We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great 360 view of the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibb's Hill Lighthouse

Gibb's Hill Lighthouse
Lighthouse Road (between South Shore and Middle rds.) | Gibbs Hill, Bermuda
441-238-0524
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The oldest cast iron lighthouse in the world provides breathtaking views of the Bermuda shoreline.
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great 360 view of the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Gorgeous views of the area from the top of the lighthouse. Quite a hike up unless you take a cab. The stairs are steep but it is fine. watch you r head as you go out the door. It is also windy outside so hang on. Love Bermuda- The beach just down form the lighthouse is beatiful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    126
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
154 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for the views alone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Can only give the lighthouse a four-star review as it was actually closed for the off season when we visited yesterday and we were unable to climb to the top.
The views are very good from the lighthouse ground level so must be amazing from the top.
A good view spot is the area directly underneath the Lighthouse on the road, where our good Queen Liz "paused" during her visit in the 50's.
If walking, this is also where you come out if you reach the Lighthouse via the fairly steep path from the disused railway line walk.
A slightly easier way is via the No 7 bus getting off near the Henry VIII pub ( locals or the driver will assist when to get off) and then up Lighthouse Road.
I would still recommend a visit even though we didn't make it to the top. And from here you can easily return to the superb south shore beeches or take the path down to the railway walk or scenic bays of the north shore a small way further, from where you can catch the No 8 bus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent Value for Money. Wouldn't be surprised if the price went up a little in order to preserve the lighthouse. Fantastic panoramic views from the top. Go up with someone else if you get nervous around heights though. We also went to the cafe/restaurant underneath the lighthouse called 'The Dining Room'.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Gibb's Hill Lighthouse is a must when visiting Bermuda, the most stunning views ever, especially if you are a keen photographer and a fabulous restaurant, The Dining Room - a good idea to book ahead as this is a wonderful restaurant and very popular. Happy sightseeing!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nothing was here except for a great view of the island. I guess January is off season but restaurant was closed, washrooms were closed and we could not climb to the top of the lighthouse as it was locked up. We previously ate in the restaurant when it was a tearoom and really enjoyed it. The washrooms should at least be available as it is a long hike to get up to the lighthouse.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibb's Hill Lighthouse also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Gibb's Hill Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibb's Hill Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.