We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd year at Pompano Beach Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Pompano Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 2 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03 , Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free offer
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“3rd year at Pompano Beach Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This has been our third year traveling to the Pompano Beach Club playing in the Couples golf tournament. What a wonderful time! The Lamb family goes far beyond its' means to accomodate their guests. The service is amazing in both restaurants, with a staff that is very helpful and caring. The rooms are spacious and beautiful over looking the crystal blue water. We already look forward to next year's tournament. Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    753
    144
    33
    32
    6
See reviews for
205
475
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
duxbury ma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

We just stayed for 3 nights this past long weekend...and what a place!! Never had to leave if we didn't want to... PBC provides for your every need. Previous complaints about the need for updates are a little true. The resort is a bit weather-worn, but this only adds to the charm & comfort.
The staff at PBC are the most friendly, helpful & professional I have ever encountered in our frequent travels. Most of the staff have been there for over 20 yrs... That says something!!
My only gripe is about dinner. The food in the Cedar Room seemed a little 'cruise ship'.... Steamed or reheated & never really hot. But in the Ocean Grill all the food was INCREDIBLE!!! Strange when all is coming from the same kitchen, no?
Ah well, can't be all perfect can we?
Rooms were pretty, great size & very clean (we were in a deluxe room). Good deal with breakfast & dinner included (huge amts of food- you can skip lunch!)
All in all, we will return!! The Lamb family and their staff are truly wonderful hosts... Can't say enuff!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was our 2nd year playing in the Couples Golf Tournament hosted by The Pompano Beach Club and once again we have no complaints. Well, our games could have been better. Rooms, staff, food, etc were excellant. What ever you need just ask and they will try there best to make it happen. We already reserved our room for next year and hope to bring another couple as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hi

We recently visited Bermuda and dined at the Cedar Room at Pompano Beach Club on the dine around program so this review simply covers that dinner one night.

Here is a quick summary with more detail below.

Staff - A-
Service - C
Food - D
Atmosphere - B

We ate early (around 6:30pm) on a Saturday night at the end of October. The menu changes nightly so every night is different. (and this is why there no menu on the internet) The staff was very friendly and accommodating but the service was not good. (no, this is not the usual laid back Carribean service. It's much slower) There was confusion about what wines were by the glass. Our appetizers came before the wine and they were ordered at the same time. And worst of all it took 40 min from the time that we finished dessert to get the check. (it probably would have taken longer if I had not gone to the hostess stand) Also for some silly reason they can't run credit cards in the restaurant and have to go to the front desk to do so.

Then the food was extremely disappointing. Here is what I had with comments on the food.

Rosemary Chicken Sausage on Truffle Risotto - The sausage did not taste like rosemary and tasted more like baloney and the risotto was not risotto but milky white overcooked rice with a little truffle oil thrown in.

Spinach Salad with Blue Cheese Dressing and Bacon - overall decent but clearly made in advance and kept at kitchen temperature. (which was not cool but just above room temp)

Lamb Wellington over pan roasted root vegetables - The lamb was cooked medium (good) and the root vegetables were roasted fine. The wellington was more herbs and no mushrooms which was also ok by me. But the worst part of this was the icecream scoop of mashed potatoes and some canned gravy on the plated. I was shocked to see the scoop of potatoes especially since it was not on the menu.

Frozen Bailey's Souffle - this must have been a vanilla frozen souffle the night before because I got vanilla and then I saw patrons after me with the correct Bailey's version. (different presentation so I assume it was corrected) So I got the left over version from the night before.

Again the staff was very nice and pleasant but the overall experience was not good and I would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have just returned from the Pompano Beach Club where we participated in a week-long couples golf tournament. This was our fifth trip to Bermuda and our first stay at Pompano BC.
The Lamb family who own and operate the Pompano BC have done a wonderful job in ensuring the comfort and satisfaction of travelers like us. The attention to detail in accomodations, dining venues, staff training, and overall atmosphere exceeded our expectations in every catagory.
Although golf was our primary reason for this trip we found the pool area, spa facilities, and private beachfront to be welcome respites from our busy days on the local links.
Kudos to the Lamb family and their staff for creating a special Bermuda getaway experience. We shall return!!!
J&B V.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We hosted our daughters wedding at the Pompano on October 29, 2011. We had beautiful weather until rain on the wedding day, but it was made perfect by the managers and staff of the Pompano Beach Club. She was very happy with it all. We very highly recommend this resort for a wedding or family gathering or just a getaway. The staff were so helpful in every way, and more than friendly to us all. We were even assigned a person to work with us on all wedding details months prior to the day. It turned out to be a perfect wedding. Top ratings to the Pompano Beach Club.

Room Tip: We like the rooms right on the edge of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Pompano is the perfect size resort. It offers all the amenities one would desire. The staff
was extremely courteous and helpful. Our room was spectacular with breathtaking views. The food was delicious and well presented. Access to all the island's attractions, that is if you would ever wanted to leave the property, was great. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Club Hotel
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03 , Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompano Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.