We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Disappointed This Time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pompano Beach Club to your Saves list
Pompano Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   36 Pompano Beach Road | Bermuda, SB 03 , Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free promotion
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Sadly Disappointed This Time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Pompano Beach Club was our favorite vacation we always looked forward to going back all year. The views of the ocean are stunning. We got married there years ago and became emotionally attached .

The staff is always there to greet you . Mervin always makes us feel right at home and Larry is always friendly, but he has done some cut backs. I haven't seen a cookout in a few years. The welcome bottle of wine is long gone and its pretty clear they need more ground staff.

The pool is no longer cleaned every day - this time I continually saw debris and napkins at the bottom of the pool and the tiles on the sides were too dirty for me to go in.

Maid service was very poor - somebody that had the room before us spilled pills on the floor and I kept finding them. At over $700 a night I shouldnt have to ask for toilet paper. One day I spilled water on my bed so I stripped it before going out for the day and when I returned the bed was remade with the wet sheets The beach was always clean in the past but now just a young girl with a pitch fork and a wheel barrel trying her best but just couldn't put a dent in the sea weed that was there.

We always got the meal plan which includes breakfast and dinner. The meals were OK but after having ten dinners not one was that great and most nights only one of the two dining room were open.

We all know times are hard and people are making cut backs but that's all the more reason for places to work harder for your business. We save all year to have $10,000 to spend on vacation and spent over $8000 of it at Pompano and really feel we got a poor value this visit. I really hope they turn it around because I can't see going back when a lot of places are offering more and more to get you to come - when Tom + Larry are offering less than they did before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    174
    38
    35
    6
See reviews for
262
560
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have been to Bermuda several times over the past 25 years and have stayed at numerous other resort properties on the island during that time. My stays have varied from being on business trips, and also visiting the island for some well deserved R&R. In my opinion no other resort can beat the kind of service and amenities you will experience at Pompano. The resort offers the finest hospitality on the island, including an array of delicious food choices for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Other great features to this wonderfully peaceful resort includes a private and secluded beach, on-property spa, work-out facilities, and pool bar and restaurant that offers numerous menu choices. Located just slightly off the beaten path, guests will appreciate the quietness of the resort, but if you need assistance with any thing, the staff has only a "can do" additude which makes this diamond of a place truly remarkable. From the time we checked in, until the time we left we were treated very well and were totally satified with all that we experience at Pompano.

Room Tip: Room 7 is all I have to say...Great view of the ocean and convenient walking distance from the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have been to Pompano before so we expected a very high standard. It remains superb. The hospitality and friendliness of all the management and staff is amazing. They do everything to make your stay memorable. The food is top quality. The location is of course outstanding and our room was the best we have ever had in the World. We had a drama (nothing to do with Pompano) and they could not have been more helpful. Will we be going back? You bet!!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views but the de luxe rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have been to Bermuda multiple times and stayed at Pompano. You would think it would be a no-brainer to want to return there. There should be no question in your mind that spending around $800 night was totally worth it.

Year after year the rates have gone up and the service and quality has deteriorated. The beach area used to be raked daily, it was barely touched. The patio sand areas used to be cleaned up and raked as well and they weren't touched during our stay (although it was raked for a wedding). The pool was vacuumed once and we continually saw debris and water logged napkins at the bottom of the pool. We even pulled a cigarette butt from the pool when we arrived and put it on the deck to only walk past it day after day and never see it cleaned up. The maid service has deterioriated as well, it would be nice if they checked room supplies such as tissues and toilet paper so we don't have to ask for it.

To ask for an increase in room rates each year and provide less and less is not a good business decision. We always looked forward to the barbeque, but apparantly it doesn't seem to happen anymore. The same with restaurant choices - closing one each night was not what we bargained for.

We always appreciate the staff friendliness, but we can't justify the cost anymore for what we receive. Mostly likely, we'll travel elsewhere now so we at least feel we are getting value for the $$.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the time we arrived until the time we left everything at Pompano was outstanding! The staff were very courteous and attentive. Pleasant to chat with and never rushed! The room was impeccable! The food had beautiful presentation and tasted wonderful! The Staff and some guests were family by the time we left! Definitely going back next year!

