We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MORE THAN WE EXPECTED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Save Saved
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights at The Reefs
Destin, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MORE THAN WE EXPECTED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

In late March 2013 we travelled to The Reefs with 12 family members for our 50th Anniversary. Ages ranged from 76 to 4...and the staff handled every request with a smile! We were treated to the most beautiful views from every room - curtains even had black out linings and we could have slept late, but why? Our best meal in Bermuda was in their Echo Beach Dining Room...and every morning the breakfast was buffet or cooked to order...the service there was excellent. For example, one night my daughter-in-law left her purse in the cab. The Reefs doorman got in his own car and tracked the cab down to retrieve it. if you think I might be high on this place, you'd be right - cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Cliffside was good for our family members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    459
    122
    60
    15
    16
See reviews for
97
412
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family has been taking me to Bermuda is the late sixties. While Hamilton has sadly changed (too many corporations/banks/insurance companies), the Reefs reminds me of what I love about Bermuda (beaches, the homes, the people, the island). The Reefs gracious people and service are what good service is about. Our room overlooked the cliffs. We had taken the "book three and get a fourth night free" offer. We walk the neighborhood to Middle Road and use the walking trail along the old railway right of way. Heading back up via the Princess, it reminded us how nice the Reefs are in comparison. We did use the breakfast plan which just made things easier. One night we had dinner at the Fourway Inn. The maître d reminded us of Basil Faulty (review elsewhere). We are not "scooter" people so we do taxis or the busses. Both easy, one obviously cheaper than the other. But we stayed near The Reefs to relax and enjoy our anniversary vacation. I will admit the bed pillows were not great and for the money, two beds put together to create a king bed is not what I want at the room rate. But would we repeat this vacation? Yes, absolutely.

Room Tip: Get one on the cliffs with a balcony overlooking the Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the whole island has the warmest and friendliest people I have ever met and this is no different at the Reefs. There is great service and genuine warmth -The Reefs (and Bermuda) has both. We stayed in a two bedroom condo. It looked new and was spotlessly clean. The view! Let's just say I walked in and never wanted to leave. It is right on the ocean, with perfect view of the beach and the horizon. I could hear the gentle sound of the waves. Even now, I feel the relaxation just writing about it. The pictures on this website are great but seeing it way better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wadsworth, il
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

For years we planned to spend our 50th anniversary in Bermda; I researched where to stay, what to do, how to enjoy our trip fully; this was our first time in Bermuda. The Reefs came highly recommended, so we chose it based on other reviews. But those glowing reviews did not begin to do it justice. From the moment of arrival until the hour of departure we felt welcomed and treated with friendly respect. The views are beyond spectacular, the hotel was immaculate, the Ocean Echo restaurant delicious and the staff there attentive but not obtrusive. The gorgeous beach almost made me want to sleep out by the surf...and the sand was so soft I think we could have done that! And the view from our room took our breath away.

Always the staff was gracious and unhurried, making us feel very comfortable. They gave helpful directions and assistance when we asked, always had taxis when we needed them, made good suggestions as to what was walkable and what was a little too challenging. The restaurant, Henry VIII, was just a nice walking distance away and a great place also to dine.

We met a number of interesting people from a variety of states and countries that made conversations with other guests enjoyable; none of them were intimidating or off-putting. There were only a few children and they were well behaved in the dining room. There were a group of Harvard students who "sang for their supper" in the Ocean Eacho dining room that added to the charm of the evening.

We were there in March so it was off season, but the weather was beyond superb for us Midwesterners (I know this was not the Reef's doing...although they do things with such excellence that I imagine that this would be their exact choice!). Some might find it a bit chilly or windy, but for us it was absolutely perfect....made Illinois seem quite awful upon our return. And that was the worst thing about the whole week: having to leave! The entire island was wonderful, with great bus/ferry service, lots to see but such a relaxed feel that you didn't ever feel rushed or overwhelmed by it....just right1

I want to thank the Reefs for making it a truly GOLDEN WEEK for us that we will treasure the rest our lives.....we plan to return long before another FIFTY years rolls around....maybe even next year!!!

Room Tip: Note that the bathrooms (at least in our room) are not as elegant as one might expect...no hairdryer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just back from a three night stay in the Club section of the Reefs in Bermuda. Without a doubt, this is one of the finest Hotels on the island of Bermuda. Great service. delicious food and the accommodations that we had in the Club area are absolutely luxurious! The Resort is perched over one of Bermuda's pristine pink sand private beaches. The longtails had just returned to Bermuda and were nesting in the rocks below our terrace at the Reefs. This Resort exemplifies the gracious hospitality that Bermuda is known for. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you can stay in the Club section, you should. Otherwise, the try the Point rooms. These rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just came back from a quick 3 night trip to Bermuda. 4 of us stayed at the Reefs in the club condos. The condo was more than perfect. Two very large bedrooms and bathrooms are incredible. They are the same in each bedroom. Extra half bath near entryway. High end furnished kitchen with everything you could possibly need. Beautiful dining table and living area. Very large balcony with plenty of chairs, table & chairs to eat and your own hot tub! the views are incredible. We were on the second floor and looked out overthe private infini pool (for the club condos) and the ocean. Incredible scenery because of all the reefs. We didn't see a regular room but I wouldn't hesitate to stay in one. The service is fabulous. Everyone is very friendly and goes out of their way to be helpful. We ordered lunch one day to be delivered to the infinity pool and our waiter set the table with a white tablecloth and was smiling and happy. My only regret is not planning to stay another night or two. We lucked out with the weather and had sun and breezes.

A special thank you to the General Manager, Nagma Walker for helping us with this special trip. Also a thank you to Corrine who was so nice to us and really wanted everything to be perfect for us. We all felt like we were friends with everyone by the time we left. All 4 of us are planning on returning, as often as possible. Every worker we encountered was truly nice and very happy.

I highly recommend this property. Because of the good weather and the fact that we had all been to Bermuda before we were happy to stay on the property the whole wkd. The beach was beautiful.as well. I can't say enough wonderful things about The Reefs and cant wait until I can return!

Ew

Room Tip: I would book a clliffside room for the view or one of the club condos if you have 3 or 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We travelled to The Reefs at the end of the summer for a 4 day getaway. This was our 3rd visit and they NEVER disappoint. We have travelled there both during non-peak and peak season and the service is superb everytime. We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary so we paid a little extra to have dinner on the beach. This was the best dinner experience....delicious food, great service and a beautiful view of the sunset. I would definitely return to The Reefs again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.