We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free
Belleville, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great hotel, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This summer we made our family trip to the beautiful island of Bermuda and stayed at the illustrious Southampton princess. We had a lovely time on the island as well as the hotel. Courteous and helpful staff. The only negative part of our trip, besides the weather was the music at the beach for happy hour and the BBQ. Coming to an island, I was expecting to hear island style music. But to my dismay I heard music that made the think I was back in the US, like country and classic rock. When I go to an island such as Bermuda, like other islands I have been to like Jamaica, I anticipate hearing island style music and not that. Huge disappointment. If I go back again I would hope this would change.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts to TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and staff. I am disheartened, however, that you did not enjoy the entertainment provided. Bermuda has a very diverse music scene which we provided in our summer entertainment line-up, from a funky ukelele player, to a reggae/pop trio, to a jazz fusion band, to a soul band. Bermuda is musically and culturally very different than Jamaica, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by what we provided. I hope that you will reconsider visiting again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    666
    266
    119
    65
See reviews for
539
956
55
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights recently at the Fairmont Southampton and we were incredibly pleased with our stay. The service -- specifically from the Concierge and in the Jasmine Lounge -- was top notch.

We're both vegetarians and had delicious meals at all the restaurant locations on the Southampton's property (except for the Waterlot, which we did not go to), which is not always the case when we travel. Bacci, their Italian restaurant was delicious and our favorite.

Other highlights were afternoon tea at the Jasmine Lounge and breakfast at Windows on the Sound.

Incredibly convenient private beach location with towels, showers and changing room, and nice to have the hotel shuttle to use. It's also incredibly easy to walk over to Horseshoe Bay next to the private beach. We also used the complimentary ferry to Hamilton, which was another great perk.

If you're not used to Bermuda prices, the cost of the hotel and food there can be a bit of a shock, but considering the service and all the little perks included, you more than get your money's worth at the Fairmont Southampton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Several months ago my husband I stayed at the Fairmont South Hampton and did not have such a great experience. The manager read my review and took the initiative to contact us immediately to obtain our feedback as well as ask that we give them another chance. His effort to right the wrong impressed us and we decided to return this past week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. WOW!!! This is the hotel everyone has been raving about. The experience was so much better. The staff was courteous, our meals were awesome, the room terrific.....there are so many wonderful things to say! One of our favorite experiences was dinner at the Water Lot. It reminded me of memorable dinners years ago at Tavern on the Green however with Bermudian flair. I also must mention the toiletries - Le Labos Rose 21 found only in NYC - fantastic. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already planning our return trip in May.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
These are the reviews that truly make us proud - when we are able to show a guest that we can do better. Thank you so much for giving us another chance and letting us show you how friendly and helpful our staff can be. I am particularly glad you enjoyed the Waterlot Inn, which is truly a stunning restaurant. We can't wait to have you back, thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked a room on the gold floor with an ocean view, the room was spacious and clean, and the housekeeping staff kept it clean and stocked with towels all week. The breakfast, tea and happy hour were wonderful, as was the staff that attended to you during it. Most days that was enough food to get us through the day! We saved money by not having to eat out. You also have access to complimentary soda and water, which saved money too. The beach was very nice, we walked to Horseshoe Bay one day, but left right away because the cruise ships were in port and it was very crowded, the hotels private beach had everything we needed and the trolleys were always available to bring us there and back. The only drawback was misinformation given to us a few times by different staff. We were told that the shops at the Dockyard were open late on Mondays (otherwise everything closes by 5 or 6 everywhere), so we took a cab there to find out they were all closed. We asked to buy bus passes from our 6th floor concierge, and was told they didn't sell them in the hotel, but when talking to the front desk, was told they do sell them. We requested a paper everyday, but did not get it, told the concierge and she said she would take care of it, but never did. You can take the ferry to the sister hotel for activities too, but we asked about Wednesday wine tasting we were told that had ended-not true! We went to the sister hotel the next day and saw that it had taken place, more misinformation. When we mentioned these things to the staff, they were not very apologetic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest review. I am glad that you liked your room and your Fairmont Gold perks. I am so sorry to hear that you received some misinformation and I am going to follow-up with our teams to ensure they are providing accurate, consistent information. I apologize for the inconvenience it caused. I hope that you will consider returning again soon, thank you so much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

In planning a special birthday celebration it was important to select a beautiful tropical paradise not to far away. Booking our stay at the Fairmont Southhampton was the best decision, especially since we upgraded to Fairmont gold status. From the minute we landed in Bermuda, we were greeted with a warmth and friendliness that made us feel right at home. The 6th floor private check in, a clean, spacious room with upgraded bedding, linens, and plush large towels in our immaculate large bathroom with double sinks, walk in closet with shelving, umbrella, ironing board and iron, large safe, plenty of hangers, and to top it off, a beautiful Ocean View with balcony with 2 chairs and a table where we could sit and enjoy the view of Horseshoe Bay and the Hotel's private beach below. We loved our room #610 and its soft golden hues and yellow reds and orange tropical theme. The beds were very comfortable.
In addition to the friendly and helpful staff on the 6th floor, we were given breakfast, tea time , canapés and hors d'oeuvres, then sweet treats at night. They were timed throughout the day. Perfect if we wanted to skip a meal. The private beach was fantastic, the shuttle was there to take you to the beach, food and drinks were served if desired, towels, chairs, snorkeling equipment were available too. The Hotel complex also has many restaurants and a fabulous spa, several swimming pools, 2 golf courses and has ferry boat service to Hamilton
Food was wonderful, and being such a large facility one might think you'd be lost in the shuffle with hundreds of guests but we always felt special and important to everyone from the doormen and bellman, waitstaff,
Concierge, and housekeeping staff. I highly recommend this hotel in Bermuda because if you wanted you can enjoy an amazing vacation with the hotel, restaurants and beach, and never need to leave the
complex! We will return definitely!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I'm so glad that you were able to have such a great visit celebrating your special birthday with us! I am sure other TripAdvisor members are grateful for all the detailed information you provided - you're right, Fairmont Gold is the best! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for a vacation in Bermuda. The best part is the private - and gorgeous - beach with wonderful snorkeling. Shuttles are available on a reasonable schedule to go to the private beach or to the docks (to catch the free ferry to Hamilton). Hotel staff are very friendly and make the experience better. This does tend to be family-friendly, so that aspect should be kept in mind. The hotel has three restaurants; I hoped one of the three restaurants would have been terrific - and that is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights in September, 2013. The hotel and staff are very nice. The restaurants are good as well. they have a trolley to take you to the private beach. I would suggest walking a short distance to the less crowded beaches as the private beach can be very crowded. I have no problem with the hotel. However, I did not care for Bermuda very much (water and beaches beautiful). Very pricey and lacking in a local character as the residents will explain that they eat where tourists eat and do what tourists do. so, you end out with a sanitized experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review - I am glad to hear that you liked the hotel and found the staff helpful and friendly. I am disappointed to hear that you did not uncover the heart of Bermuda's thriving culture - there are certainly hidden-away arts, music, and food locations that you can visit. If you're interested in that, the Bermuda Department of Community & Cultural Affairs can probably point you in the right direction next time. Thank you for your honest words, and I hope you'll reconsider Bermuda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.