Room Tip: The rooms under the pool are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from our Pompano Beach Club-celebrating our 22nd wedding aniversay getaway.
It's been over twenty three years since we visted Bermuda, a big mistake. Plan on returning soon. It's just 1 hr 45 minutes from Boston, MA, and 1/2 to the hotel/resort. Left at 10:00 a.m., and @ 12:15 pm, we were swimming under sunny warm and royal blue skies.

The service was great, and we were treated very well, The college interns from B.U., and UNH
were engaging, fun, and aim to please.

The beach is well maintained and the ocean is beautiful beyond description. Very clear, little sea weed, and aqua blue. No strong currents to worry about, but be aware they can change direction.

Sunsets are breathtaking. Oct. 4th- 9th weather in the mid eighties, water temp 78-80 degrees, sunny every day, with the exception our last day.- could not have ask for more!


My wife and I truly enjoyed our fellow guests, many repeats, Sara from N.J.- you are the life of the party! See you next year, same time. The owner is a great host and you will see him each day.-very hands on. The staff are friendly, and courteous. I dare say, by the end of our trip- more like family or close friends.

Pompano Beach Club is pricy, and needs some upgrades, but I will surely return.

Room Tip: Location, location, location is key. rms 17, 18, close to main complex/pool. Do not go higher than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, though we spent most of our time off property. This hotel is rather on the large side to be family-owned and operated, with a lot of the pros and cons that come with that. Truly friendly staff outside of the dining rooms make it a pleasure to stay here, but the dining plan means you will spend at least two meals a day with a number of folks who will take away the goodwill built up by, say, the front desk staff.

The good: The buildings are simply beautiful, picturesque indeed. The vista from the lobbies and balconies is magnificent, making you just want to sit and enjoy for hours (and we're not the siting type). Definitely have a drink or several on the cool-breeze balcony during sunset. There are three internet-conected computers in the main lobby for all to use. The beach is stellar, and the two floating platforms easy enough to get to (tho beware the current at times). The waters here are so crystal that kids will have a ball watching all the big fish, and the fish will have a ball stealing your bait. The food is hit or miss, with all my dishes luckily being good but my wife's not so much. Breakfast is more than ample. The dine-around plan lets you go elsewhere, and we were lucky enough to snag a table at the Reefs, which is one of the most romantic properties on Bermuda. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Our room was very private! The guests were the friendliest I've ever run across anywhere in decades of travel. I swear, they were all Canadian and on happy pills - that or Goslings (which made the pina coladas great, btw). It says a lot that of the many people we met, most were repeats, some multiple times.

The not-so-good: Our room was really tired, and we looked into another and saw the same. The carpeting was surprisingly thin, and not that attractive given the furnishings. The buildings have large patches of peeling paint, which, while I recognize bldg mgmt in a sea air environment is difficult, was still unsightly. The dining staff really, really need re-training. Too many served only their few tables with heads down so that you could never get someone's attention if you needed a new utensil or water (which was darn near impossible to get). And the couple times we did catch someone's attention, the service was with a sullen face, rapid, and with no consideration for whether they could help us with something else. Because tipping is automatically added, there is zero incentive for them to work for. I get why that is, and I applaud giving staff a decent living wage on an island. But there has to be some way to up the game here. I've had wayyy better service at a beach shack. Meanwhile, back in the hotel proper, there is free wifi, but effectively it didn't work. Everyone who tried wound up complaining (just sit in the lobby long enough and you'll hear it). When you are trying to reach your small kids to say goodnight, the lack of working wifi detracted from the glow of the day. Better they didn't have it at all. Finally, the location may bother some, though not us. It's on the far western side of Bermuda, farther from Hamilton and other attractions than, say, Reefs or Elbow Beach. Since we're big scooter people, that didn't bother us much - it just meant more fun ride time. And it meant we were that much closer to Dockyard, where we like the glass factory. But if you're cabbing it, then you'll wind up paying a fair bit more being out this end.

Overall, would we stay here again? My wife and I debated and came away feeling like if we came back, it would probably be after trying other properties on our next trips down.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lowest level have the most privacy, but it turns out the view is no better really than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
5.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
11.7 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
5.6 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,543 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road | Bermuda, SB 03, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompano Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.