We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, Bermuda
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spa Treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I visited The Reef's last Thursday for my pedicure and the view was beautiful. Lovely sunny day. Water rushing against the rocks. A wonderful relaxing stress free experience . First time great service and very friendly atmosphere. Spa view was so beautiful. I didn't want to leave. I will be back for Me Time :). February is my month. Treat Carla
Thank you Anna and Spa Receptionist

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    156
    70
    17
    16
See reviews for
124
502
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our umpteenth stay at the Reefs, and we enjoyed it, as usual.

We enjoy being outdoors so it is nice to walk straight out of the door to our room into nature and not walk down some sterile hotel hallway. Because of the way the Reefs is sited the walk to the dining rooms and the lounge is pretty and pleasant.

The beach is pristine pink sand and the water shallow and safe enough to wade way out. Or you can take a kayak and explore amongst the rocks. There is also an infinity pool and a hot tub, both looking out over the ocean.

Our large room had a tile floor, king bed, desk, sitting area, large TV (satellite) and large patio doors leading onto a private balcony and the sound of, and views of, the ocean. We took many beautiful sunset pictures right from there.

The bathrooms have been renovated, all tile and glass. Showers are large enough for two, towels fluffy and large enough to wrap two. The amenities are top grade as well.

The menus are different in the 2 dining rooms, and they have changed from last year. Thankfully the quality, presentation and dining experience has not. They take guest comments seriously as portions are now somewhat smaller and they have kept their signature Bermuda fish chowder on the menus. The wine list is extensive and can be had by the bottle or glass.

Breakfast and tea are included in the room rate. Breakfast is a full menu, or a help yourself buffet with dry cereals, fruit, yogurt, muffins and pastries – or both. Tea is a meal in itself – tea (or the staff will get you coffee if you wish), sandwiches, pastry and cookies and fruit. And Keurig brewed coffee is now available all day, not just first thing in the morning.

There is an option to include dinner daily at extra cost. Same menu as pay-as-you-go but it works out cheaper. The Reefs has a dine-around arrangement with some of the other resorts but we enjoy dining at the Reefs so much we have never taken them up on it.

Most of the staff have been with the Reefs at least since we have being going there – a compliment to the management and the opinion of their guests. They are friendly, as always, and go out of their way to learn guests’ names. You ask for it and if it can be done it will be.

The only complaint we had was the weather this trip, and that wasn’t the fault of the Reefs.

Overall, we give the Reefs a 4.9/5.

Room Tip: Take an upgrade Cliffside room - private balcony and better view than poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the reefs for one night in January. As the hotel is having some renovation work my boyfriend and I stayed at the reefs club. Most amazing hotel room ever. Own hot tub on the balcony and amazing bathroom. Complimentary dark and stormy on arrival too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

At the entrance to Heaven "The Reefs" you are greeted by a beautiful view of the ocean and cliffs off the lobby. The people are so friendly you wonder if you really are in heaven. The food from Breakfast to Dinner sitting at the edge of the ocean, sunrise to sunset is a site to behold. The rooms either at the pool or on the cliffs can not be beat anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for Cliffside if no children or Poolside with Children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We didn't really know what to expect in the off-season though "The Reefs" was highly recommended. We'll it The Reefs Resort, The Warm Staff and Terrific Meals Exceeded all our expectations. We greeted with a refreshing cocktail while we sat and talked to the nice gentleman at check in. We were provided a daily activity guide with recommendations in our room. There were fun wine tastings, high tea time, and lighthouse tours offered for free on site. The views of all the rooms are terrific ocean views. We fell asleep to the sound of waves every night. The Breakfast and Dinner Plan was perfect. All I can say is GO, GO, GO to The Reefs as soon as you can. And BTW, this is the first web review I've ever done so it is authentic. Cheers!

Room Tip: Choose a room on second floor at the far end near the ocean. It is very private down there and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a most relaxing time at the Reefs. From the moment we arrived we were treated like long lost friends. The room was spectacular and the service wonderful. We enjoyed the spa which only added to the recuperative nature of our stay. We went to sleep each night listening to the ocean and spent the day at the beach and the pool. Individuals with gait problems would have trouble accessing the beach. The resort is across the street from the bus stop so exploring the island was no problem! I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maietta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were fortunate to have been advised to make reservation at The Reefs when we visited Bermuda for the first time in '86 which was our 25th wedding anniversary. We just celebrated our 51st in December of 2012 and it was our 23rd visit to The Reefs.
Of course The Reefs of today is not The Reefs of our first visit. There are a number of physical changes, but the quality and level of service remains unsurpassed. If you are fortunate to visit Bermuda and select The Reefs, you will know why it is so very special. Management and the employees do everything that adds to and makes ones visit so very special.
Yes, we have already made our reservations for our 24th visit.
The Reefs is one special place!

Room Tip: All rooms face the water; we enjoy the "pool side" rooms; we have stayed in a number of di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
3.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,634 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.