We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 5th Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Pompano Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03 , Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“My 5th Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I just came back from my 5th stay at Pompano and like someone else mentioned "it's like going home." I love the fact that it's a family business so it has that personal touch and I love that the same staff is there whenever I go back.

I always look forward to the 5-course dinners, and this year did not disappoint. The last time I was there was in 2009. The food was great with very classic dishes then, but this year, was even better. I'm from LA and we have all sorts of fusion going on and now so does Pompano. I was so pleasantly surprised and so were the rest of my travel companions! It was so good that we kept trying each others dishes!!

The only thing that was lacking a bit were the desserts. The pastry chef that we adored had left to start his own shop in the dockyards. Hopefully, these will be up to par with the rest of the courses the next time I visit.

Also, the dining room has recently updated and has a more contemporary Bermudian feel than before, which I found to be very nice.

If you like working out while on vacation like I do, they have a great gym with all the equipment you could possibly need and with a view to die for.

The owners Tom and Larry are wonderful and so is the staff! Really personable and friendly!

Room Tip: For a gorgeous view of the beach club and golf course, I always stay in one of the rooms numbered 44...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    808
    156
    35
    35
    6
See reviews for
226
516
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Ma.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Pompano has its own beach and the hotel has incredible views ot the water. The food at the hotel restaurants is fabulous and the sfatt are very competent and friendly. Bermuda is a short plane ride from Boston and a great place to relax. I recommend renting a motor scooter. The hotel has made arrangements to make this easy right at the hotel. Touring Bermuda by scooter is beautiful and fun.

Room Tip: get a room right on the water and the meal package which includes breakfast and dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

When we booked (the most expensive, deluxe accommodations), and when we checked in, we were told that the only additional food charges we would incur, since we had chosen "the American Plan," which includes breakfast and dinner each day, would be for alcoholic drinks (lunch, while served here, was understandably extra). When we checked out, there were charges on our bill for soda and ice tea that we had ordered to accompany our meals. When we inquired (with the owner!), he said that since the soda and ice tea had come from their bar, there was a charge, alcohol or no. I reiterated that soda and ice tea are not alcohol, but he wouldn't budge, despite the fact that the charges totaled less than $15.
The fresh local fish, at dinnertime, was decent, sometimes overcooked, but the lamb and beef was disappointing. Salads weren't bad, soups were pretty awful. Breakfast omelettes were dry, eggs in general were mediocre. We ate lunch here once, and the hummus looked/tasted like baby food strained carrots! Staff, in general, was helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was so-so, forgot to provide soap, didn't replace small carpet by the sinks when it became soiled, took away dirty glasses but didn't replace them. Great ocean views from our oceanfront room, as well as from all public areas, and the beach was well-maintained. Until the owner refused to honor their promise of only charging for alcoholic drinks, we thought of returning. We're small business owners who understand the importance of giving up a few dollars for the potential of earning much more by treating customers well, and by honoring our promises. Too bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLIII, Managing Director at Pompano Beach Club, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We sincerely regret that your recent stay with us was marred by your feeling that we had failed to deliver on a promise to you that you'd only be charged for "alcoholic" drinks at our resort. We've been offering room rates that include a breakfast & dinner plan option for over forty years and have never once included soft drinks in our plan. Nor have we ever included other non-alcoholic beverages like fruit smoothie drinks, sparkling water or bottled water. I'm sorry if somehow you came away with the impression that non-alcoholic beverages would be served to you free of charge. If you'd asked our staff members who served you the soft drinks in our restaurants, they would have told you that there is always a charge for them. I'm sorry that we obviously didn't do a better job of communicating this to you so that you wouldn't have been surprised when you received your bill at check-out (regardless of whether it was a small amount or not).

My brother, Larry (our General Manager - and the owner you alluded to in your review) simply reiterated to you our long-standing beverage policy and was not aware of how upset you apparently were over this matter. We just reviewed the guest comment card you filled out on the morning of your departure and saw that you commented "The $12 total for our sodas and ice teas is hardly going to prevent us from coming back".

Sorry about your specific culinary and housekeeping related disappointments. Your comments have been passed along to our department heads for their follow-up. We've been receiving a lot of great comments regarding our cuisine, however, we understand and appreciate that everyone has their own likes, dislikes and preferences.

We are glad you enjoyed your deluxe room accommodations and the hospitality you received from our staff. I truly hope that you'll give us another chance to regain your confidence, by choosing to stay with us again in the future.

