We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avid Golfer, Very Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Port Royal Golf Club

Port Royal Golf Club
5 Port Royal Drive, SB 03, Bermuda
441-234-0974
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only shirts with collars on the green, please, and make your reservations early, because this course is popular among those golfers with refined tastes.
Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Avid Golfer, Very Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This golf course is not very beautiful in July; it is dried out and is cart path only. I imagine this course would be amazing in winter months, however for the rates they charge during the summer the course is just not worth it. The greens are nice still and the nicest people on this course are the grounds keepers. They offered to take out picture a few different occasions and when I went to offer them money as a tip they said no they were just glad to do it, that was amazing.

The pro staff and the lack of a starter and rangers were pitiful. The pro staff and the snack bar attendants were very rude. We booked the whole course for a 18 team shotgun start, however the pro shop booked another 12 team shotgun start within 2 hours of our start time, needless to say we had people jumping in and behind our group, the round went from about a 5 hour finish to just under 7.The snack bar ran out of water within the first 2 hours also and the attendant stated they couldn’t get more, it was pretty sad for a course that holds the players championship.

On a side note if you must play this course and are booking through the cruise line you are traveling with, DON’T. Book it yourself.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    32
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great day of golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The course was very creative and beautiful. There is even a historic fort on a cliff that you can tour between holes. I highly recommend to anyone.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Double Birdies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went the day before to check out the club,gale force winds and we were questioning our decision to come in Feb
The next day was perfect Sunny 23 degrees and calm
we even birdied #16 something the pros didn't do in two rounds

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“While we're young! 4 hours for 11 holes..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Tee time 1pm actually hit at 2:10. Course allowed 5somes out. Greens aerated in early may, were still like peg board. Massive amounts of work needed to get it ready for Grand slam in oct.

Great views of ocean, un-helpfull staff - dirty carts (empty beer cans and garbage in front of both carts in our group) + overall course condition make it hard to believe the other ratings.

Played Tuckers Point, Riddles bay, Fairmont south hampton par 3 and all three make Port Royal seem like a underfunded municipal. ..

If your droping the coin required to vacation in Bermuda, play Tucker Point or mid ocean and skip a round if the $ for these is outside the budget.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBS
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Cruised from New York to Bermuda. $20 carbide from the dockyard. Rented clubs (Taylormade) and were to first tee off.

The first tee off was 7:30, but they allowed us to go @ 7:15 and had the course to ourselves. The course is beautiful and challenging, bunkers everywhere.

The back 9 has some unbelievable views. The signature 16th is worth the $.

I would highly recommend playing this course. Take your camera!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Royal Golf Club also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Tucker's Town, St. George's Parish
 

Been to Port Royal Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Royal Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.