, has been as exquisite as “The Reefs”. That includes the Marriott Castle Harbor, Coral Island Club, The Princess (both of them), The Sonesta and many others. Again, we thank you & your entire staff for a truly spectacular time during our stay. The food and hotel offered what we wanted to share in our time off but your total staff made the real difference. We are already planning our return at the same time next year from April 23rd thru April 30th. We will recommend your resort to everyone we touch.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    123
    60
    15
    16
See reviews for
98
414
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We were very suspect about bermuda as a destination. All the hotels seemed to be of from a previous era with reviews from repeat visitors over many years. We plumped for the Reefs from tripadvisor reviews but thought it was a risk and were prepared to be ripped off/have low expectations
We arrived and was met unexpectedly at the airport. The staff were so nice that the slightly dated nature of the property paled into insignificance . With a room overlooking the sea the surf and wind added atmosphere every night.
The only critisisms was that the whole property had a slightly dank smell as if it had not been properly aired but I know they have to put up with high levels of humidity. I do wonder however why they put thick carpets in all the communal areas!. There is a big crane hanging over the property form the ongoing construction but as other reviewers have said it really isn't an issue.
They only opened one restaurant per night over the Easter period so they decide to either open Royston's or Ocean Echo. Royston's is a dark dank experince with no windows and defies the locational advantage of the Hotel. Ocean Echo was excellent with great views food and service.
Eventually the lovely staff and location win you over and you are made to feel very special as a guest and you begin to feel you are staying in your second home. The popularity of the easter sunday brunch amongst the locals spoke volumes about the reputation of this place. The food quality was very high.
We were blessed with excellent weather and enjoyed the kite flying on Horsehoe bay and some very long walks along the railway trail.
We visited 3 other hotels for Lunch. Cambridge Beaches-lovely location, Elbow beach - great beach but huge! and Pampano beach a 70s relic!. We definately chose the right place. We hve great memories of bermuda and the Reefs.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phildelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

A room with a view of the ocean is a must! The sound of the surf is just as good a lullaby as it is a wake up call! From breakfast to tea through cocktails and dinner the service is professional and friendly. The pool is delightful and the beach should be great for swimming and snorkeling, etc when the temperatures are higher. Don't miss the Spa -- they are the best!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

A prior trip to Bermuda took us to The Fairmont Southampton. On the beach a fellow
suggested that the place to stay next time was "The Reefs" Boy was he right! The hotel is lovely, smaller, and right on the beach. The staff is fun and super friendly and the food simply delicious - breakfast, high tea and dinner were such a treat. We'll miss our pre-dinner evening drink with Dean, Fonti and Gary in the bar! Every couple or family we met was there for their 2nd and in some cases 14th time! The only thing between the balcony of our suite and the ocean was a dazzling display of local flowers leading down to the reef. We booked for next year before we left. This picky traveller will never stay anywhere else in Bermuda!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Just came back from The Reefs. Try to go as often as we can. There are not enough words to describe how great this place is. The staff is terrific! The location has to be the best place on the island. Every room as an ocean view. The private beach is great. And the food... nothing can compare. We travel a lot and this is definitely one of our favorite places!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, Pa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

This review will be difficult to write without using up my entire vocabulary of superlatives, so just understand there is no place like the Reefs in Bermuda. Our TravelExpert Agent, Becky Veith of Erie, Pa. recommended this resort and she outdid herself on this one. We chose the TAKE FIVE PACKAGE which means we paid for four nights and received the fifth one free. In addition, we received our airport transfers, a three day bus/ferry pass, afternoon tea. breakfast and three dinners in their dine around package. We found this pacakge to add such value to the room rate, that we wonder how they do it and still maintain the high standards of the resort. But maintain them they do. Within hours of our arrival staff were greeting us by name and overwhelming us with helpful suggestions.

While we were there, the new fractional ownership units were under construction, but the noise was never intrusive and the staff made sure that constuction dust and dirt were kept at a minimum. An electric crane was so silent, we never really heard it working. This work should be over by May/June of 2009.

It was nice to enjoy the various dining rooms and especially the library with its free wireless. As a retired musician, I thoroughly enjoyed the pianist in the bar. Not only personable and skilled, he had the library of the great American Songbook down to an art.

This is a place where you can go to relax with or without the children. We found many families there even with almost newborn children and everything continued to function fully. The staff are extremely well trained and you can tell how produ they are of their work.

Bermuda in general is a well disciplined island with a population who understands the importance of tourism to their economy and work hard at making sure that you have a good time. The bus system works to perfection and although most would consider it an expensive place to visit, the package we had at the Reefs made it compete with any island vist we've ever made.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We went during the offseason and it definitely felt this way. One restaurant open with the same small menu for 5 nights. Gift shop closed and in disarray. Construction next door and lots of maintenance going on around the premises. Nobody around to provide towels, get drink orders by the pool or clean the beach. The view was amazing and could have been an awesome place but the beach was so dirty it was shocking. Restaurant staff was very friendly. Would not recommend this place because of the lack of care for the off-season guests.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.