We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pompano Beach Club to your Saves list
Pompano Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03 , Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free promotion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the time we arrived until the time we left everything at Pompano was outstanding! The staff were very courteous and attentive. Pleasant to chat with and never rushed! The room was impeccable! The food had beautiful presentation and tasted wonderful! The Staff and some guests were family by the time we left! Definitely going back next year!

Room Tip: The rooms under the pool are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    167
    38
    35
    6
See reviews for
237
536
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from our Pompano Beach Club-celebrating our 22nd wedding aniversay getaway.
It's been over twenty three years since we visted Bermuda, a big mistake. Plan on returning soon. It's just 1 hr 45 minutes from Boston, MA, and 1/2 to the hotel/resort. Left at 10:00 a.m., and @ 12:15 pm, we were swimming under sunny warm and royal blue skies.

The service was great, and we were treated very well, The college interns from B.U., and UNH
were engaging, fun, and aim to please.

The beach is well maintained and the ocean is beautiful beyond description. Very clear, little sea weed, and aqua blue. No strong currents to worry about, but be aware they can change direction.

Sunsets are breathtaking. Oct. 4th- 9th weather in the mid eighties, water temp 78-80 degrees, sunny every day, with the exception our last day.- could not have ask for more!


My wife and I truly enjoyed our fellow guests, many repeats, Sara from N.J.- you are the life of the party! See you next year, same time. The owner is a great host and you will see him each day.-very hands on. The staff are friendly, and courteous. I dare say, by the end of our trip- more like family or close friends.

Pompano Beach Club is pricy, and needs some upgrades, but I will surely return.

Room Tip: Location, location, location is key. rms 17, 18, close to main complex/pool. Do not go higher than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, though we spent most of our time off property. This hotel is rather on the large side to be family-owned and operated, with a lot of the pros and cons that come with that. Truly friendly staff outside of the dining rooms make it a pleasure to stay here, but the dining plan means you will spend at least two meals a day with a number of folks who will take away the goodwill built up by, say, the front desk staff.

The good: The buildings are simply beautiful, picturesque indeed. The vista from the lobbies and balconies is magnificent, making you just want to sit and enjoy for hours (and we're not the siting type). Definitely have a drink or several on the cool-breeze balcony during sunset. There are three internet-conected computers in the main lobby for all to use. The beach is stellar, and the two floating platforms easy enough to get to (tho beware the current at times). The waters here are so crystal that kids will have a ball watching all the big fish, and the fish will have a ball stealing your bait. The food is hit or miss, with all my dishes luckily being good but my wife's not so much. Breakfast is more than ample. The dine-around plan lets you go elsewhere, and we were lucky enough to snag a table at the Reefs, which is one of the most romantic properties on Bermuda. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Our room was very private! The guests were the friendliest I've ever run across anywhere in decades of travel. I swear, they were all Canadian and on happy pills - that or Goslings (which made the pina coladas great, btw). It says a lot that of the many people we met, most were repeats, some multiple times.

The not-so-good: Our room was really tired, and we looked into another and saw the same. The carpeting was surprisingly thin, and not that attractive given the furnishings. The buildings have large patches of peeling paint, which, while I recognize bldg mgmt in a sea air environment is difficult, was still unsightly. The dining staff really, really need re-training. Too many served only their few tables with heads down so that you could never get someone's attention if you needed a new utensil or water (which was darn near impossible to get). And the couple times we did catch someone's attention, the service was with a sullen face, rapid, and with no consideration for whether they could help us with something else. Because tipping is automatically added, there is zero incentive for them to work for. I get why that is, and I applaud giving staff a decent living wage on an island. But there has to be some way to up the game here. I've had wayyy better service at a beach shack. Meanwhile, back in the hotel proper, there is free wifi, but effectively it didn't work. Everyone who tried wound up complaining (just sit in the lobby long enough and you'll hear it). When you are trying to reach your small kids to say goodnight, the lack of working wifi detracted from the glow of the day. Better they didn't have it at all. Finally, the location may bother some, though not us. It's on the far western side of Bermuda, farther from Hamilton and other attractions than, say, Reefs or Elbow Beach. Since we're big scooter people, that didn't bother us much - it just meant more fun ride time. And it meant we were that much closer to Dockyard, where we like the glass factory. But if you're cabbing it, then you'll wind up paying a fair bit more being out this end.

