We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the time and climb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibb's Hill Lighthouse

Gibb's Hill Lighthouse
Lighthouse Road (between South Shore and Middle rds.) | Gibbs Hill, Bermuda
441-238-0524
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The oldest cast iron lighthouse in the world provides breathtaking views of the Bermuda shoreline.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Take the time and climb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had been before but hadn't climbed the steps. The view and the history is fascinating even if you choose to stay at the bottom but it really comes to life if you do decide to go up there. It is pretty steep and narrow but there are several stopping 'rooms' on the way. You might choose to go up just a bit if you'd rather not go all the way. There are a few windows on the way up. Getting to the top is worth it though. The day we went it was very windy so we just poked our heads out the door and didn't walk round the platform. I'm not that good with heights anyway. An added bonus for us was being there with a former lighthouse keepers granddaughter so she told us how it was to actually live there and have to bring lunch up to him when she was a little girl! We were there with relatively few other tourists around so there was no waiting and no crowds. It may be hard to cope with if there are people trying to come down the steps as well as going up! Having passed on it before and now I've actually done it, do give it a try. You will be amazed at the view and feel very proud of yourself for having made it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    121
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After climbing the lighthouse, waited and had lunch here. Don't be put off by the exterior which cannot be changed (as explained, it is a government building so they cannot do any cosmetic changes), the inside is gorgeous and has an interesting menu which is relatively affordable (nothing really is in Bermuda!). I had the fish sandwich, girlfriend had a grilled mushroom wrap, good food with a great view.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwell, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view of Bermuda from the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

You buy your ticket in the gift shop ($2.50!each) and then place your ticket honor system in the box with a slot. There are 186 steps which really didn't take long to climb. At every level there are interesting facts to teas about. I was surprised at how uncomfortable I felt at the top. It is an open rusted iron railing. The view was magnificent and worth it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Surprisingly hard to find. At least we walked around for quite sometime. We did not walk up as the weather was not great, but we understand the view can be amazing

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Go to the top - what a sight, but windy. Interesting, historic and good value, lots to see at the top - but a number of steps of course

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibb's Hill Lighthouse also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Gibb's Hill Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibb's Hill Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gibb's Hill Lighthouse to your Saves list