We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at The Reefs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Reefs to your Saves list
The Reefs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas at The Reefs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have stayed in a number of hotels and B&Bs in Bermuda. Then we discovered The Reefs and haven’t strayed. We are not sure what category it fits into. It has the amenities of a large hotel but the intimacy of a small inn.

The setting is magnificent, high on a cliff overlooking the rhythmic ocean. The Cliffside rooms have private balconies, perfect for listening to the surf while watching the sun set over the ocean before dinner, glass of wine in hand. The large sliding doors opening onto the balcony flood the room with light. The rooms are well appointed and the complimentary can of ginger beer and small bottles of Goslings rum most welcome. The bathrooms on our last couple of stays were renovated with large soaker whirpool tubs and an open shower big enough to hold a crowd. There is now access to wireless internet in the guestrooms but, as it was just recently installed, there are a few minor glitches.

The food is the equal of any of the fanciest restaurants in which we have eaten. Fresh ingredients, imaginatively prepared and beautifully plated. The executive chef was even willing to divulge his recipe for Bermuda fish chowder. Our only complaint is that the portions of some of the mains are too large.

The staff is among the friendliest we have found anywhere and genuinely concerned about the quality of The Reefs and our stays in particular. Incidentally, it is an insult not to say good morning, even to strangers on the road, in Bermuda.

An intimate resort with all the amenities and the quality of a 5 star hotel with views as an added bonus.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    147
    66
    17
    16
See reviews for
119
476
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I recently was in Bermuda for the fourth time; all at The Reefs While it is not all glitz and glam like some of the larger hotels (such as the Fairmont Southampton Princess down the road), the hospitality, friendliness and personalized attention one receives is much more important,

For me, The Reefs is the perfect resort; all the pampering and luxury features one finds at a large hotel, but small enough to feel friendly and personal. The infinity pool, the wonderful beach and nearby reefs for snorkelling, the spa, fabulous food, all make for a great holiday. But it is the feeling of being part of something…the Reefs family…that makes it exceptional. That's why there are so many people (including myself and numerous friends) who go back time and again.

The food is out of this world, and the beds are absolutely luxurious. There isn't a bad view in the place; either the rooms look over the ocean and the sunset, or the infinity pool and out to the ocean.

It is hard to find something bad to say. One word of advice...if you're travelling in the off-season, don't expect the same kind of activity you'd find at a larger place (e.g. nightly entertainment, full operation of all restaurants etc).

All in all, if you're looking for relaxation and a chance to decompress, The Reefs is as close to perfect as a resort can get.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, CT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

My husband and I recently completed our second stay at The Reefs, our fifth visit to Bermuda. We absolutely loved the hotel on our first visit -- which was 20 years ago -- and decided to return as they were having a 30% off sale. While we had a nice time, we did encounter a few issues at the hotel. We found that the rooms were a bit dated-- especially the bathroom. There was a nice flat screen TV. We ended up with ants all over the floor and the counter in our room due to housekeeping not removing a room service food platter that we left on the counter. The information book in the room states there are laptops available for use by guests at the main desk. Actually, there was only one computer available in the lounge area for all guests to use. All of the restaurants were not open for lunch and dinner, even though the information on the website advised the restaurants are all open until mid-November. Also, there was mention of entertainment in the lounge each evening -- there was none. On a positive note, the breakfast and afternoon tea each day was very good. There was a "Repeat Guest Cocktail Hour" which was very nice. There were a few exceptional staff members. However, we just did not find the attention to service, details and ammenities that we had expected. There was a labor dispute going on between the staff and management when we arrived which may have been the cause of inattention. We did bring all of the issues to the attention of management, and they offered us a 20% discount off a future visit.

Room Tip: Second floor poolside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was our eighth stay,our thirteenth to Bermuda. We went in late September, great weather. We used to dine around the island, just eating breakfast at The Reefs. But for a while now, we've elected the meal plan. We've never been disappointed. I've said before and I still believe they have the best food of any hotel in Bermuda. If you decide to explore, you may find some meals that equal what you would get there, but day in and day out you can't beat their consistent outstanding quality.

Service has always been first class. The staff is friendly, professional and helpful. Management often makes themselves available to the guests, and seeks their opinions. They value your feedback.

The location is beautiful, the hotel is built on a cliff above a private beach. Transportation is easily accessible, the bus stops in front of the hotel.

I would recommend The Reefs to anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable spot to stay in Bermuda.

Room Tip: The Cliffside rooms are being renovated for 2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We recently returned from five fabulous days at The Reefs. We took advantage of their post- Labor Day special and got a great deal. The price included the MAP dining program, which was to include possible dinner exchanges with restaurants at Cambridge Beaches and Pompano Beach. We did try to exchange for two different nights, but our requests were denied- not by The Reefs, but by the other resorts. They were simply too slow to accommodate an exchange. We were not disappointed that we had to stay at our home resort as the food at both Ocean Echo and Royston's was excellent. In addition, the service was very professional and attentive. While all of the staff members were great, Antoaneta was especially charming and delightful.

I was concerned about some of the other reviewer's complaints about the rooms, especially the bathrooms. While the bathrooms are a bit dated, they were very clean and functional. The rest of the room was very nice and the bed was VERY comfortable.

The island and the resort was very quiet, as the timing of our visit was considered off-season. We had a great vacation, and we look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I just returned from a 5 day stay. Overall, a nice resort to which I'd likely return. I will say, however, I traveled alone as a single man so please keep that in perspective. I'd say at 35 years old that I was the youngest person there by 20-30 years. I was not looking for a wild party scene so I actually didn't mind this fact. Simply put, the crowd is older than average.

Room (C) - I booked the run of the house since I spend very little time in the room anyway. The room was adequate with a nice balcony and pool view. Otherwise, nothing spectacular. It could have used some updating and was a little dingy in some areas (light fixtures were very dirty). No internet access in the room was a bit of a pain for me, but it was available in the lounge area.

Grounds and Beach (A) - The buildings themselves are understated, in that they are not massive skyscrapers. The facade blends perfectly with a landscape where every building on the island is a pleasant paste blended perfectly with the greens and blues of the land. The beach is spectacular. Adequate in size and comparable in quality to many of the local famous beaches. The snorkeling off the beach is excellent. Some of the best I experienced on the island actually. There are three huge breakers offshore with abundant sea life. Plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas to go around if you are more the type to soak up rays and keep dry.

Pool (A-) The pool was beautiful and blends beautifully with the ocean horizon. The hot tub was nice as well, though one of the evenings I was in there it seemed a little cooler than it should have been. The area was clean and quiet, though this was the off season.

Food (B) Breakfast was dependable but not excellent. I did eat dinner on the premises one evening and it was excellent but far over priced. Coconuts provided a great lunch several times during my stay. Staff was friendly and food was fairly priced.

Overall, a nice small hotel. A few minor touch ups would have made it perfect, but its pretty close. If you are looking for massive, commercial, high-rise hotel then I would suggest the Fairmont down the street. I enjoyed the more intimate feel of the Reefs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We have stayed at the Reefs three times in the last three years. The hotel is located on a spectacular pink beach atop a small cliff. There are three excellent restaurants (Roystens which is a little formal, Ocean Echo which is more casual, and Coconuts by the beach which is casual. The service is impeccable. There is a pool, tennis, and full service spa on property. Rooms are immaculately clean and very comfortable. Entertainment is lively at the bar on certain nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.