We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pompano was great!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Pompano Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03 , Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$200 resort credit promo
Paso Robles, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pompano was great!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

We just returned from a week vacation at the Pompano Beach Club for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It was a wonderful experience, the room was great with an incredible view of the ocean (we stayed in #2) and the staff went out of their way to take good care of us. The food was really good! We ate there 6 out of the 7 nights and had dinner at the Reefs one night (good food, not great service there).

The Lamb family really make sure their guests are taken care of and having a great time. They have great pride in their resort and it shows.

They are still doing some renovations/additions, so that was the only downside to our trip. However, we could not hear any of the "construction" noise in our room. The only time it was annoying is when we were laying by the pool and sitting at the pool bar. But they will be done very soon with the renovations/additions and it will be well worth it from what we could see... We look forward to going back soon!! If you go, be sure to say "Hi" to Mervyn, the best bartender in Bermuda, tell him Robin & Gene miss him already!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    778
    146
    34
    33
    6
See reviews for
212
491
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hatboro
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 5 night vacation at Pompano Beach Club! We chose a deluxe room & were not disappointed. It was spotless & the view was breathtaking. The food was beyond anything we could have imagined, it was absolutely delicious. The view from the dining room was incredible, we enjoyed our dinner while watching the sunset. The barbeque on Monday night was great! We were very impressed with the waiters & staff, they were always warm & friendly. We were driven to the bus stop, ferry terminal, railroad trail, and even the market! We can't say enough about the staff at Pompano, they were all wonderful. It was very hard to leave. Next year we will celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and, Lord willing, we plan on spending it at the Pompano!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

My wife and I just returned from an April 2-8, 2006 stay at the Pampano Beach Club. The setting on the west side of Bermuda provides a spectacular view of the aqua colored water and sunset from an up to date, clean and comfortable suite. The Club staff is intelligent, especially accomodiating and genuinely friendly.

The food is excellent. An option is available to switch your dinner to several other Clubs. We did not feel the need to do this.

A van will take you to the bus stop or the the ferry and pick you up with a phone call to the front desk. This is very quick and convenient. The ferry will take you to several different locations and is a great way to see much of the island.

We loved the relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. This was our first vist, however we met other couples that return year after year. This is not an inexpensive place to vacation, but it is worth it. Olney, Maryland, USA

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2006

I was quite surprised at the effort the staff made to treat us well. This was my family's first trip to Bermuda with my Mother whom travels here a couple times a year. Pampano treated us like family. We only had to ask and it was ours. Every member of the staff was pleasent. I would highly recommend you stay at the Pompano. The view is outstanding and the facilities are great!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Bermuda where we were pampered at Pompano Beach Club. We arrived at the airport in Bermuda to find a taxi waiting for us, which had been arranged by Pompano. From the moment we arrived at the resort attention was paid to our comfort. We had taken advantage of one of the golf packages, which included two rounds of golf per person, breakfasts and dinners for seven nights. The golf was magnificent with many spectacular ocean views. Breakfast was relaxed and varied, breakfast buffets were offered a few days with chef on hand to prepare personal omelet, if desired. Each day at 4:00 complimentary tea was served with lovely cakes and cookies. Dinner started at 6:30. Each night a 5 course meal was served by friendly, competent restaurant staff. The menu changed every evening. During the entire week we were not disappointed with any of the selections we had made.On two occasions the pastry chef offered a buffet dessert table where we sampled freely from the many delectable choices.
The staff at Pompano were very accommodating and genuine in their interest to help make your stay in Bermuda both comfortable and interesting.
Entertainment was provided nightly featuring music by a local dj, a pianist, and local Bermudian talent which was a special treat.
Pompano staff provided shuttle service to the golf course, bus depots and ferry terminal. Many of the guests we met were returning for their 15th year stay at Pompano. This annual return speaks volumes for the comfort and friendliness found at this beach resort. We certainly plan to return and will highly recommend Pompano Beach Club to our friends and relatives.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

I was incredibly impressed by Pompano. I turned to tripadvisor.com when I knew I wanted to revisit Bermuda after many many years, but there is no way I could have ever expected those sunsets. I've stayed in at least 10 Fairmont Hotels in my life, but the warmth and welcomness of Pompano is unparalelled.
PS : I am a "foodie" and enjoyed the Food Network in my room, as well as the best food I've ever had in my entire life.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

We always have a fantastic time in Bermuda and expected to do the same when we decided to stay at the Pompano Beach Club. Having heard and read so many rave reviews, we had high expectations. The Lamb family is certainly the highlight of the experience. There were many aspects of our stay, however, that did not live up to the hype. We found our room (a suite) to have a lovely view, but it seemed as if it had not been updated for at least two decades. This issue may have been rectified by the recent renovation that the resort undertook this winter. Other parts of the resort, too, seemed a bit dated, but that also may no longer be the case. Our room had a slightly damp odor that never seemed to go away.

Bermuda is not known for its cuisine, and Pompano's fare certainly did its part to contribute to this perception. I believe our package included dinner, but the food was so bad compared to other options that we took every opportunity to go elsewhere. Pompano is part of a dining around program that allows guests on the dinner-included plan to dine at a few other resorts on a space available basis. The Reefs was one of the alternative dining options, which was quite good, as was Coco Reef. The food at Cambridge Beaches was fantastic (we've stayed there before and had a much better experience there for about the same price), but now out of the question with a 1 year old in tow - Cambridge Beaches is adults only. We also had dinner at one of the restaurants at Elbow Beach - well worth the trip and the extra cost (it's not part of the exchange program)!

We also had terrible luck with dining staff at Pompano. One waiter in particular seemed to be put off with what he apparently viewed as our unreasonable requests for such things as water or silverware; I do not recall his name. There were a few standouts, but the bad experience with the one fellow really left us with a negative impression.

The spa is a nice recent addition, but the massage therapist was somewhat inexperienced and not terribly effective. This is not a place to go if you are really into the spa thing.

On the positive side, the staff in the main building (other than the one waiter) were all extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. The oceanside jacuzzis (which I believe have now been replaced), are definitely worth a dip.

All in all, it is definitely a place that has potential - the beach is lovely and being able to walk out into the water as far as you can at Pompano is pretty cool. It has potential and hopefully the rude waiter is gone and the rooms have been updated. There are several other places, though, in Bermuda that have more to offer for the money. Our stay there definitely did not ruin the trip, but it could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03 , Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompano Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.