We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to be back at The Reefs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Save Saved
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights at The Reefs
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Happy to be back at The Reefs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Bermuda, and our third return to The Reefs. We were last in Bermuda in January 2012 and due to the renovations taking place at The Reefs, we decided to stay in Hamilton at the Princess instead. When telling others of that experience, I have noted that our stay at the Hamilton Princess was better than expected, it still wasn't The Reefs.

As noted in other review, some of the bathrooms are dated, but they are in the process of renovating & plan to finish all rooms this January/February 2013. There's a reason why people keep going back. The view/location is fantastic, but it's definitely the *people* working at The Reefs who make it such a great place. Everyone is courteous, professional, and extremely helpful. We're already looking forward to another return.

Room Tip: Splurge and spend some time at La Serena spa - get a mani/pedi with Ana, you won't be disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    115
    54
    15
    16
See reviews for
90
385
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Reefs has 2 sections. The time share section called The Reefs club and The Reefs hotel. The Reef Club is modern, well equipped and pleasant section of the Reefs.
The Hotel has 2 great things going on for it.
1. Location: All rooms face the ocean. Private Beaches.
2. Easy access to the hotel, connected via a main road.
The aspects that are marginal and leave a lot to be desired
1. Restaurants: Poor uninspired service, food quality average, pricey and mundane. To give you an idea, we ate 1 meal at Reefs and 5 meals at other hotels.
2. Room Quality: You may be disappointed with small dingy bathrooms and average feel to the room. Your disappointment will be magnified if you had a chance to see the Reef Club rooms.
3. Swim pool: SMALL. We visited in winter, so didn’t have any issues. Can’t imagine a trip in Summer and having to compete for the small space.
4. Exercise Room: Small crammed space with no windows. Wonder if the Reefs management ever decides to hire experts to give it a face lift. They can make this location a truly a world class facility.

Overall Bermuda is beautiful, safe and very friendly. Be prepared to spend extra since this island destination relies on imports which makes everything very expensive (food, transport and shopping).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A fabulous, small hotel located on a beuatiful beach on the south shore of Bermuda.
Stayed here for three nights just before Christmas - incredibly quiet as the hotel seemed
to only have a handful of guests. Staff are extremely warm and friendly.
We ate at Roystons one night and had a great meal. The breakfasts where the
highlight however as it was served in the Ocean Echo location with panoramic views
od the ocean and beach.
We stayed in a Junior suite (room 342) which had a large private terrace with incredible
views of the ocean and beach. Bathroom was huge with recently updated shower and vanity.
Only negative was this room had an adjoining door to the room next door. The walls seemed
to be paper thin as we could hear every sound (voices talking, TV, shower etc) from the guests next door as soon as they checked in.
Would definitely go back but maybe ask for a different room next time, or seek some assurance
that no one was in the room next door.
Also had massages at the Serena Spa - one of the best massages ever (from Karen).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Bermuda for 30 years. Every time we go we stay at the Reefs in South Hampton. Our room looked out over the ocean and also along the cliffs near the Reefs. The room was very nice and had a hot tub outside and a jacuzzi tub inside. Each of the restaurants that we ate in were wonderful and the food was amazing. We were there each time in early to late April (our anniversary month) and the weather just cant be beat. Cool mornings, warm afternoons and cool evenings. There was a scooter rental and bus stop right across the street from the Reefs so transportation was no problem at all.

Room Tip: I would choose a room that is over looking the ocean/beach. But I think that most of them are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have been visiting Bermuda once a year, sometimes twice, for more than 15 years. During this same time we have stayed at many of the top rated properties on other Islands such as Curtain Bluff on Antigua, One and Only and The Four Seasons in the Bahamas, Ritz-Carlton on Grand Cayman, Ladera on St. Lucia, etc. The Reefs surpasses them all. We always look forward to returning to it. Location, staff - most of whom have been with The Reefs for many years, some for decades - rooms, are all exceptional and cannot be faulted. Yet The Reefs also recognized how important food is to guests at a luxury resort, and on this score The Reefs is truly exceptional. The menu is always varied and excellent, choices for most every taste, executed to a high standard. Seafood caught fresh that day? Absolutely. We love the local Rockfish. Traditionally rated one of the best in the Islands, frequently THE best, The Reefs is worthy. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The island itself has a wonderfully efficient bus and ferry system. We use it every day. When you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed in November 2012....My wife and I live in Bermuda but needed a staycation.

Price - You can stay at Fairmont for the same price though you may receive a different less personal environment..

Location - great if you are not a business traveller as 25 minutes from town or not desirous to dine in town nightly..On peaceful side of the island with good ocean views.

Restaurants - highlight of the hotel..easily best food on the island..the sunday brunch is famous in Bermuda and is affordable by Bermuda standards.

Room - all the usual amenities(plenty cable channels, big bed, radio, desk) and no carpeting which is a plus however the tile can be a bit cold in winter..Older hotel but clean however the date nature of the bathroom may not be for some..Only issue we had in this vein was the bath tub had a mat stain so clearly needed to be replaced or better cleaned .. Big positive is FREE wifi in room which we rarely see in hotels across USA, Europe.

Room Tip: Get room away from pool area if you can..can be a little noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Even though we were a bit "off season" in Bermuda our first visit to the island was enhanced by our decision to try a package at the Reefs. We ate in all 3 restaurants and liked each one.
The infinity pool was fabulous but we wished that it had been heated!
Stunning setting over all....coral buildings set into the cliffs of the island.
Service improved daily. We would return to the Reefs....next time during season.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda
Reefs
Reefs Bermuda
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.