We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Bay Beach

Horseshoe Bay Beach
Bermuda
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Beaches
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Swim in safety at Bermuda's most popular beach, best known for the lifeguard on duty from May to September.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My family and I have been to Bermuda 3 times.. and yes the beaches are really pink,,, .. I love love Bermuda!! Ride the mopeds are over this island....The most beautiful beaches ever.. My second favorite is Cayman Islands..where we stay at the Plantana Condos.. GORGEOUS!!!
If possible take your family and visit these two lovely places!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    168
    49
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best beach in the world?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I'm extremely lucky. For the last year and the year to come, I live five minutes drive away from what may be the best beach in the world. Horseshoe bay is a large, sweeping beach of fine pink sand (yes, it really is pink), flanked by headlands that can be climbed and explored and lapped by some of the clearest water you're likely to come across in your life.

The beach has plenty of room, so you are always guaranteed to find a spot close to the water and has amenities is the form of a small shop selling sun cream, sun glasses etc, a small concession selling drinks and fries and burgers etc and some toilets. It also has a small car park which is only steps away from the beach.

I don't agree with the reviews that say the beach is spoiled by the crowds as it's big enough to take a LOT of people. Just wander to the far end and you've got a private spot.

The water is crystal clear and has great snorkeling opportunities around the headlands. The sea-life is great and you'll often see large Rainbow Parrot Fish around the reef. One particularly amazing sight, is seeing a shoal of silver fish, riding the waves into the shore and then swimming back out to sea for another go. I witnesses this last summer and it was incredible. I was body surfing in with them! The sea often has some nice waves as it's on the south shore of the island. Not big enough to surf, but just the right size for having great fun.

The beach is the start of a long stretch of the coast that can be walked. If you do that, you'll pass lots of smaller, secluded beaches before you come to Warwick Long Bay, the longest beach on Bermuda. The walk is well worth it. Then you can walk back and cool down in the blue, clear water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sand, Surf.. beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A great beach that can be crowded beause it has lifeguards and bathrooms but find a spot and relax. walk up and down for more beauty that you can imagine.. Be careful when walking around the rock-boulder covered surf- but man is it great. Take the bus or grab a cab. Or a moped..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
154 attraction reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Pink tinged soft sand, turquoise sea, all beaches should be like this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

A truly wonderful beach which, when reading other reviews, can only be spoilt by crowds of people.
But it is understandable why they direct the Cruise ship hoards here because it is safe and has all the facilities, including showers and changing facilities and importantly the rental of beach furniture as I can imagine an umbrella would be a must in summer as there is not much shade.
However, on this off season day we shared the beach with no more than two dozen others, and it was wonderful.
As most of you who read this review will not be so lucky, for the fit and able who like a walk I will divulge the secret.
Go East !
Either by the South Shore Park footpath or, if the tide is out far enough to allow, through the surf to firstly Chaplins Bay Beach , but then to the magnificent Jobson's Cove ( especially if you find it empty like we did ), and then on to the equally wonderful Warwick Long Bay Beach.
These should be much quieter than Horseshoe Bay.
To do the full walk and back will take a good couple of hours, especially with scenic photo shots. But it is a couple of hours you will always remember. I know we will.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The water and cliffs here were amazing! The most beautiful beach... with pink sand and warm water(Sept 2012) I will definitely go back again as it was one of the most beautiful spots in Bermuda!

Ride mopeds to this beach as there is a perfect place to park and you wont have to walk. There is also a place to get food and drinks right before you enter as welll as bathrooms.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horseshoe Bay Beach also viewed

 

Been to Horseshoe Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.