Regards,

Tom Lamb
Managing Director
Pompano Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

From the staff at the front desk to the familiar faces in the lounge, restaurants, and pool area,comfort and assistance are guaranteed here at Pompano! Food is fabulous and new furniture makes the environment even nicer!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went for the Mixed Golf Tournament organized by the hotel and were very I pleased by the helpful friendly service, quality of food, and our seafront room.There's a lot of maintenance needed in some areas, rails on paths crumbling walls, rusty nails etc.It really wants someone to be given the responsibility of keeping the resort up to scratch and if there is such a person already they need a kick in the backside!! The food is excellent but drinks for Brits very expensive-8 dollars glass wine or 50 dollars a bottle plus taxes etc. The dining rooms and saff are great and the service is too! We will go back to Bermuda for the excellent golf courses and the friendliness of the island buttttt! Will we stay at Pompano Beach Resort ? There lies the question, the draw of staying at PB Club is that the Port Royal Golf Club is right on the door step and you get good rates from the hotel. To sum up if they tidy the Resort up we would return without question.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLIII, Managing Director at Pompano Beach Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
As per my reply to your fellow Brits (who submitted their review a few days before you), we're happy to hear that you had a nice time at our recent Couples Golf Tournament. Sorry that you found our dock area and a few of our walkways to be in need of some maintenance attention. Your concerns are noted and have already been addressed.

We hope you'll return for a future stay with us. In the meantime, we'll continue to do whatever we can to enhance our facilities and services. Thanks again for your feedback.

Regards,

Tom Lamb
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romsey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Wewent for the golf tournament organizedd by the hotel. We were very I pleased by the helpful friendly service, quality of food, and our deluxe seafront room. BUT, there's a lot of maintenance needed in some areas, rails on paths to beach broken, rusty nails etc. fished off private quay with rods and Bait supplied free, rotten carpet, broken garage doors and Untidy seaside equipment. I would go back, but please get some maintenance guys in. Food is excellent, drinks for Brits very expensive-8 dollars glass wine plus taxes etc.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLIII, Managing Director at Pompano Beach Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for participating in our April 1-7, 2013 16th Annual Couples Golf Tournament. Although it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us on an overall basis, it is apparent that we didn't live up to your expectations with regards to the maintenance of our private dock area and the railings that lead down to it. We've already addressed these issues with our maintenance staff. Our dock area really only gets used for shoreline fishing during the November thru April time period, since our watersports center is closed from mid October to mid May. The "rotten carpet" you referred to is actually affixed to our dock so that we can haul our watercraft items (especially our glass bottom kayaks) in and out of the ocean without scraping them. The carpet got beat up a bit over the winter months, so we'll be installing a new piece for the upcoming watersports season. The "seaside equipment" you were referring to will all be tidied up and wiped down in preparation for the May opening of our watersports center (it has literally sat unused all winter long).

With regards to your concern over what you thought were "very expensive" drink prices (you mentioned our wine by the glass prices in particular), you might be surprised to know that we offer some of the most reasonable drink prices of any resort in Bermuda! Our beers are currently $5.50 to $6.00 each, Pina Coladas and Rum Swizzles are $6.75 each and our wine by the glass prices start at $8.00 each. Our prices are less than many bars and restaurants offer in North America for comparable beverages (especially when you consider the oceanfront setting that you are enjoying them in!). Guests often praise us because of how reasonably priced our wine bottle selections are! We appreciate your feedback though and will continue to try and offer good value whenever we can.

Thanks for your comments - hopefully we'll be fortunate enough to welcome you back to one of our future couples golf tournaments.

Regards,

Tom Lamb
Managing Director
Pompano Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

In June 1994 we had the good fortune to be steered to the Pompano Beach Club for our honeymoon. We have been going back ever since and have visited in Feb., March, June, August, October and November - Bermuda is great any time of year. One year we even visited twice! The Lamb family has made us part of their family with their outstanding service and accommodations. We cannot possibly say enough about the Pompano Beach staff and how wonderfully they treat their guests. I look forward to going back to visit with all of these folks every year. The setting is extraordinary with unrivaled views of the ocean and Port Royal Golf Course. Since the fall of 2008, we have been participating in the Couples Fall Golf Tournament put on by Pompano in Oct/Nov. If you enjoy golf, this is a must! The tournament is well run and well attended and we've made many new friends over the years while playing in this tournament. The Pompano's food is always delicious and local seafood and produce is featured. We really cannot say enough about the Pompano. There is nothing stuffy about this place - go there, relax, enjoy, savor Bermuda!

Room Tip: Nearly every room is ocean view and some also provide views of Port Royal Golf Course. The deluxe ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03 , Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompano Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.