We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pompano Beach Club to your Saves list
Pompano Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   36 Pompano Beach Road | Bermuda, SB 03 , Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free promotion
Certificate of Excellence
Raeford, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Let me start by saying that Bermuda is absolutely gorgeous. It has to be one of the cleanest and well maintained islands I have ever had the pleasure of vacationing in. The people are estremely friendly and there is no sales tax.

The resort is family owned and I had the pleasure of talking with Tom on the phone prior to the vacation and meeting Larry while there. They are both extremely friendly and have created an atmosphere that is extremely homey. This is resort (especially in Dec) is not a place to stay if you are looking for active night life i.e., clubs scene, due to nothing being close by. This is more for a relaxing getaway. We met the most wonderful people who were also vacationing there who were repeat offenders.

The room:
We stayed in a Deluxe ocean front room. It was very roomy with a large bathroom with double sinks and a separate tower from the large tub. It was very clean and had an island motif. It is not luxurious but better than adequate. We had our own balcony and it was very private. The view from the room was amazing - waking up every morning and seeing the ocean from our bed was a heck of a way to start the day. We had twice daily cleaning service.

Amenities:
There were three restaurants, two bars, heated pool, multiple jacuzzis and a private beach. Unfortunately, we went over Christmas so the weather was not warm enough for us middle aged folks to dare go into the water. I talked with one of the locals and they said that Pompano has the best beach on the island due to the fact you can walk out (or swim - chest deep) about 500 meters in shallow water that is the color of the palest aqua to a floating dock and the other side is deep dark water that you can dive into.

The food: Incredible!!. We did not have a single meal that was not exceptional. Hats off to the chefs.

Service: What an amazing group of personnel that work at the resort. They are ready and willing to drop everything to assist you in any way they can. They helped with lost luggage, tee times, transportation and any other question we had. The restaurant staff were friendly and fast. Special shout out to Velda, Mervin, Lorna and Corvet.

Recommendation: Sign up for the meal plan. It is the least expensive means to experience five course, five star meals each night. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    169
    38
    35
    6
See reviews for
244
547
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent Christmas at Pompano and enjoyed it very, very much. We intend to return and hope to stay longer. Pompano is one-of-a-kind and it shows in so many ways: staff, location, meals, ambiance and history. The resort is family owned. There are continuous improvements made, and Winter 2013 will be no exception.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room so that's all we can speak to. The room was large, the view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

When vacationing on an island, I take great pleasure in watching the often magical nightly display of the sun setting into the water. Watching the sun dip into the water... the colours... the sky... the very feeling it never fails to evoke in me...

So when choosing a place to stay, I am very keen about it's positioning. Pompano offers a great vantage point, being on the correct side of the island. I found that going down to the boathouse, which was closed by sunset, allowed the best unobstructed view, as well as total privacy:) You can also time your dining to coincide with the sunset, which we also did.

There are three downsides to this resort:

1. Small beach. It is picture perfect, a small crecent shaped beach man made by the installation of two long rock breakwaters. But don't expect to be able to take a sroll; it is very short, and it can get crowded. But the swimming is fantastic. Take a snorkle and go beyond the breakwaters to the left as you face the water, and you are guaranteed to see a nice display of interesting fish. There is also a raft to swim out to. Of course, if you really want a beach day, take a trip to Horseshoe beach. It's easy to get to, and really the best beach on the island.

2. Steps. The resort is built into and on top of a hill, so expect to do stairs to get to the beach. Not a problem for me, but want to point it out for those who may experience difficulty.

3. Price. It is Expensive! Wow. But it's Bermuda, and lodgings tend to be expensive. I've been to the island twice as it is really nice in so many regards, but it is not an affordable place to go by any means, relative to the Carribean.

Other thoughts- the food was OK. It was included in our plan, so we took advantage if it by eating mostly here. But, the views are unparalleled! The room was fine. We wanted a second floor for better views, an suggest you ask for one as well. There are a few mini marts close by to buy snacks and drinks from, and the resort will happily drive you there.

If you are like me and want that nightly sunset, this is the place to be. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We can't recommend this place enough for a honeymoon or vacation. The sunset views are spectacular. The food is 5 star quality in the restaurants. When staying here a full breakfast and full course dinner are included in the price. The staff are very friendly and nice. They have entertainment every night and dancing. The hotel is right on the beach. The owners even had a party and all guests were invited. They had loads of appetizers and rum swizzles for everyone. They even drive you to the bus stop if you want to go somewhere and pick you up when you get back! The snorkeling is also very good here. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: This hotel is situated on a cliff so if you have trouble climbing stairs definitely ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

40 of us stayed at Pompano in November for the Women & Golf Bermuda Trophy - what a class act Pompano is!

Larry & Tom Lamb have creaed a wonderful ambiance to compliment a spectacular location. The staff are attentive and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The food on offer at the hotel is fantastic - Merv the barman makes the best G&T in the world! The rooms are spacious and the reception areas give the place a true colonial feel.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes the good things in life, including fun, laughter and relaxation. Pompano has it all...watch out boys we're coming back next year x

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe ocean view - it's like waking up on a cruise liner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We would have liked to have graded this property excellent, and had every intention of doing so before we arrived, based on friends' recommendations and Trip Advisor reviews. This traditional Bermudian establishment was exactly what we were looking for, but time and possibly the economy had taken a toll on the maintenance of the property. In all fairness we had to postpone our trip twice because of superstorm Sandy and a closed airport. They continued to be able to accommodate us when we finally arrived one month after our original reservation and also let us use an expired coupon for a $400 credit, so we were very grateful for that.

We had booked a deluxe room months earlier which was not available, due to our change in dates, our final night. That turned out to be very bad news, we were transferred to a "suite", the bedroom of which reminded me of a Motel 6 room, the sea view faced the other direction. Our deluxe room, on the other hand for the first 3 nights, was fabulous, with a great view of the ocean, the sound of the waves audible from our bed. We had MAP, dinner each night in their restaurant, good food but not great with the exception of the fabulous fish chowder. Alina, in charge of the Ocean Grill restaurant, did her best to make our experience positive, but our impression was that groups and parties visiting the facility were given priority over those of us who were there as guests. The staff, which everyone says is so accommodating, was not so much to us. We were tolerated rather than made to feel welcome, like uninvited guests. I would suggest they develop an excursion program for visitors--taking the bus or renting the taxi was the only way to see the beautiful island.

The bottom line: beautiful views, beautiful deluxe room. Intrusive music, a poor choice, piped in the restaurants, with satisfactory but not excellent cuisine. Our 40th anniversary trip was very good, but not the excellent experience we had anticipated.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room. Avoid the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

From the very second 40 lady golfers from around the world arrived at Pompana.. The two brothers that own it.. and all staff.. could not have done more to make this one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.. From the fab room overlooking the clear blue sea.. to the food.. heated outdoor pool. lovely private beach below it was excepitionall.
Susie G

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road | Bermuda, SB 03 , Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompano Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.