We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit - not the last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Save Saved
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights at The Reefs
North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1st visit - not the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to The reefs on our honeymoon, and loved every second of it!! From the location to the service, everything was amazing. I highly recommend if you vacation in Bermuda, check out this resort first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    459
    122
    60
    15
    16
See reviews for
97
412
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I returned for a 6th visit to the Reefs after the usual Fall Board meeting at the Fairmont. All of our expectations were met: food, room ( a free upgrade at check in!), location on the beach, staff and overall atmosphere were outstanding. The price is quickly reaching the ionisphere, but with the promotion offer of a free fourth night and a $100 resort credit, it stayed within boundaries. The delux rooms are on the small side, but the on-going bathroom remodeling gives some sparkle to the rooms. Definitely will return in the future.

Room Tip: The general location is so great, and unless you have bad weather, no need to splurge on larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the Reefs after 5 frantic days in New York. The idea being that we could relax and chill at the Reefs after the madness of New York. We were not wrong.
The resort is perched on and wrapped round a cliff overlooking it's very own beach.
It was amazing to open our window on the first morning to see the beach below us with gorgeous ocean views. it was lovely.
The room we stayed in was one of the refurbished rooms and was excellent. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom/toilet/shower were all modern and super clean.
The beach is one of the loveliest cleanest beaches I have visited. It never got too busy as some complain and there were always sunbeds available. The water was crystal clear and the hotel provide snorkel/mask/flippers, floats, kayak and surf board for hetel guests all free of charge. Snorkling around the beach area is excellent. At this stage would like to thank Clarkson for looking after us during our stay at the beach. A man that loves his job, for sure.
A word of warning is that Bermuda is expensive, not just the Reefs.
A glass of wine costs $10 , about £6.25, Cokes cost around $5 so it's expensive.
We found a lovely convenience store 5 minutes walk from the hotel next door the the Henry Viii pub and just stocked our room with soft drinks, water and wine. they sold a bottle of Barefoot Zinfandel for $10 which is nearly as expensive as at home. We would take a bottle of Coke or water down to the beach and avoid having to buy hotel priced drinks all the time and you had to drink constantly as it was lovely and hot. We always had plenty of time after a day in the sun to have a lovely glass of wine in the room prior to the evening meal and therefore save considerable amounts as we could hve just the one glass of wine each with the meal.
We were on a Breakfast and evening meal plan.
Breakfast was fantastic with a fantastic range available. Eating on the Terrace with the morning sun was a great way to start the day.
Evening meals were in Roystons(A steak house type), Coconuts (Beach Restaurant) and Ocean Echo (Terraced Area). We had 8 evening meals spread across the 3 restaurants and they were all lovely, well cooked, filling and beautifully tasty. Not a bad meal/course amongst them.
As with any great hotel, a huge part of the ambience and feeling of the hotel is the staff. Every member of staff who we met and spoke to during our stay were delightful, interesting and as friendly as if they had known you for years. Big Thank You's to Antonetta, Mike, Roydell, Horatio(who does occasionally smile!!), Alexandra and all the guys!!!
Travel around the island is easy, you have the choice of Bus, Taxi or Scooter. There is a Scooter shop across the road from the hotel and we spent a day travelling round the island visiting the docks and some of the beaches etc. it was great fun. The Scooter allows you total freedom. we also travelled by bus which is extremely easy and surprisingly good value. The hotel sells bus tickets/passes at reception. All buses travel too and from Hamilton the capital. So it is easy to get to everywhere on the island by bus.
In all we had a holiday of a lifetime and have found an island and hotel we would return to in an instant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our first trip to Bermuda and The Reefs hotel. We were on an offer from the hotel for flights and accommodation, so too good to miss.
Our flight from Gatwick was delayed 5 hours (always the same from Gatwick) which meant we didn't arrive until very late at the hotel. The only member of staff on was new and consequently did not know where our room was! As we had been up for 22 hours by then this did not go down well. A security guard eventually guided us there. In the room was a plate of cold meat,cheese and fruit very welcome but fridged until the next day. Also a small bottle of rum and ginger beers for a 'dark & stormy', again left until the next day.
So to the room - it was a cliffside and had been refurbished. The balcony complete with sunbeds (no cushions) and table, had a view between palm trees of the sea and down to the restaurant called Coconuts and the late afternoon and evening sunshine.
The bathroom was good with a powerful shower and attachment, two basins and toilet, but not a bidet. Lighting in the bathroom was controlled by 2 dimmers and was bright to subtle. Small toiletries, sporadically replenished. Good & plentiful towels.
The lighting in the rest of the bedroom was not up to standard and the lamps were a little antiquated.
The bed was comfortable and clean.
The breakfast in Ocean's View was exceptional - particularly the omlette station ably run by Jay, who was a tonic every morning he was working - thanks Jay! Fresh fruit, smoked salmon, cereals, pastries, other hot food already made. plus the american staples of waffles, grits, etc.....
The complimentary afternoon tea, served in the lounge was very agreeable, dainty sandwiches, scones, cake, a variety of teas, including iced.
The evening meals taken in Royston's were delicious and well presented, with friendly staff.
So too the meals taken at Coconuts, more relaxed dining, but equally delicious and friendly staff.
The evening entertainment was mixed - Saturday night's didn't even play!
The DJ at the Friday night Mojito and tapas evening was great - thank you!
The sandy beach is small with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, again with friendly staff.
Whilst we were there Hurrican Raphael passed by 100 nautical miles away, but close enough as it damaged the beach club house and washed away the steps and the beach disappeared for 48hours....
Internet access in all bedrooms and in the lobby and games room was complimentary and good.
The staff are what make this hotel so special, from the gardeners, maids, bellhops, through to reception, all the restaurants, the beach guys and although we only met the Director of Engineering (all other management were noticable in their absence) were friendly, helpful and happy - inspiring!
TA reviews before we left were slightly mixed, but their were so many repeat guests, Reefs must be doing something right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woacester, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I honeymooned in Bermuda 44 years ago. We have returned over 20 times to different types of facilities. Twelve years ago we were introduced to the Reefs. In my opinion it is the finest facility on the Island. We have stayed in both the Reefs Club & the Hotel. The Reefs Club is the best condo facility we have ever stayed in, but you need two couples to cover the cost.
Having three restaurants is a nice variety. They all are very good. the menus are well varied.

We have made our reservations for next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Reefs used to be "the place to stay". No longer....the new fractional ownership condos may be beautiful but the hotel needs work. What's good? The location is perfect. You can walk to Gibbs Lighthouse, The Fairmont, Church Bay, close to Mangrove Bay area and easy cab or moped drive to Hamilton. The views are spectacular. What's not so great? The rooms are small and dated. The "old Reefs" had a beautiful, expansive outdoor veranda that has been significantly reduced in size. They used to serve dinner out there which was lovely...no longer. Coconuts, their restaurant on the beach needs more than a facelift. When you spend $200 plus for dinner you do not want to sit on plastic chairs. The Reefs needs to refurbish ALL of their rooms and their restaurants. On our next trip we will stay at Cambridge Beaches or the beautiful Tuckers Point. Best part of the Reefs? Winfield the doorman. He is great :).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here in October for 1 week, what a great hotel, service excellent they couldn't be more attentive. Clean and spacious. Fantastic swimming pool over looking the ocean. Nice location. And then the view, what can I say? ocean front view who could ask for more. I will be returning here thats for sure

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.