We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only had a very short unplanned stay here, and the staff could not have been more friendly, I assume that this is pretty standard on the island as everybody we met have to be the nicest people I have ever met.
We were so impressed with both the hotel and the island we are planning a return trip so we can spend more time exploring the island.
The golf course at the hotel looked fantastic and so well kept, and 15 minute walk took you to the most fantastic Horseshoe beach and its pinky golden sands and clear blue seas.
It is not cheap as everything has to be imported, however if you are happy with what you receive for your money then you have yourself a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    665
    266
    119
    65
See reviews for
538
956
55
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Fairmont Southampton is located toward the southern end of the islands, and it contains one of the great beaches of the world, and one of the greatest Par 3 golf courses in the world. The restaurants are top notch- a steakhouse (Waterlot), italian (Bacci), seafood, one near the pool, one for lunch on the beach, and a couple inside the hotel itself for breakfast or a casual lunch/dinner. We have tried them all more than once- and have been very satisfied. The Waterlot is fantastic. The rooms are updated, clean, classy, though as you would anticipate- very expensive, You can take a water ferry over to Hamilton (stops at the other Fairmont hotel in town- very convenient for walking around Hamilton). If you are a SPA person- the Fairmont has a great spa area, with its own indoor heated pool, sitting and lounging areas. The exercise area contains good machines, and is a decent size for anyone's workout.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned last night from a 4 night stay at the Fairmont Southampton! We had the most wonderful time at this resort! It was our third visit to the island and by far our best visit. From the moment you step out of the taxi, Nick greets you with a big smile and a warm welcome! Get to know him, he is wonderful and wealth of great information. He listens to exactly what you are looking for and gave us some great recommendations. He remembers your name when you return and always has a warm smile on his face!

Room: Our room was fantastic. We had a king size bed with a very large closet on the 4th floor and a beautiful view of the harbor from our very large balcony. We had friends with an ocean view and our view was just as beautiful. I don't think you can go wrong with the view the way this hotel is situated up on a hill. The bed was very comfortable and the AC worked great. Our service in the room was perfect and we truly wanted for nothing. There is a single cup Keurig in the room and this was a nice treat! It was so easy to use and K cups were replenished daily. We heard absolutely no noise from the hallways or above us at any time and we were located right across from the service elevator so I was a little nervous at first. We needed a luggage holder and they were very quick to bring that and 5 more hangers to our room. Every employee we encountered greeted us and asked us how we were. We felt so special here!

Service: The service at this hotel is fantastic and the staff is extremely friendly. You truly feel pampered here. We had dinner at the Waterlot and it was delicious. We both had the caesar salad and the filet and it was perfect. Their cheesecake was very tasty as well. We ate lunch by the pool and the staff was so attentive and the burgers were great. Very tasty Rum Swizzles as well! We had drinks every night at Jasmines and thoroughly enjoyed each evening there. They had nightly entertainment as well while we were there!

Beach: The hotel provides frequent trolly service up and down the hill to the beach. It is a beautiful little beach, especially for small children. We enjoyed it as well. There is food and drink service on the beach and the drinks were very tasty! If you walk through the gate to on the left when you arrive by trolley, you enter Horseshoe Bay Beach and it is another beautiful beach. There are no chairs provided here but you can take quite a walk along this beach. There may be a rental service during peak season but we did not see any chairs when we were there in early May.

Location: The location of this hotel perfect as it is very convenient to get to other locations without a long ride. It is an easy cab ride to almost any other destination. We went into Hamilton and back both by the provided ferry service and by cab. We loved the provided ferry service. The Fairmont in Hamilton has a great Happy Hour from 5 to 9pm that we attended one evening. It was a beautiful evening and the Happy Hour was located outside on their deck overlooking the water.

All in all this was a fabulous experience and we cannot wait to go back to the Fairmont Southampton again! I would highly recommend that you experience this hotel and it truly made our third visit to the island that much more special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It always makes us happy to hear when we've done it all right - thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us at The Fairmont Southampton on TripAdvisor. We have passed along your message to our colleagues to encourage them to continue to provide great quality service - we do care about all of our guests and remain committed to turning moments into memories. We hope to have you back with us soon - hopefully for another perfect Bermuda vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

while staying at the Southampton Fairmont you will be treated to warm friendly service from the entire Fairmont crew which is so refreshing.The decor is a bit worn but the food and service is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Fairmont Southampton, at the end of April. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. There is a Keurig single cup machine in the room, with ample K cups provided, which is nicer than most hotel room coffee machines. The staff (reception, concierge, dining, cleaning, etc) were helpful and attentive. There are several restaurants on site and the food is good, but quite expensive. All restaurants at the hotel automatically add a 17% gratuity, but this appears to be standard for the island. It is a large resort, so the hotel provides frequent trolley service to both the bay and the oceanfront. Also provided is a ferry that connects the Fairmont Southampton to its sister hotel in Hamilton, the Fairmont Princess; the ferry operates three times each day. The hotel has a nice private beach next to Horseshoe Bay. But be sure to visit the public beach at Horseshoe Bay, as the views are far more spectacular.
This is a lovely hotel and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing about stay - it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed Bermuda and I'm so happy to hear that. You are right - the 17% gratuities is fairly standard across Bermuda. I'm also glad to hear that our staff were friendly & accommodating, and I hope that you consider returning back to beautiful Bermuda again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Southampton Fairmont is a lovely property with panoramic views. each room has a balcony overlooking either lovely gardens or the sea. The staff is friendly and helpful and exhibit a can do attitude to every request. As I was attending a conference, I can also state that their banquet staff is terrific and I would recommend it highly for either conference locale or vacation.

Room Tip: The additional cost of the ocean front rooms may not be worth it as the views are all fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at this hotel for four nights at the end of April. This was the beginning of their summer season and when things start to get busy and weather much better.

The hotel itself is very nice. We got this hotel through Hotwire, so we got a great rate. The regular prices are a little steep, but most things are in Bermuda. We had a nice room with a king bed, large closet, nice bathroom with two sinks, and a small sitting area. Our balcony overlooked the harbour, which was fine by us. It was a nice view. My only complaint would be that we could hear the people above us very early in the morning, and also out in the hallway.

The restaurants at the Fairmont are pricey, but very good. Waterlot was excellent and the caesar salad was worth the price. They had some entertainment (which was excellent) on the "Dock at Waterlot", which is a really nice dock outside the restaurant, with nice patio seating and bar service. They also served light food. Bacci was very good, but my husband was not thrilled with the spaghetti and meatballs. His salad was good and my whole meal was excellent. I had the chicken parmasan. I had a half bottle of wine, which was $35, which while a little expensive, isn't all that unrealistic. Jasmine's in the lobby had amazing food. We had dinner there one night, and appetizers and dessert another. Everything we had was fantastic. My husband had the "chocolate bombe" twice it was so good.

The trolley is very handy and comes every few minutes. We never had to wait too long. It will take you to all the restaurants and the beach.

The beach is beautiful and the colour of the water is simply amazing when the sun is out. The famous "Horseshoe Bay" is right next to the Fairmont beach. There is a seafood restaurant overlooking the ocean that looked really nice, but we never did try. There is also a beach bar/grill that served drinks and lunch type food. There were servers on the beach that would take your order from your lounger.

All in all, this is a very nice resort and as long as you can get a decent price, you will be very happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay - it sounds like you were able to not only get a deal on your visit, but also do a bit of everything! I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit, and I hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.