We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights at The Reefs
Walpole, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I just got back from 5 days at the Reefs. We had a clif side room that overlooked the ocean. The view was unbelivable! Our room was a good size, had a mini fridge, a very nice bathroom but the king size bed was two twins pushed together. ( I knew this from previous reviews.) It was very expensive, but nice that they included airport transportation and breakfast daily. The food overall was very good. We ate at Coconuts two nights and at Roylstons one night. I would recommend Coconuts at sunset, you can't beat the beautiful view. There is a liquor store within walking distance that you can purchase small snacks and drinks to take to the room. They have snorkel gear and kayaks on the beach that you can use without a fee. Service was always exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    133
    62
    16
    16
See reviews for
106
441
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Reefs for our silver wedding anniversary. The whole place is well manicured, all staff are really friendly and polite and the cliff top room (345) was brilliant and looked straight at the sunset.
We ate at Coconuts and Royston's and both were lovely (lemon chicken/mushroom risotto at coconuts and blue cheese burgers at Royston's) but Royston's better value we thought.
Only grumbles were both to do with prices. Firstly, the rom was $645 a night which is crazy and in addition a further 19% was added every day for tax and gratuities. This will certainly discourage us from returning.
I don't know why Bermuda has the stupid practice of adding 15% to every bill for gratuities " for the customers convenience" ! Gratuities should always be at the customers discretion and a reflection of the actual service experience surely?

Room Tip: Cliff top, top floor. 345 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I are still talking about our fun week at The Reefs.
All of the staff are gentile, friendly and accommodating. We wondered how many of the staff knew our names.
Coconuts, the restaurant, is beautiful and right on the water. We enjoyed all of the dishes especially the thai seafood curry. The Caesar Salad is also memorable.
The beach is the star of the show! Kayaking and finding little hidden coves was great fun and adds just enough excitement to the day. My husband even tried the paddle board but alas did not master it. These activities are complementary. Mostly we loved reading ,sunning and swimming a the most charming beach ever. The water is as clear as glass.
Wifi access is part of the room charge and there are many extras also included like a cocktail party, movie on the beach, rum drinks, and beach chairs
The Reefs is small, intimate and so quaint. There is no question that it must be privately owned. I always prefer this sort of atmosphere. Chain restaurants and hotels always have that commercial aura and it is tiring to be charged separately for every little thing. Oh, by the way, even a newspaper can be ordered at The Reefs. I forgot, we had shuttle service to and from the airport...also included.
We throughly enjoyed every moment we were there. This place treats their patrons like valued guests.
Adele and Ken Morris

Room Tip: most have views, some are on third floor and may be too many stairs for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Reefs October 5-9 using both Trip Advisor and personal recommendations and we were not disappointed! Several years ago we stayed at the Southampton Fairmont (which was then the Southampton Princess) and found it to be very nice although a little more formal and reserved. The Reefs was a great alternative for us as it was a little more laid back.

The hotel itself is older, built in the 1940's so the rooms are a little smaller but we weren't there to spend time in the room so that was fine. Also, be prepared to walk up and down lots of steps/hills going through the resort. After all, it is built into the cliffs. But this does make the property truly oceanfront. I agree with some fellow posters that I would not call this a "luxury" resort. It lacks some of the upgrades and amenities to fall into that category but it's still a very nice property.

We booked a cliffside room which offered great ocean views. Our room (323) was right above Coconuts through so there was some noise from the restaurant and part of our view was of the roof but neither of those bothered us.

As for the room, it was (as I mentioned) a little on the smaller side that what we are used to but it was fine for our needs. The bed was good, not great. It took several nights for us to realize that our kind bed was actually 2 twin beds put together. Hated the pillows! They were very hard.

The AC in the room was also very noisy. It turned off and on loudly during the night which would probably bother a light sleeper. We learned to turn it down low when we were leaving the room and to turn it off while we were there, particularly when we wanted to sit on the balcony as it was hard to talk over the noise.

The bathroom was nicely updated. The door was interesting though, clearly an add on at some point. It was a frosted glass door that didn't give the feeling of much privacy. Nice bath products. The water pressure left a lot to be desired. It took some adjusting of the two shower heads to get enough pressure to get all of the shampoo out of my hair.

The room had some nice amenities. A small fridge so we could walk up the Henry VIII and have some beer and snacks in the room. A Kuerig coffee maker, safe, ironing board and umbrella.

We were there to visit the beach and we were not disappointed here! It is a beautiful beach, partially protected by the reefs which makes it very calm. The Reefs provides complimentary ocean kayaks, snorkel equipment and SUP boards. There were plenty of chairs and umbrellas. We found the servers very attentive, checking on us to offer food and drinks on a regular basis. Most of our trip was spent right there, relaxing on the beach. However, after inquiring at the front desk, we learned that we could walk about a mile up the road and access Horseshoe Bay and several other beaches so we took advantage of this too.

As for the food, we loved everything we had to eat here! A word of caution, they advertise 3 restaurants but they aren't all always open. We ate at Roystons our first night as they don't require reservations. We were seated outside at our request and enjoyed a wonderful dinner of Rockfish while overlooking the ocean. The next night, we made reservations (which are required) at Coconuts. There was some confusion as the host could not locate our reservations and got very flustered. He had us sit at the bar for a few moments while he sorted things out. Once he did, we had an incredible table overlooking the ocean and had a different Rockfish dish than the night before. We bought the breakfast package which included the buffet, cook to order eggs and omelettes as well as waffles. We were told we could also order from the menu but didn't even want to. I would caution buying the dinner package as 2 of the nights we were there, Coconuts was the only option for dinner. I believe there is another package that allows you to visit several of the resorts for dinner and that might be a better option just for some variety.

Overall, we were very pleased with The Reefs and both agreed we would visit again!

Room Tip: Follow the advice of other members and book a cliffside room. The views are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we stayed one week at the end of August to September we loved every second/
it was a great getaway and appreciated all it had to offer. we usually stay down the street
but had some booking issues and were so happy we found this lovely place in bermuda.
we have new favorite restaurants now.
the views of the dining rooms are perfect to watch a storm or sunset/
the service was soo great as well.
the food was delicious/
thank you to everyone

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a lovely time at The Reefs for our 18th Anniversary. We had a beautiful room with stunning views of the beach and hotel. All the staff were wonderful and should be commended for the work they do for The Reefs and Bermuda as a whole.

Karen and Carl Daly.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are over looking the cliff either looking out to sea or the one we had was a Junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent three nights here and loved it. Reading the reviews we knew what to expect. We had a cliffside room which everyone seems to recommend. The view from the room was perfect and it was located right near the entrance to the beach which was also nice. It also had a small refrigerator. The room and bathroom were fine, the bathroom was upgraded. The furniture is a little worn and the sheets also seemed stiff and worn, that would be the only negative of the room.
The beach was great. Service was excellent on the beach and use of equipment was really nice. Everyone who worked on the beach was extremely friendly and helpful. The free breakfast every morning was fantastic.
We only ate lunch there once and only had dinner once. The other times we went off property. The lunch and dinner were both good.
Like the other reviews say this is not the top five star experience but that's what gives the place character. We loved it and will be going back again soon. The private beach is perfect, the room was fine because we really didn't spend much time in it. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.