We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Experience but expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Experience but expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We spent a week at the Fairmont Southampton, four adults and a five year old. The staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our rooms were ready when we arrived. The trolley service to the beach, golf course and the several hotel restaurants was convenient and very frequent. The hotel has multiple restaurants four inside the hotel building Jasmine-bar,lounge, mixed menu, Wickets-poolside and casual dining, Windows on the Sound- breakfast, and The Newport Room- Uber expensive,and three outside: one at the beach (Ocean Club-mainly seafood), the golf course (Bacci- mainly Italian) and one at the hotel's ferry dock (Waterlot Inn-mainly steak). The food at all the locations was excellent as was the service. There was never a problem with having a five year old at dinner. The child was very welcome at each location. We did not dine at the Newport Room as it would have required a second mortgage to pay the prices. Played golf on the resort's 18 hole par three course, where the views are spectacular and the play is challenging. The beach is beautiful, towels and lounge chairs plentiful. There are no life guards at the beach or any of the pools. I had one problem with my reservation regarding the inclusive breakfact plan...the desk resolved it in exactly 20 seconds (that is in real time). For a luxury hotel it was pretty good..no complaints, just bring money, the prices at the restaurants are high. Dinner for 4 plus a five year old at the Waterlot Inn easily pushed $500.00. Service charges are included at the Restaurants and one is added per day per person to your room charge. We had fun and enjoyed Bermuda.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    912
    568
    246
    109
    60
See reviews for
456
838
49
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My wife, our baby, and I stayed here for five nights. It was in a very quiet part of Bermuda, and it had a beautiful private beach. The service was excellent; the staff were all very polite and helpful. The housekeeping was a little inconsistent: our minibar wasn't stocked until the third day, wine glasses were rinsed in the sink rather than replaced each day, etc. Overall the room was clean. The in-room dining was good; I recommend the cheesecake and cheese and cracker plates. Our room on the first floor was a bit noisy due to the trolley service that ran most of the day. The ferry to Hamilton was convenient.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I just returned from a quick long weekend in Bermuda. We had a fantastic time and the Fairmont experience was wonderful as usual. Our room was spacious and had a beautiful view of the harbor side of the hotel. We ate at two of the on site restaurants for dinner Waterlot and Bacci - both were excellent. We had breakfast in the hotel 2 days - a little pricey but also nice - with a fairly expansive spread. We also had appetizers at Jasmin and several really tasty drinks - including the dark and stormys and Bermuda Mai Tais. Bermuda overall is expensive but it is lovely, more polite and cleaner than other Carribean islands. I shoudl also mention, we played golf at Belmot Hills and although we didn't play our best golf - the views were gorgeous and everyone at the course was extremely friendly. We're trying to decide how soon we can get back there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed on the Gold Floor, a hotel within the hotel, and enjoyed what is perhaps the best overall hotel experience of our lifetimes, which is saying something given our travel history (Four Seasons, Bar au Lac, Kimpenski, etc.). The service was attentive and friendly, and the offerings in the spacious, fireplace heated lounge (breakfast, afternoon tea, canapes, light evening dessert) was wonderful. We met other families in the lounge, many of whom were return visitors to the hotel, all of whom were Gold Floor fans.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

One sometimes takes a risk returning to a place that was very special the first visit -- especially when the 2nd visit is 20 years later! We returned to celebrate our 20th Wedding anniversary, having been married at the Fairmont Southampton on their lovely terrace overlooking the gorgeous sea and beach in 1990. I am pleased to report that the hotel was well maintained and each staff member we interacted with were exceptionally nice and helpful. Our king suite was spacious, cheerfully decorated, easy to control the climate and with the wonderful view of the bay, I don't think we ever turned on the TV. Also the terrace across the width of each room was always a pleasure to step out on. The room was equipped with a coffee maker and an electric kettle, which as tea drinkers, we made good use of.

We enjoyed meals and drinks in three of the hotels restaurants: Jasmines, Waterlot Inn and Windows on the Sound as well as room service. The services was good at all of them and the food more than adequate. I did however begin to get bored with the hotels breakfast offerings -- I think they need to learn how to make a frittata or something more interesting with eggs. With the high price of the meals you want an equal value in interesting food.

We utilized their courtesy trolley/bus taking you down the hill to either the beach, tennis or the Waterlot area. We walked it ourselves several times, but it's especially nice to take it up the hill after a long day on your feet playing tourist. One day we took the courtesy van into Hamilton and took the city bus back which is easy to do and you can purchase a bus token at the hotel's front desk. During high season you can take a free boat into Hamilton.

The weather was a little on the cool side the week we were there so we didn't get much beach time in, increasing our desire to use the hotels pools and jacuzzis. Unfortunately hotel guests only have access to the outdoor pool and not the jacuzzis or indoor pool until after 6:30pm, as they remain the private domain of the resident Willow Stream Spa throughout the day. This would be my chief complaint, given the weather drove us more indoors and waiting until 6:30pm or so for a swim tended to conflict with our dinner plans.

I have given the hotel 4 out of 5 stars for the reason of not having full access to all the pools and also just a matter of personal taste. It is a large hotel and I usually gravitate to smaller boutique hotels. But with that said, I would still return especially because of the warm, friendly and responsive staff. Plus they have one of the best beaches on the island!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Just come back from 4 days at the Fairmount Southampton, Bermuda. Fantastic hotel, very clean, very friendly staff and a truly amazing location. Having read all of the reviews we were expecting high prices for everything. This was true but we found that the hotel was no more expensive than the rest of the island. I do wonder what people were expecting. This is a big, plush hotel with high standards and a wide range of services - it is going to be expensive but we never felt ripped off. Overall we found Bermuda an amazing destination - even out of season. Tip tips - if you are visiting in March and have a wet suit bring it along, the water is a little cold without and the snokeling is amazing. Also take a short walk to the lighthouse to eat, the food was better than anything we had elsewhere on the island and was in an amazing location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at your hotel from Feb 28th to March 6th and I just want to say we could not have been happier. All the people there were warm and friendly, the food was great and our room was fabulous. Also, please say hello to the lady bartender that worked nights named Patricia. Tell her that Doug and Connie from Kansas City said hello and we hope we get to see her again in the not too distant future.
Doug Gibb
8200 Acuff
Lenexa, KS 66215

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.