We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibb's Hill Lighthouse

Gibb's Hill Lighthouse
Lighthouse Road (between South Shore and Middle rds.) | Gibbs Hill, Bermuda
441-238-0524
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The oldest cast iron lighthouse in the world provides breathtaking views of the Bermuda shoreline.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After climbing the lighthouse, waited and had lunch here. Don't be put off by the exterior which cannot be changed (as explained, it is a government building so they cannot do any cosmetic changes), the inside is gorgeous and has an interesting menu which is relatively affordable (nothing really is in Bermuda!). I had the fish sandwich, girlfriend had a grilled mushroom wrap, good food with a great view.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    118
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orwell, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view of Bermuda from the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

You buy your ticket in the gift shop ($2.50!each) and then place your ticket honor system in the box with a slot. There are 186 steps which really didn't take long to climb. At every level there are interesting facts to teas about. I was surprised at how uncomfortable I felt at the top. It is an open rusted iron railing. The view was magnificent and worth it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Surprisingly hard to find. At least we walked around for quite sometime. We did not walk up as the weather was not great, but we understand the view can be amazing

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Go to the top - what a sight, but windy. Interesting, historic and good value, lots to see at the top - but a number of steps of course

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It's worth climbing to the top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I climbed the stairs and enjoyed the views from the top. It was very windy up there though. The stairs are spiral but quite easy with frequent landings if you don't usually like climbing these things. The cost of $2.50 was worth it. Pity the tea shop is now a more serious eatery though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibb's Hill Lighthouse also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Gibb's Hill Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibb's Hill Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gibb's Hill Lighthouse to your Saves list