We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In The Islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights at The Reefs
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The Best In The Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have been visiting Bermuda once a year, sometimes twice, for more than 15 years. During this same time we have stayed at many of the top rated properties on other Islands such as Curtain Bluff on Antigua, One and Only and The Four Seasons in the Bahamas, Ritz-Carlton on Grand Cayman, Ladera on St. Lucia, etc. The Reefs surpasses them all. We always look forward to returning to it. Location, staff - most of whom have been with The Reefs for many years, some for decades - rooms, are all exceptional and cannot be faulted. Yet The Reefs also recognized how important food is to guests at a luxury resort, and on this score The Reefs is truly exceptional. The menu is always varied and excellent, choices for most every taste, executed to a high standard. Seafood caught fresh that day? Absolutely. We love the local Rockfish. Traditionally rated one of the best in the Islands, frequently THE best, The Reefs is worthy. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The island itself has a wonderfully efficient bus and ferry system. We use it every day. When you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    128
    61
    16
    16
See reviews for
102
430
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed in November 2012....My wife and I live in Bermuda but needed a staycation.

Price - You can stay at Fairmont for the same price though you may receive a different less personal environment..

Location - great if you are not a business traveller as 25 minutes from town or not desirous to dine in town nightly..On peaceful side of the island with good ocean views.

Restaurants - highlight of the hotel..easily best food on the island..the sunday brunch is famous in Bermuda and is affordable by Bermuda standards.

Room - all the usual amenities(plenty cable channels, big bed, radio, desk) and no carpeting which is a plus however the tile can be a bit cold in winter..Older hotel but clean however the date nature of the bathroom may not be for some..Only issue we had in this vein was the bath tub had a mat stain so clearly needed to be replaced or better cleaned .. Big positive is FREE wifi in room which we rarely see in hotels across USA, Europe.

Room Tip: Get room away from pool area if you can..can be a little noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Even though we were a bit "off season" in Bermuda our first visit to the island was enhanced by our decision to try a package at the Reefs. We ate in all 3 restaurants and liked each one.
The infinity pool was fabulous but we wished that it had been heated!
Stunning setting over all....coral buildings set into the cliffs of the island.
Service improved daily. We would return to the Reefs....next time during season.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived Friday October 26 and Hurricane Sandy passed by on Sunday on its way the New Jersey and New York. It was our 11th stay at The Reefs so you gotta know we love the place, and I will say why in a minute. But first I wanted to encourage you to book into Bermuda no matter what the weather report says, as long as the hotel is ready to receive you and the planes are flying, for two reasons: 1) Nobody can accurately predict Bermuda's weather! 2) The Reefs is very well-equipped and managed and quite successful at riding out major storms.

With respect to the first point: every time we get within two weeks of going we start a daily watch of the weather reports. And we agonize over all the predicted rain and wind. And our favorite time to visit is October 31 - November 15 which is still in the hurricane season. But nearly every time we find that the weather is actually just fine - with plenty of sun even if not all the time. I am a big sunbather and swimmer so sun is important for me! We like this time of year because it is nearly always still warm - in the mid 70s to low 80s, the humidty is down, the ocean is still warm - usually in high 70s, and the hotel price is less after the summer high season.

You can imagine how we felt when we saw the satellite photos of Sandy down in the Carribean in the days before our trip. But we stayed on plan when it became clear the hurricane's center would come no closer than 300 miles to Bermuda. Glad we did! Yes we had 50 mile an hour winds and horizontal driving rain one day, but the rest of our visit was a lovely mix of sun and clouds and wind. And we had the place nearly to ourselves as so many had cancelled due to the weather. My advice is - don't!

As for The Reefs: it is perfect for us. I like to snorkel and I do that right off the pretty little beach. We spend the entire day on the beach. My wife under the umbrella reading or snoozing and me in the sun or in the water. The beachside restaraunt for lunch - on its deck or served on the beach. Evenings are full of tree frog song and dinner in one of the three restaraunts. We eat all our meals there. The spa is great for massage and Thai massage. The staff are very friendly and make us feel at home. The cliffside rooms are not fancy but fine. The views are wonderful.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Sunrise on our deck at The Reefs Club, coffee brewing, clouds in different daily patterns across the sky, swimming in the vanishing edge pool and then the ocean and then in the pool again, snorkeling among the parrot fish in the reefs right off the beach, lunches at Coconuts, a rum swizzle or two made special by Anthony, sunset on the deck and fabulous dinners around the island (loved The Waterlot and Fourways), friendly chats with unpretentious guests and staff (like David, Marlene, Barb and Glenn), a perfect massage by Vara and books read by the dozens.....life for a brief few days at The Reefs....our first time and near perfection. Never enough time but enough to fully satisfy for the time we had. It is hard to find magic......

Room Tip: Stay at the Club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Reefs Club, our fourth visit. Superb accomodations, wonderful food, and the most spectacular view of the southshore waters of Bermuda. Enjoyed the Spa facial and massage, best ever. This really is heaven on earth.

Room Tip: The Reefs Club is a splurge, but worth it. It is luxury and elegance. the views re amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fabulous views from theCliffside rooms. Very good on-site restaurants. (forget about the jacket for dinner requirement)
VERY EXPENSIVE!!
The rooms are second rate at best. Those not refurbed yet are reminiscent of my youthfull experiences in Wildwood, NJ.
Beach was great, people friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one recently refurbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.