We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent course, Awesome views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Royal Golf Club

Port Royal Golf Club
5 Port Royal Drive, SB 03, Bermuda
441-234-0974
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only shirts with collars on the green, please, and make your reservations early, because this course is popular among those golfers with refined tastes.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent course, Awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Port Royal was the first PGA level course I've played after playing golf for over 15 years. I was put with a local and his friend from Luxemburg, very friendly guys. The condition of the course was amazing. It was great to play a course that would hold the Grand Slam of Golf less than 2 months later in October. The elevation changes are tough to play and the ball is frequently above or below your feet. The rough is tough so keep an eye on your ball before it sinks down into the thick Bermuda grass. Although it was definitely my highest score of the year it was one of my most memorable rounds. Play was not slow but the course was busy, had to wait on a few shots which just gave me time to enjoy the surroundings and even check out the Whale Bay battery.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    32
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Played in the Rain; who cares!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

They paired me up with 3 locals (actually 3 transplants from England and South Africa) and we had a great time. Rained on us through 11 holes; who cared, it was 65, nice, and Bermuda. I par'd 15 and 16, so it was a wonderful day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Played in Nov. 2011, the fall winds were in full effect and this oceanside course gets every gust! Tough but forgiving, wind is a big factor as is the Bermud grass (which here it's just called grass). Perfectly placed course with amazing views! Great for the $$. Would play it again, without question.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina Sask
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One for the ocean, 2nd ball par :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hole 16, as well as having the course to ourselves was awesome. Stopping to explore the Whale Bay Battery was a bonus too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Golf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Well-manicured, PGA-directed layout. Challenging course. A pleasure to play. Home of Grand Slam of Golf.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Royal Golf Club also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Tucker's Town, St. George's Parish
 

Been to Port Royal Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Royal Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.