We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Bay Beach

Horseshoe Bay Beach
Bermuda
Improve this listing
Visit Horseshoe Bay Beach like an insider
Top Rated
$115*
and up
Bermuda Powerboat Round-the-Island Tour Including...
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swim in safety at Bermuda's most popular beach, best known for the lifeguard on duty from May to September.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The sand is finer here than on other beaches and you can rent an umbrella and chairs if you want. If you don't go in the morning there are large crowds of people... Which is not my favorite. If you like solitude and real pink sand visit long wharf bay. Beautiful and empty!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    203
    57
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“For Good Reason One of the Most Popular Beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Absolutely beautiful beach on the south shore. Gets very busy during the day with cruise ship riders coming to visit, but the crowds tend to congregate in one area near the entrance, so there was plenty of room. Great views and clean, clear water. There are some small shops nearby where you can order food, drinks and beach gear.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“beach not as pink as they say it was !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

we went on a cruise ther in the begining of may on the ncl breakaway, they told us its the cheapest was to spend vacation time in bermuda the beach was nice very crowded bjut suprisingly they took credit cards at the fast food stand on the beach. pretty pricey to rent chairs and umbrellas cash only. cab was expensive decided to buy a bus/ferry pass for the 3 days well worth it it was 35.00 pp unlimited rides bus or ferry. the people at the ship terminal we not knowledgable. made us take an unecessary ride on the ferry to get to horseshoe bay (take ferry to hamilton its shorter). little pastry shop at terminal ferry were great and priced ok. the bus drivers are some of the wildest drivers i've ever encountered, and not so freindly (well the woman at least)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Most famous, but not the best on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The south side of Bermuda is home to South Shore Park which encompasses a number of beautiful beaches. It stretches from Horseshoe Bay in the west, to Warwick Long Bay in the east, with many smaller beaches and coves in between. The park is free, as all of Bermuda's beaches are public, and there is a walking path inland a bit that connects all the various beaches and coves in the park.

Horseshoe Bay Beach is arguably the most famous beach on the island. It is so famous that I wanted to go on a day when I knew there were no cruise ships in Bermuda because I heard it was completely overrun on those days. Despite being when no cruise ships were present, it was probably still the most populated beach we saw while in Bermuda.

I can see why people love this beach. It is wide and open, has pink sand, and is just flat out beautiful. I only gave if four stars because despite what everyone says, I believe some of the smaller beaches are even more beautiful than this one.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Awesome Awesome Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a great beach. We were lucky that we visited on a none cruise ship day. It wasn't too busy and it was very very nice. They have some cliffs that you can jump off and into the water. A cliff you can climb to get a great view and pictures. So far one of my favorite beaches in Bermuda.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horseshoe Bay Beach also viewed

 
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Horseshoe Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.