We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greene's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greene's Guest House
Save
You added Greene's Guest House to your Saves list
71 Middle Road | P.O. Box SN 395, SN 04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Bermuda is a beautiful place, however, Greene's guest house made it a something very dear to my heart. I started emailing the staff to inquire about activities, taxis, restaurants, etc prior to my stay. They reserved a taxi for my arrival and departure and made sure I was extremely comfortable. While there, Mrs. Greene took my friend and I around to get familiar with various sites and totally spoiled us with breakfast! There was no need to eat lunch beacuse the meals were quite satisfying. The staff took great care of us and made sure we had everything we needed including beach towels, directions, island fun, and celebrations for my birthday! They treated us like royalty and ensured we were completely comfortable. This is my home away from home and I plan to visit frequently. You can't go wrong here. The BEST customer service is here allowing you to enjoy your time in Bermuda.

Room Tip: Theres only king beds and one room allows a day bed. If you're traveling as a group, I recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Me.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 days in May. Everything very nice. Comfortable, clean, great breakfasts, easy access to bus travel and Mrs. Green was most accommodating to us. Lovely back patio with pool and view accross water. Would come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Mrs Greene is very friendly, helpful and cookes great simple breakfast! She was very helpul w suggestions, she dropped us off at the post office to get our bus pass which turned out to be very helpful throughout the trip, we were hopping on the bus like locals, saved us tons $ on cabs. The bus stop is right outside of the house. My sister and I spent a week here and we felt very safe. we requested 2 beds room and it was simple and clean, better than motel but of cos dont' live up as 4 stars hotel, granted we're paying a fraction compared to most resorts at bermuda, besides, I am not the kinda of travel to stay in my hotel anyways and all it served is perfectly fine w me, a good nite sleep and a warm complimentary breakfast! our room has a back yard view of swimming pool and harbor view although we didn't utilize swimming pool at all. The house itself is huge, with all guest rooms lined up in one end and kitchen/living room on the other end, it's just like B&B in the states. we were told we could use the kitchen (it's fully equiped and it's also where Ms Greene cooked us breakfast daily) but we only use to boil water for tea at night. during our stay, we met a couple, but it's relatively quite and we barely hear much noises from other room! I would definitely go back and its value and location, althought the downside is there's no walking distance beach nearby. however, if you're resort person, then this is not the place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed with two other girlfriends during the busiest weekend of the year (cup match). Chose this place because it was pretty much the only one with availability by the time we thought to book a hotel, and we absolutely have no regrets about it.

Mrs. Greene was extremely nice and friendly, in an almost motherly kind of way-- she made our choice of breakfast with care in her dining room/ kitchen area, gave us advice on where to go, how to get places, things to do. The accommodations themselves are pretty basic, but we didn't feel that anything was missing. There is access to the back yard and pool as well.

The only downside is that it's kind of out of the way and the taxi rides can be expensive, but there is a bus stop very close by and Mrs. Greene thoroughly explained to us how to use the buses. She also gave advice on how to rent bikes, and how to get places walking, and so forth.

All in all, we really enjoyed the hospitality and friendliness and Greene's, and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed with Mrs. Greene at The Greene's Guest House 4 or 5 times over the past 4 years and each time we enjoy the facilities and her A1+ hospitality even more than the time before. It is typical of an excellent value Guest House with most rooms having all the amenities you could want. Private bathrooms, refridgerators, microwaves, coffe makers & tea, TV for those who can't tear themselves away (we watch the Bermuda weather channel for soft jazz music and all sorts of information) and free Wifi to keep in touch at home or even worse, at work. The guest house proximity to local ameneties is just fine. The bus stops nearly ourside the property, the Rockaway Ferry stop (a comuter ferry which runs to Hamilton early AM and during dinner time) is about a 1 KM walk away. Taxi's are more costly but easy to hail from the road.

Mrs. Greene's breakfasts are cooked to order although she has trouble with giving small servings. They include juice, fruit, cereal, tea, coffee and a made to order breakfast entree. Thank goodness they only weigh luggage at the airport! Sitting our back around the pool or on the patio area seems almost silent and so very relaxing. The view is second to none as you watch boats, ferries and crusie ships in the distance, especially as they glow at night.

Raymond, Mrs. Greene's property manager is an absolute diamond of a person. In her absence he caters to all your needs, from availing a BBQ to helping a tech challenged guest figure out the TV. He assures the grounds and pool are perfectly kept and is always there to help with the pool chairs and umbrellas.

Our daughter lived on the island for 6 years while working at the Southampton Princess so needless to say we have been amply spoiled at the best facilities however we feel quite at home and comfortable at The Greene's Guest House under the care of Mrs. Greene & Raymond. Bermuda has a distinct "smell" about it which is a musty, a bit damp but very homey fragrance. This is an island which began being developed in the early 1600's, homes are beautifully coloured but just like UK, no central heating or cooling. This helps contribute to the damp smell but remember, you're on an island about 600 miles out into the North Atlantic. Lush, green, expensive and busy but one day we would like to call it home. This time friends went with us for their first trip. They drank the coolaid and are hooked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

What a refreshing bit of local hospitality! My partner and I, both independent budget-minded travelers, enjoyed our week-long stay enormously. Mrs. Greene was a lovely, gracious hostess. Breakfast was made to-order each morning - nothing over-the-top, but filling and delicious. We found the bus system to be easy to access from the B&B and very easy to navigate (purchase a weekly pass!). West Whale Bay Beach is a tiny, secluded, beautiful slice of beach paradise, and only a 15-minute walk away. Agreeing with some other reviewers here, the rooms were a bit rough around the edges, but clean, comfortable, and functional. We especially appreciated the in-room refrigerator, as we cooked our own dinner in the main kitchen once or twice in the week. Our favorite part about our stay? Greene's Guest House is located far from the busy cruise docks, giving us the quiet, slower-paced island experience. A wonderful experience at a reasonable price - would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My wife and I and two other couples spent a week at Greene's in Nov-2011, and all of us enthusiastically recommend it for the budget minded traveler. My take on the place is about 180 degrees opposite the very negative '1' rating provided by another reviewer. Even though one of our party needs to use a wheelchair, we found the nearby bus stops was a great asset for keeping costs down. One warning for handicap travelers - Bermuda buses are not really set up for wheelchairs. The only reason we were able to use them is that our friends has a light, fold-up chair which we could place into the one bag holder at the front of each bus.

Mrs. Greene is a very friendly warm hostess and her breakfasts while not fancy, are very substantial. It's not possible to leave her breakfast table hungry. Our rooms were a bit 'tired' but they were clean and quite large. It looked like all of the bathrooms had been relatively recently redone and they were clean and bright. Mrs. Greene went out of her way more than once to make our stay with her a pleasure. I do by all means recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greene's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greene's Guest House

Address: 71 Middle Road | P.O. Box SN 395, SN 04, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Greene`s Guest House Hotel Southampton
Greene's Guest House Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greene's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.