Overall, would we stay here again? My wife and I debated and came away feeling like if we came back, it would probably be after trying other properties on our next trips down.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lowest level have the most privacy, but it turns out the view is no better really than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just returned home after a wonder 4 nights stay at Pompano Beach Club on the island of Bermuda. CEO Transport picked us up from the airport and took us to the hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by Cyndi. She gave us a top notch tour of the property, while the bell hop took our luggage to our room. Cyndi made us feel at home and relaxed. Just the way I want to feel on vacation.

Our room was spectacular. We had an oceanfront room and the views simply do not get any better than this. The bed was very comfy and there were plenty of pillows. The bathroom was large and spacious with a soaking tub, shower, and double sink vanity. Robes and high end toiletries were provided. The AC worked very well. And we found that we could turn it off, open the sliding glass door to the balcony, and turn on the ceiling fan and be perfectly comfortable at most times.

The common areas were nicely maintained and welcoming. Every room in the common building had spectacular ocean views. You could sit for hours and enjoy the view, play a game of Chinese checkers, and enjoy the nightly entertainment in the Sunset Lounge.

The Cedar and Ocean Grill Dining Rooms were fantastic. Every meal was better than the one before. For breakfast I highly recommend the banana pancakes. They were the best I’ve ever had. For dinner we had seafood, steak, and chicken. Each dish was exquisitely prepared. If you decide to stay at the Pompano, be sure to get the dining plan that includes breakfast and dinner. We did have lunch at the resort and that was also very good. We found the prices to be reasonable.

The staff was friendly, courteous, and engaging. I can say without a doubt that the staff at the Pompano was the finest I have come across.

My husband and I look forward to a return trip and can’t say enough good things about this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent a week at the Pompano Beach Club in late September 2012. So much has been said about this resort by other reviewers, I’m just going to make a few comments based on our experience.

Pros: lovely setting, with a beautiful beach for swimming, snorkeling, and relaxing. The water is so clear you can see the fish from the restaurant balcony. The meal plan was very good value, and we enjoyed the nightly meals dining on the patio in the Cedar Room. The majority of the staff is friendly and professional. The staff was very helpful in arranging for local shuttles, and giving advice on transportation around the island. We enjoyed our ferry trip from the Naval Dockyard to St. George. Our morning cruise around the island with one of the local operators was enjoyable. We found ourselves with a generally pleasant group of guests. Relaxed ambiance. The owners keep a close eye on the entire operation. Good access to internet.

Cons: Our room and bathroom smelled musty. It was clear that the problem was coming from the air conditioner, and these would benefit from regular cleaning/disinfecting. The sliding glass door in our room was old and worn out, accompanied by a plastic “security bar” (no working lock on the door). The room rate seems high for the quality of the rooms, even allowing for the location. The decor in the Ocean Grill is outdated, uninspiring, and in definite need of renovation. The pool is small, and the pool water was so warm when we were visiting, that it really wasn’t comfortable for swimming. The nightly entertainment is pretty basic for a luxury resort. However, maybe this is reflective of who is available. The fitness area was disappointing.

On checking out, I was presented with my bill, but wasn’t asked if I had enjoyed my stay.

In summary, we had a very nice time, but in our experience, the resort wasn't up to the international luxury standards we had hoped for. The setting, as all other reviewers have said, is absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have been to the Pompano 4 times in the last 5 years. Each time we feel totally welcomed by the owners and staff. The people who work there know us by name and treat us like old friends. The views are spectacular and this resort has the best beach. The sand and water are pristine. The swimming is fantastic - the water temp is perfect. There is a beach bar 20 feet from your comfy beach chair. All the rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable with a balcony or patio overlooking the water- there are spectacular sunsets and sunrises. The dining rooms offer great menus and dinner is particularly good. There is entertainment at night. If you are looking to relax, play some golf, swim, snorkel, play tennis, eat, hang out with friends, this is the place to go. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Pompano. We were greated by one of the owners. Felt special from that moment on!. The beds, pillows and comforter were heaven!! Our room overlooked the beautiful clear water. The staff were the most cordial and friendly, even called us by name. We are already discussing our next trip back. For the most friendly and casual place in Bermuda go to the Pompano. None of the stuffy stuff the books or the web-sites mention. PERFECT.

Room Tip: The Marlyin Manor or the Dolphin House are the closest to the pool and dinning rooms. There are alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03 , Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompano Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.