We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe in magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights at The Reefs
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Believe in magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Sunrise on our deck at The Reefs Club, coffee brewing, clouds in different daily patterns across the sky, swimming in the vanishing edge pool and then the ocean and then in the pool again, snorkeling among the parrot fish in the reefs right off the beach, lunches at Coconuts, a rum swizzle or two made special by Anthony, sunset on the deck and fabulous dinners around the island (loved The Waterlot and Fourways), friendly chats with unpretentious guests and staff (like David, Marlene, Barb and Glenn), a perfect massage by Vara and books read by the dozens.....life for a brief few days at The Reefs....our first time and near perfection. Never enough time but enough to fully satisfy for the time we had. It is hard to find magic......

Room Tip: Stay at the Club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    130
    62
    16
    16
See reviews for
103
436
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Reefs Club, our fourth visit. Superb accomodations, wonderful food, and the most spectacular view of the southshore waters of Bermuda. Enjoyed the Spa facial and massage, best ever. This really is heaven on earth.

Room Tip: The Reefs Club is a splurge, but worth it. It is luxury and elegance. the views re amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fabulous views from theCliffside rooms. Very good on-site restaurants. (forget about the jacket for dinner requirement)
VERY EXPENSIVE!!
The rooms are second rate at best. Those not refurbed yet are reminiscent of my youthfull experiences in Wildwood, NJ.
Beach was great, people friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one recently refurbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our 7th trip to Bermuda and we had eaten at the Reefs a number of times. We wanted to try it out, but we had trouble getting a room big enough for a family of 4 adults or the minimum stay was too long. This time it was just the two of us for 5 nights and it was great. The beach is beautiful. It's not huge, but bigger than many we have used and we felt no need to go to Horseshoe, even though it's a short trip away. Snorkels and kayaks were readily available for as little or long as you want, at no extra charge-a real convenience. Everyone was very friendly. The scooter rental is right across the street, definitely the best way to get around (although I admit I have a motorcycle license).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

we went to the reefs for a 5day break from boston,pretty island ,extremely friendly people.
the reefs is is everything you read about it.location to the service is second to none. try and go for a walk along the old railway lines very peaceful.would certainly go again.only precaution pay for your drinks as you have them will save you a lot in taxes. also ask for a cliffside room views superb.

Room Tip: ask for cliffside and wake up to a suberb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to The reefs on our honeymoon, and loved every second of it!! From the location to the service, everything was amazing. I highly recommend if you vacation in Bermuda, check out this resort first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I returned for a 6th visit to the Reefs after the usual Fall Board meeting at the Fairmont. All of our expectations were met: food, room ( a free upgrade at check in!), location on the beach, staff and overall atmosphere were outstanding. The price is quickly reaching the ionisphere, but with the promotion offer of a free fourth night and a $100 resort credit, it stayed within boundaries. The delux rooms are on the small side, but the on-going bathroom remodeling gives some sparkle to the rooms. Definitely will return in the future.

Room Tip: The general location is so great, and unless you have bad weather, no need to splurge on larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.